Kiss Daniel has been in a long drawn battle with his former label, G-Worldwide since he announced his departure from their stables on October 13 2017 and set up his own label, FlyBoy Inc.
He then went ahead to change his stage name from Kiss Daniel to Kizz Daniel, but the name change doesn't seem to have come with any relief as the label have now gone ahead to trademark the new name.
A statement to that effect was released by the record label on Friday, June 15 2018.
Excerpts from the statement reads;
“Following several requests and inquiries by Nigerian and foreign online media and entertainment outfits about the status of the matter, it has become needful to notify the public of the current state of facts.
“The suit at the Federal High Court last came up on May 16 2018 whereupon our lawyers informed the Judge of a pending application for status quo to further restrain the rebellious acts of the artiste in view of the recent release of previously unreleased songs from the ‘Evolution’ album, as well as the continued use of the name Kiss Daniel without our approval.
“The Judge emphatically told Kiss’ lawyers to explore a settlement of the dispute as he does not believe the matter is one which should go to trial and that the lawyers should report on any settlement at the next adjourned date, June 26 2018. We are unaware at the time of this release that the lawyers to Kiss have submitted any proposal with terms of settlement to our legal team.
“It also interesting to inform the public that the Court was informed about the artiste’s release of the new song titled ‘4 Dayz’, and ‘For You’ a collaboration with WizKid , which are songs from the ‘Evolution’ album, the ownership of which forms the subject matter of the suit at Federal High Court. We, therefore, need to let the public know that these demonstrate that the artiste is on a trip to put the credibility of other artistes whom he collaborates within question.
“We are also aware that the artiste has released the video of ‘4 Days’, done a collaboration with Sheyi Shay titled ‘Surrender’, and another song ‘Me Ke’ with Omawunmi by changing his name from ‘’Kiss Daniel’’ to ‘‘Kizz Daniel’’.
“Let the whole world also take note that G-Worldwide is also the owner of the name ‘‘Kizz Daniel’’ (see acceptance and acknowledgment documents from the Ministry of Trade & Investment).
“All digital platforms have been put on notice for taking down of infringing materials where the name Kizz Daniel is in use, and we have responded to foreign and local media outfits on this issue following calls for clarification. We also wish to formally inform the public that the artiste’s use of the names Kiss Daniel and Kizz Daniel amount to a breach of the company’s intellectual property rights.
“The company further advises the general public and other artistes to desist from engaging the artiste in respect of the names and contact the company’s management to confirm any information or proposal from the artist or his advisers which we believe are calculated to deceive. We shall also not hesitate to take appropriate legal action to obtain judicial redress where necessary for such infringements.”
from pusleng
*Chane it to Kizz kizz Daniel or Daniel Kizz kizz.....many variations of the name and then quickly register it...........
Wahala ooooo
ReplyDeleteSo he changed his name to Kizz Daniel but did not register it knowing fully well that he is having issues with his former label? Some of these naija artistes are not smart business wise. See d mess he has gotten himself into.
Delete***Chy Ozo***
Or kiz Daniel. Which kain sore record label be dis na
ReplyDeleteLeave it at Kizz.
ReplyDeleteThey will soon claim ownership of this boy's destiny.
He can use "Keys Daniel"...
ReplyDeleteHmmm... Nice one
Deletethey should leave this boy alone for Christ's sake. What's all these nonsense all about? Mtcheew
ReplyDeleteThey should leave this guy alone na.
ReplyDeleteWhatever
ReplyDeleteWhat happen to K Daniel or Daniel K or even Danny K? Abegge they should all free the boy jare.
ReplyDeleteClose to Dammy Krane that stole abi? Stephy u try wella
DeleteI pity any artiste that g worldwide will sign.
ReplyDeletemake una kuku claim his destiny
nonsense and ingredients
G World Entertainment are losers. They are even warning general public not to do business with the young man.
ReplyDeleteSeems he's the only successful artiste they have.
Wait.... so he didnt trademark the name before using it? Or they trademarked it before he thought about it? What's the date on the document cos na just now he change name to 'Kizz'. I'm trying to know who the proactive person is here, because when yoire trying to make Nigerians do things accordingly and close loopholes, they act as if your own is too much.
ReplyDeleteThank you chikito, I went to sign some land document with my husband, after reading through, I requested for correction to be made. The quack village lawyer was looking at me as if I be oversabi. This was somewhere in the east oh. I worked as a secretary in Lagos and has been through preparation of land purchase document with my boss's lawyer. It was a one man business but I learnt a lot going through that process with the lawyer.it was in Lagos and knowing all the issues that could occur.I have learnt to pay attention to detail and not ignore or leave out any detail as unimportant.The village lawyer was looking was looking at me as if I'm a controlling woman.i requested they redo the document to include some omitted details sould the land go into despute. My husband was like Everyone knows this is this and I said no, no until you put it in paper.Imagine they still used Mr and Mrs Ewu sold. Oga lawyer please include the full name of Mr Ewu and Mrs Ewu. We no fit shout.
DeleteLol @14:04
Deletethey will always meet their match. Me I feel Kiss and Kizz met his match on this one. When you start a business/brand take it from the ground up. They won't hear!! If you can't, employ someone who will do it for you. Story!! They will say you want to chop their money or you're doing oversabi.
Okay..... na to change name again and this time he will definitely trademark it.
This G world wide has issues
ReplyDeleteKizz kuku change your name
He should just change the name to DANIEL. Them go drag that one too? After all that’s his real name before. Now I realize how TUFACE became TUBABA as Blackface may have been claiming to own the name..
ReplyDeleteDanny boy it is 🤣
DeleteStella all those names you suggested up there will still be termed as passing off, because it's also similar to the trademark "kiss Daniel". The best the thing he should do now is to totally change the name from anything similar to kiss Daniel, so they won't keep dragging him court.
ReplyDeleteNigerians don't bother with reading terms and conditions before they append their signature. Some will even first comment before they read and understand a post. They go "somebody should read and summarise for me abeg" or "who read all that?" once it's more than 3 lines. Which is why you need a lawyer to read and explain a contract properly before you sign anything at all if you cannot be bothered with reading. And he also changed his name without TM-ing it immediately. He needs a real lawyer more than he needs food right now because the GW crew and their lawyers are way smarter. I don't want him to suffer depression by the time they are through with his fine dimples.
ReplyDeleteNa wa
ReplyDeleteKizz be wise. Seems like you don't have good lawyers. As for GWW, please leave this boy alone na he has suffered too much. Kindly concentrate on promoting Ajura's Enchanted. It's a very beautiful song.
ReplyDeleteG worldwide is acting smart now, but their reputation will suffer now and later. Obviously he's the only successful artist they had and the hey want to die there.No good talent will sign up with them after this. Kiss please change your lawyers.
ReplyDeleteGW worldwide must kiss daniel remain your meal ticket? cant you people venture into other business and let that boy be?? he is the only artiste that has done so many good music and still has nothing to show for it, he should be competing with wizkid and Davido but you people just tied his destiny ....haba fear God...
ReplyDeleteAll these ITKs saying GWW should leave him alone, may people come and swindle you and your business in the name of having talent, and leave you high and dry,taking your ideas to "start up their own business"
ReplyDeleteWhy can't he come down from his high thieving horse and settle his former bosses once and for all and then get on with his life?
GWW ejöö ride on! You have obviously engaged intelligent lawyers to fight your battles...the small rat who decided he's faster than his shadow should look for better advisers.
Radarada!