Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari Under Pressure To Reveal Illness

Friday, May 11, 2018

President Buhari Under Pressure To Reveal Illness

President Muhammadu Buhari is under pressure to disclose the state of his health after he embarked on a fourth medical trip to London.

Nigeria's opposition party, People's Democractic Party (PDP), said it was time for the president to reveal his medical condition. PDP spokesman Kola Ologbodiyan said:

"We need full disclosure about the president's health. He needs to be honest with Nigerians to say he his unwell. He can't travel for an official meeting to the US and sneak into London to see his doctor, then tell Nigerians it was a technical stopover due to flight issues."

Nigerians on social media have also joined in the call for Buhari to make his health records public. These calls have grown louder since he announced plans to seek re-election next year.

But the president's spokesman Garba Shehu told CNN Buhari was under no obligation to disclose his medical records. According to the spokesman, Buhari is the first Nigerian president to make public his need to see a doctor. The constitution does not say the president must disclose his health status, it only says he should make his medical vacation public to the House of Assembly. Let's check the records, no other president in this country has made public their medical trips abroad.

He added that Buhari's latest trip to the UK did not mean that he was ill and it was merely a review after his treatment nine months ago.

20 comments:

1. review to change batteries abi?

He is not under obligation to tell about his health. I support that. His health his problem. They should leave him alone. We should not force him to say what is wrong with him. what Nigerians owe him is to pray for him

1. Re-He is not under obligation to tell about his health. He is and he should but in a country that lacks transparency they will hide everything.

2. Reveal his illness? No!!!!!!! Everyone has a right to confidentiality and that's a fundamental human right. As much as I don't like him, he is under no obligation to make any revelation (s)

3. Pray for someone that is not sick? Relatively confused here.

4. In a country that works and one with transparency, yes heads of states/presidents/prime ministers reveal the statuses of their health. Nigeria with all their lies will not reveal it. What confidentiality do you have or should you have as a President? Think of it.

2. Buhari! Better tell the truth, you are sick and dying. stop disgracing yourself up and down. you wanted to be pesident so badly and now you have tasted the seat, respect yourself and resign. when you die on that seat you will know. shmaeless old man. BTW... he has cancer

1. So you want to play god now

3. make una dey decieve unaselves..

4. He dosent need to disclose it abi wetin d public wan use am do??
    They will just end up worsening his condition with badmouthing and all. Nothing else..
    Abeg, I support him on this.
    The only issue I have got with baba is, he should kindly and jejely step down once his tenure ends and not seeking for re-election maka ochi ta roo aja mehn.

1. he needs to disclose it as he is using public money (taxpayes money) to treat it. its not his personal funds. beside he is the captain of this ship (albeit for the time being), we need to know if he can sail in the right direction properly

5. Anonymous donor11 May 2018 at 12:41

But this man's team is d mvp. No leak at all

6. Buhari is a huge joke. Be serious for once.

7. As an ordinary citizen, he is well within his rights not to disclose his health status as it is sensitive information and no one's business. However, he is no ordinary citizen as he ceased being one the day he took the oath and became president. That oath means he puts people and country first; if Buhari is unable to carry out his duties as president due to health concerns, he has to declare his health status. He does not need to even go into finer details self. But as per usual, especially for one who lacks integrity, Buhari and his lying deceitful team will cook up something. Unfortunately for them, we see all the politricks...get your pvc people, we are going to vote these lying tricksters out.

8. If Nigerians ever make the mistake of returning him to power in 2019, he will simply relocate to London, he no send you again as he has achieved his ambition to be president.