Hehehehehehehe Papa Olajumoke tales...
Hello Stella, I'm practically addicted to your blog as it has helped me in various ways, more so its my go to place for entertainment and gist. DH introduced me to it by the way a few years back and i must say you are doing a marvellous job.
Here is my version of the labour room drama.
Pls forgive any errors, I'm trying to type as fast as i can before my baby wakes again. Shortly before i took in i had dreams repeatedly of giving birth to a baby girl, i waved it off until a month later when i got pregnant.
DH was ecstatic, he wanted a girl, me? I was slightly disappointed , i have always wanted a baby boy to be my first. My pregnancy was stress free thanks be to God. We went for the first scan and the gender didn't really show however the woman in charge implied it could be a girl.on the way back home DH kept bragging on how he would spoil his baby girl and already named her Olajumoke.
During one of my antenatal visits to the hospital when i was about 6 months he insisted we do another scan because he wanted to be sure of how everything was going on inside there, 'rolls eyes' i knew it was just an excuse for him to see his baby girl so we did another. We did another and the woman announced 'it's a boy'. The look on his face was epic.he asked the woman if she was sure she said she was. He said didn't you tell me it was a girl before, she tried explaining to him that then it didn't show it was a boy and she included it as much in her report. Nibo? He was having none of it, he abused them well well and said they were incompetent.
He said we were going somewhere else to do it to be sure. On the way he began calling his sister and abused the hospital because that was where she worked as a nurse saying they were incompetent, his sister kept on laughing at him because she knew how he had been going up and about the house calling himself baba jumoke already.
In short we did another scan oh and it was still a boy. To say i was happy was an understatement. On D day, i was 40 weeks by then, i began having cramps all through and i was supposed to go for a church program that day so i held the pain and told DH to drive me to church. After the program the pains were consistent but i was still managing them. I didn't know he had been observing me since and insisted right then that we go to the hospital where i was checked, haa that checking alone mehn , i never experreditt . Women dey try! I was 2cm, dh insisted i stay back, but not me, when i had already bought ogbono at home earlier that day that i wanted to knack with eba, lai lai. Getting home i was already exhausted and couldn't cook again, thankfully DH sister was around, she made my ogbono and eba for me, i ate and slept off.
Some minutes to 12am i felt sharp pains, yeee! I didn't know when i grabbed dh who was lying beside me watching tv. Oya lets go to the hospital , i said no, i wanted the pain to catch me well so i would just get to the hospital and give birth fiam sharp sharp . Now that i look back on it i thank God he didn't listen to me. He and my sister in law grabbed my things and off we went.i was taken to a room, checked,3cm hanhan! Since morning , which kain level!.few hours later i was checked, 3.5cm , haa mo ku! With all these pains!?
Dh was sitting on a bed opposite me kept saying baby sorry. In my mind i say no be u put me for this wahala so mtchew. Then i slept a little, by the time i woke it was morning. Then my doctor came in by this time i was in serious pains, she checked again and i was 4cm, then she inserted a drug inside me on the guise that she just wanted to check how far i had gone. Some time later she came, saw i wasn't progressing and set up a drip abi line wetin dem dey call am.
I had heard stories of how inducing hurt so i began shouting, no oh i dont want to be induced no o, my sister in law said no its ordinary water don't worry so i allowed them. By the time i realised it wasn't ordinary water i was tossing around in pains i had never imagined.
I was so blind with pain that at a point i almost asked for a cs but then i thought of how i had been bearing the pains since , why not just go all the way? much more of the fact that at that point we couldn't afford one and since there were no complications why not just take the pain?i kept on praying, God pls let it be fast, God pls i dont want episotomy. I had read about it on sdk well and how painful it was , i had been praying for months about it and even DH.
He knew how scared i was about my yansh being sliced open. I kept on enduring the pains, vomited, went to the toilet countless times. hubby said 'baby sorry try and endure' I shouted 'shut up'. The doctor came to break my water and after that i just accepted my fate that this pain was going nowhere.
After a while she came to check , i had progressed to 7cm. She shouted at the other nurses to quickly prep me for the labour ward. My sis in law helped me up, i could barely walk and with dh in tow we went to the labour room. I made sure he was at my back because months before i had always told him we are going in together no escape for you and i knew at the slightest opportunity he could try and run.i lay down and felt the urge to poo. I said i want to shit, doctor said poo where you are. I said no o i want to go to the toilet, they refused .
They checked again and i was 9cm. I started feeling the urge to push. The doctor said i would have to give you an episotomy, haa epi kinni? I almost jumped off the bed and kept on shouting 'i don't want o i dont want'. My sister in law assured me there wasnt going to be one i didn't know she had again signalled to the doctor to go on. I felt the first cut. Ha! This doctor betrayed me ni sha! I felt the pain but it was nothing compared to what i was feeling at that moment so i didn't react.
Oya push, i pushed , nothing. I pushed like 6 times , every time i pushed the baby would attempt to come out i would relax he would run back inside. My sis in law and DH began to beg . Pls push, use ur energy. I was so exhausted. For my mind i thought , am i not pushing? They later told me, push as if you want to poo. I tried again, nothing, i then made a small prayer to God to let me push for one last time and be done with it because i was really tired and i could begin to see the worried look on their faces. I pushed one more time and my beautiful baby boy came out at some minutes past 12pm with support from the doctors.
It was such a beautiful moment, my sis in law had tears in her eyes and from the corner of my eye i saw DH hurriedly rubbing tears away from his face with his handkerchief. I almost laughed, my boo dey cry? I still tease him till today. I had my baby on the 2nd of December,2017 and here are his pictures for your eyes only Stella bae. Kisses.
*Ah Madam i didnt see any photos for my eyes only oooooh...Resend am na
Congrats dearie.
ReplyDeleteim smiling like mumu. Congrats
DeleteCongratulations madam. ..waiting for the day God will bless me with bundle of joy too.
ReplyDeleteCongrat pikin nor easy oooo. I had mine 8 december 2017. A very beautiful baby girl
DeleteDear Poster,thank your hubby for me oooo as I kept giggling while reading your story.A successful delivery is about mother and child coming out fine,thank God you are both doing fine...Congrats daddy Jumoke heheheheehe
ReplyDeleteyou and your husband knew you were pregnant and didn't reserve money incase you needed to have cs? Really? Why do you people like to risk your lives?
ReplyDeleteSo if you needed CS instead of signing the papers, your husband would have been running around looking for money first, while you and your child remain at the mercy of the doctor.
Haba! That one is history biko! Congratulate them na. Na WA o
DeletePoster congratulations o, your story too sweet.
It matters biko. They had 9 months to plan. God forbid something had happened. She will still get pregnant again, they should make sure they plan adequately.
DeleteVery interesting to read.
ReplyDeleteCongrats
ReplyDeleteSmiling
ReplyDeletesame here I was smiling and giggling!
DeleteSuch a lively personality.
Thanks be to God for safe delivery ,don't worry, maybe next baby, might be our beloved Jumoke😍😍😍😍!
Kisses to baby!
Congratulations dear, I really enjoyed your story, I pray God gives u a baby girl next time so that Jumoke name will stick to ur husband as he wanted. Kisses to your baby for me.
ReplyDeleteAwww. May God bless and keep your baby. I smiled and had joy in my heart reading this. Lord remember me too. Emi na fe di mummy.
ReplyDeleteCongratulations,may God have mercy on all of us in the waiting room to have this beautiful experience Amen
ReplyDeleteCongrats poster. Motherhood rocks.
ReplyDeleteNo woman in labour deserves pain, PH BVs go to BEMH opposite shell IA ask for an epidural
ReplyDeleteCongratulations Madam. Your story is so beautiful and i am happy for your family. God is faithful
ReplyDeleteCongrats
ReplyDeleteCongratulations.sweet story.
ReplyDeleteAww Baba Olajumoke don't worry next time, you will get your desire. What a beautiful story, I laughed throughout. Some hospitals have a policy of not revealing the gender in Nigeria and it's annoying but with your story I kind of understand their reason. Enjoy your family and prepare for Olajumoke!
ReplyDeleteCongrats to you and baba Olajumoke. Lol.
ReplyDeleteCongratulations dear
ReplyDeleteCongrats to you dear. Quite interesting story. May God favour us too
ReplyDeleteCongratulations I tap into your blessings
ReplyDeleteCongratulations poster. You have a supportive family. God bless your baby.