Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: LASU Student Attempts To End His Life By Jumping Off Lagos Lagoon.

Tuesday, June 26, 2018

LASU Student Attempts To End His Life By Jumping Off Lagos Lagoon.

An undergraduate student of Lagos State University, LASU, Kingsley Gabriel, on Monday, jumped into the Lagos Lagoon.

Gabriel was, however, rescued alive by officials of the Lagos State Waterways Authority, LASWA. It was gathered that the student jumped from Falomo Bridge into the lagoon at about 11 am, leaving no reason for his action.

Confirming the incident to newsmen in Lagos on Monday, the General Manager, LASWA, Mr. Damilola Emmanuel, lamented that the act was becoming rampant and worrisome on Lagos waterways.

According to him, “the student was quickly rescued from drowning in the water by LASWA rescue officials who responded swiftly by jumping into the lagoon to prevent him from drowning.”

He hinted that after his rescue, Gabriel was taken to the Falomo Police Station, for onward interrogation. It was not clear why Gabriel decided to end his life as efforts to interview him proved abortive.

From Daily Post

*I think its time to barricade the Bridge on both sides like i have seen abroad...Its expensive but worth it and will save lies cos they cannot jump or pass through...

28 comments:

1. Rate of suicide on the increase. Nigerians are really frustrated. The problems of this country is huge. Only God can help us.

2. Suicide s now becoming a norm😎😎😎😎

3. if no be woman make am nah money or oppression

#GOAT™

4. shouldn’t Someone who just experienced a near death situation be taken to the hospital first to see if he’s ok and be sure he’s calm enough for Questioning? they took him straight to the station. Smh 🀦🏻‍♀️.

1. This is Nigeria!

2. Was shocked when I saw that.

3. Did you watch the video clip? The way that officer in blue shirt was dragging him like a criminal who was caught stealing was ANNOYING. I felt like slapping the idiot. Someone just tried to end his life and you are busy dragging the exhausted guy by his trousers as if you caught him on top of your wife?😠

5. Depression is real, Take it or leave it
    @Princess Tever

6. I dont know why a lot of people have allowed the devil to be friendly with them. Why suicide. Since that yeye president came to be, only evil reports we are receiving. God help all Amen

7. Why would they take him to a police station?Why not take him to a psychiatrist instead. Are police officers mental health professionals?

8. Thank God that he was saved...

Ayam not understanding ooo.i
    Taken your life is not the best option..

Hmmmm!!!!

9. even if they barricade ,there are other ways to commit suicide, God help us in this country

10. WE BUY DEAD AND FAULTY INVERTER BATTERY CALL ME IF U HAVE(08141395113/0811 790 3918‬)26 June 2018 at 10:24

Committing suicide is no more a big deal in this part of the world again

11. Nawah oooo,it's no longer funny

12. Provide basic infrastructure. No. Provide electric power supply. No. Provide soft loans with 0-5% interest for SMEs. No. Allow frustrated people to commit suicide in peace. No. Na wetin!? Nigerians no dey fear hellfire again because they experience it everyday. Now they have rescued him to the police station and from there to jail. So, where is the love? Useless government.

1. This comment would have been really funny if was not so darn sad

A lot of frustrated
      Oppressed
      Mentally fragile
      Bitter
      Angry
      Lonely
      People walking about
      A trigger away from calamity

Stella we need a mental help column

I hereby volunteer to counsel

2. Frustration and stress management tips loading

3. Honestly we really do need this segment ASAP, some people are going through hell and only pretending to be happy. We need to encourage people to seek help and discourage laughing at people's situation.

13. Should Call this wahala Depression or Frustration.. ThankGod he was save oo..

14. I live in falomo and I've seen many things from this place. From cars stopping in the dead of the night to dump bodies,now people jumping off to commit suicide. Don't blame me, I have chronic insomnia.

1. shut up liar....dump bodies and you never informed the police? wicked person naim u be oh

2. Anon 13:24 you call anon 12:48 do you stayin Nigeria at all,if you know the atrocity committed on 3rd mainland bridge every night.hmmmmmm stellla post it oooo

15. before I use to see suicide as oyibo tin. Now is every day thing in Nigeria.
    why the hurry, by committing suicide when every one will die one day if you have any kind problem and you think ending your life will bring an end to problem, my dear there is life after death