Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FG Bars Employers From Sacking Married Women And Those On Maternity Leave..

Wednesday, June 06, 2018

FG Bars Employers From Sacking Married Women And Those On Maternity Leave..

The Federal Government has increased maternity leave for Nigerian women from three to four months.

Minister of Labour and Employment, Senator Chris Ngige, disclosed this at the ongoing International Labour Conference (ILC), in Geneva, Switzerland, yesterday. The minister also told delegates that employers of labour in the public and private sectors in the country have been barred from sacking women from work either due to their marital or maternity status.

“Employers of labour (in Nigeria) are, by regulation, requested to provide workplace crèches for nursing mothers for ease at work place. In the public service, government recently increased the period for maternity leave from 12 to 16 weeks; to allow enough recuperation for both baby and mother, especially in the area of breast feeding.

“In addition, all disciplinary proceedings against any female staff, which might have been taken during the period of her maternity leave shall be put in abeyance till the expiration of the leave.

“Employers of labour are also barred from removal of women from work due to their marital or maternity status, illegal labour migration, contract staffing and labour casualisation which affects most women, are being reformed through policies and regulations at national, bilateral and multilateral levels.”

He said, "Women who fall victim to these abuses are encouraged to oppose such through legal actions and reporting to Labour Inspectors. The infusion into Labour Inspection Guides Laws and Code of Practice, with severe sanctions and serious punitive measures are prescribed as future deterrents.

From Daily Sun

30 comments:

1. They can only Talk. We dont have a Good Union To ensure this Stands

2. Nice.

3. 2019 poli-trical gimmicks

persin wey water dey swallow
    dey hold feather!

4. Great news. In My former work place they don't employ married people, and if u are a single lady who eventually gets married and gets pregnant and decide to apply for annual leave bcoz u are pregnant and need the leave to birth your baby, just know u aint coming back after that leave.

5. How is it great news? Women like to use pregnancy as an excuse not to work. I work with 5 women who take turns to get pregnant and go leave. Is that fair? I do all the wirj8

1. idiot, jealous goat....u can never understand. i pity the unfortunate woman who will marry you

2. Lol. I guess you are a male. Your wife will receive this favour in her own time. Bless.

3. That ur establishment are users very evil so a woman won't get married again cos they are working for them they are pure enemies of progress

4. Anon are u a woman? If u are u will understand better when u get pregnant and birth your child

5. Anon are u a woman? If u are u will understand better when u get pregnant and birth your child

6. That was how my former boss sack a lady because she was going to maternity every 1 year.

They prefer men than women to work with them but I had to prove him wrong

6. This is good
    Does it apply to bankers too ?

1. My dear it doesn't oo, it applies only to federal government workers and bankers ain't included in this. It's a pity

7. good to know

8. One of the greatest news this year!

9. I know banks will never agree to this gist.

10. It's only when they travel out of the country that they begin to dish out informations like this. He had all the time to address this during the workers day celebration but no...once they travel in a bid to impress their colonial masters start saying what we Nigerians are not even aware of 😩

11. No be to dey switzerland talk am,una go put am to work?
    Shebi na naija we dey?

12. My work place a school for that, maternity is 1month. If you don't come back you 're replaced. It well o on top 80k. God help me start my own biz

13. my company already set to kick off by July and hey! the men have 2weeks paternity leave too

14. Maternity leave for federal civil servants has been 4 months since 2007.

1. Its only 4 months if you've not taken your annual leave. According to PSR,maternity leave is 12 weeks; but with the additional ,4 weeks annual leave,makes it 16 weeks.

15. But employers will frustrate u out of the job
    I saw the handwriting on the wall and left in March.BGg I will start my own business after mat leave