Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Woman Dies After Birthing Triplets And Her Hubby Takes To His Heels

Sunday, May 20, 2018

Woman Dies After Birthing Triplets And Her Hubby Takes To His Heels

A  set of triplets have been left stranded after their mum died shortly after their births in an Abuja hospital whilst their unemployed Father is nowhere to be found.

Distant relatives and friends are now struggling to give some attention to the three boys and their older siblings — a boy and a girl — and are calling for help from the government and Nigerians.

Before her death, Nkechi Okonya, 32, was the family’s bread-winner, raising her two children and supporting her husband from the proceeds of her petty trade, neighbours said.

Jersey and Kimberly — seven and five years old — have now dropped out of school with no one to take care of their education.

Their father was last seen shortly after the unlucky mum gave birth at Bwari General Hospital. She bled to death shortly afterwards leaving behind the five children.

Mrs Okonya was due for delivery on April 20 and was rushed to a Primary Health Centre in Bwari, a suburb of Abuja.

She was delivered of one of the children there prematurely at about 9:30 a.m.

“For hours they kept telling her to push thinking the baby left inside her was just one but nothing came out so they now referred her to Bwari General hospital,” her cousin, Chinwendu Ekwunife, told Premium Times last Friday.

When she arrived the Bwari hospital, the health workers there further delayed the delivery process, thereby worsening her situation. She held on until 5 p.m.

“I don’t know what happened but the doctors and nurses there still held on until about 5 p.m. before they wheeled her into the theatre. “She delivered the remaining two children but was now bleeding heavily. She took four pints of blood in less than 15 minutes.At a point they (doctors) said she was stable and after a while, she died. It was around 12 midnight,”

She said one of the triplets was placed on oxygen throughout the night because he was very weak.

She described the services rendered by the hospital as “careless and inhuman”. “Why would a general hospital keep a woman who already delivered a baby elsewhere from 12pm to 5pm without conducting an operation?” she questioned.

The triplets were released from the hospital later, and Mrs Ekwunife, still mourning her cousin, has relied on help from her husband and friends as she juggles taking care of the kids and holding down her job as a lawyer.

Emeka Okonya, the father of the triplets is a graduate but unemployed and has since abandoned the family on the excuse he had no money and job.

from national helm

*This is so annoying!...this could have been prevented!!!.I shiver just imagining that the remaining two boys stayed in the womb from that 9 am until 5pm!!...JESUS!!!

46 comments:

1. Omg what a sad story! Rest in peace dear and may your kids receive the much needed help x

1. Abeg abeg what is this? So they dint have her history or what? They had never done a scan to know how many kids she was having? Why dint just do cs? So many questions.
      The hubby is not a serious man, you mean he ran away leaving these kids for who now? I am angry at Nigeria cus people die from simple things that could be averted

2. Seems men are getting lazier and laid back. They are comfortable with their wives being the bread winner.

3. May her soul rest in peace..For me oo,since she is the bread winner and the hbby doesnt have a job,and they already have 2 kids and were eveb blessed a boy and a girl,what are they looking for again...i dont understand...

2. Why wait for that long before commencing with the operation??? May her soul rest in peace

3. Women are the bread winners in most African homes today. Men these days are so comfortable with women taking care of them, that some make no effort to look for jobs,and they are the ones that cheats . These women will do every single house chore too...This is so sad. May her soul rest in peace. This is just sad.

1. My dear thank you. Most men nowadays feels they are doing women a favour by marrying them. I bet with how this man is jobless he will leave her to be working till her 9th month in pregnancy while carrying triplets, looking after the remaining children,doing house chores. And when she gets home she will still serve oga food and sex him.

2. Na una dey do that rubbish slavery.

4. This is sad, but the man that ran away from his responsibilities is the one that is paining me. Why leave those children. I hope they get help.

5. Why didn't they just do C-section? This is very sad. The poor woman must have gone so much, trying to oush

6. This is so sad,those children are real fighters staying from 9am to 5pm,,,,,,oh my God!

7. Hmmmm who delivers triplets vaginally nowadays. A planned C-section shld have been in her birth plan from the start. They would have given her a date and prepared theatre and everything down. But I guess lack of money won't have even made her have her own gynae.
    I wld keep on saying this thing. Women shld take charge of their sexual and reproductive health. A woman with 2kids and an unemployed husband has no business getting pregnant.
    RIP

1. Best comment here. I felt so angry reading this. With the system in particular. Why would you deliver a set of triplet naturally? The doctors should have known better. Women please stop getting pregnant after 2 children especially when blessed with both sexes and you are the bread winner.Nigerian Government please fix our hospitals.

2. Somebody that is doing petty trade with two children and a jobless husband to cater for, school fees, clothes, rent, food etc. Where she wan see money for Csection. Na poor person dey fuck useless fuck and na dem dey born pass rat. how much is birth control, how much is pampers and school fees for 5 children????

3. Even me that owns a successful business, I am not taking in for the third until I have another business cus that has always been my dream, it’s not like my hubby does not provide but ever since a cab man told me his sad story of how his life changed after the death of his wife, I have decided to born the amount of kids I can raise successfully by myself, I still shiver at the thought of his story, (I will write about it another day)
      Women please born the one you can handle, it’s not a competition

8. Some health centers self...if there was money, I'm sure she would've been monitored n they would not waste time at any health center...what a useless father, must u run in d face of challenge? Be a man sissy.

1. This generation of men, very week. If they are not blaming spouse as bad luck for all their misfortune, it is to tear race at the site of any challenge.

9. Poor people and their sperm sha

10. This is so sad. May her soul rest in peace. May God raise helpers for the children she left behind..

11. Just blaming the medical facilities wouldn't resolve tragedy. We doctors administered Bronchoscopic intratumoral injection, it's not guarantee the bleeding will stop. Sometimes, pregnancy time before this one will have a vital role. RIP madam and my condolences to the affected family.

1. Please what do you mean by "pregnancy time before this one will have a vital role"?

2. Anon11:20, what are you saying? This bleeding will not have occurred, if the doctors really know what they are doing( sorry to say). Right from the word go! this woman should have been booked or rush in for a C-section.
      The medical doctors and midwives should be blamed for this. The earlier doctors and other medical staffs start admitting their faults the better for good health care system in Nigeria. If not, this sad incident will keep happening.

R.I.P to the dead!

3. In Africa, people came with absurdly excuse why cesarean section based on religion believe of not taking blood. My friend lost his due to bleeding, the man held his ground that Jehovah's Witnesses forbids blood transfusion. Who do will blame in such scenario. There are two sides to coin

4. If they don't drop money, no csection even if the woman is about to die. Nigerian hospitals na morgue. That's why your president travels abroad to check even his hearing. Can't come and die like a fowl anyhow on someone's table.

12. This is so sad. 😢😢😢

13. My main concern is that they didn't know that she was having triplets in the first place. Did she never go for a scan? I hope these hospitals are sued because this is a case of some serious gross negligence.we really need to start holding these hospitals responsible for all these medical negligence maybe just maybe more lives will be saved. Having a triplet should have been an automatic c-section. No woman should have been put through the trauma of having to push out triplets. But then again apparently the hospital didn't know she was having triplets. God Nigeria is a joke. Such unpreventable instances. Now there could also be the fear that those kids could be disabled for life as their brains may have been starved of oxygen for being in the womb for so long. Naija.. Naija.... We need serious help

1. I was not there and I didn't know what happened.But from what I read up there the woman is the breadwinner of the family and she probably never had money to do scan.Plus she gave birth in a primary health care centre,located somewhere in Nigeria.Most primary health care centres in Nigeria don't even have in the least "mattress".The health care system in Nigeria is very,very poor

2. She doesn’t have money for scan but she has energy for sex, women do not know that they can get a family planning injection for just 600 naira every three months, yes it may make you fat, but if you can’t afford a child abeg carry your fat about, you can stop after 3years after saving for other methods, please help thy self

14. Petty trader with jobless husband and 2 children already now going for another round?
    I emphatize the family but you exposed 5 children into a world of undue hardship.

15. It was only God that saved me when I had my twins the boy came out around 4am while the 2nd one a girl was bridged and she didn't turn to come out, I was finally operated around 7.30am after many struggles the baby that assumed to be dead already after they removed all the moulcus from her mouth and nostrils cried and was alive. Please note that I was told that once the first child comes out the other one will automatically turn. Thank God we survived. You can imagine having two wounds in different places, I couldn't walk for a whole week after delivery. RIP to the woman. She must have struggled really hard. I also pray for to the little ones left behind.

1. Pls any woman having twins pls be insisting for CS . There are so many complications that comes with multiples. Either with the mother or with the babies.
      Don't let all these doctors play ludo with your lives.
      Do your research,choose hospital that have gynaecologist and have theatre. Save your own money and choose the best most equipped hospital you can afford.
      Stop leaving men to do everything. This is your life here. Some men won't want to bring out money for CS. Claiming women of nwdays are lazy to push. If you have the cash pls pay for your own CS.
      If your enemy dies the man will move on.

2. An elective caesarean section is the best option for any multiple birth.

16. Lack of money is a disease
    See how this quacks wasted the woman's life
    If there was money, she would have planned for C. S
    RIP woman.... .may God take care of the children she left

17. Another bites the dust. RIP
    After having 2kids, she couldn't do family planning knowing d family financial condition?
    What is wrong with these poor people?
    Are they the only ones that enjoy gbenshing?

1. They should "gbensh" with common sense oooo.

18. I just wish this person I know will come n read this post. She's pregnant again after two cuties , she's the bakery winner not even bread.this one is as good as single mum except the stupid man is in the house with her n still brings out his microphone for her to sing with it nd steals her money if she refuses to give him. Refused to pay BP after quick intro cos of pregnancy.they needed to move from their apartment to a bigger place nd guyman insisted it's 3bdroom or he's not moving.nd he wasn't even going to drop a kobo.well she got the 3bdroom against all odds 😃😃 I don't pity her anymore lemme use the rest of my pity n advise for people more deserving.I must be Mrs syndrome is what ll end plenty Nigerian women.

19. Oh my goodness, what a saaaad read.😓
    Rip to her.

20. God let this man not find peace. He has run now and left 5 babies to their fate. Women biko, if your husband is unemployed cool down on taking in. You will literally kill yourself. Case 101 why we say most of these men are selfish. He has run and unless caught, he will start life again and possibly remarry some unfortunate woman. Family planning whether agreed upon or not is almost left to women. If you follow some of these men, you will kill yourself. Only have the number of children YOU CAN FEND FOR.

21. So angry and at the same sad while reading this. This could have been prevented if proper scan with good plan for CS was put in place.

22. Don't mind these useless Nigerian men. If it is to fuck they will have energy for that.
    Oya come and take care of pickin. E don run leave Dunlop slippers. Werey!!!!!

23. Most likely the pregnancy was not booked for antenatal, if not she shod have had a planned C section

24. What a sad news . May God preserve those babies