Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mama Nnuku's Corner - Awon Cooks

Wednesday, May 02, 2018

Mama Nnuku's Corner - Awon Cooks

Hmm Interesting!!

The Gist:

Joke and Kunmi (Not real names o) are a couple who stay on the Island , Tope was a friend of theirs and I got to meet them through her , they are a young couple and Joke Is still pregnant with her first child. 

Tope was going to pay her a visit one day so I decided to tag along

On arrival we met Joke with her big belle sitting down on a small Apoti (stool), close to her stove frying fish, we sat down on the long bench behind her and exchanged pleasantries.

She put in the next round of fish and the ororo she was using to fry was doing kpra kpra kpra, and splashed on everybody, immediately I stood up make person no come burn my skin, she laughed and said why are you running me wey I dey here nko, I ignored her and decided to keep my distance from the frying pan.

When she tried turning the fish over, the ororo was jumping up and making knock-out sound and splashing everywhere., I asked her to move her stool back a bit cause of the oil and her response was that haa, I wan cook this food quick before my husband go come, I asked her so if the oil no burn you , the thing no go sweet? Or e no go fast? She laughed and sat down there as the oil kept splashing on her.

She made a fresh looking soup with the fish and made lump-less semo to go with it, oh dear. I was salivating.

At exactly 7.15 kunmi returned from work, and Joke welcomed him with a smile, me and tope were busy hailing him and telling him how his wife had been busy working all day the special delicacy the wife had made for him and all, and his next statement was he wasn’t eating. LMAO

Immediately he said so, I could see the disappointment on Joke's face and the smile disappeared. She asked why, and the guy said he feels like eating porridge that one mama put sells at T-junction.

He dropped his bag and went to the bus-top and came back with a pack of porridge and orisirisi.

Joke lost appetite also and couldn’t eat the food anymore, but thank God me and Tope were there to help. And it was delicious I no go lie.

If you were Joke, what will you do? If na me eeeehn , I will go all CEE CEE on him..

Na so this one take happen 

*To eat is not by force and its always better to ask in the Morning so that menu for the day will be discussed...especially for people who are hard to please like the man in the story...

Mama Nnuku you and your friend stay tey oooooooo...LMAO

23 comments:

1. hahahahha. If i be the woman, no need to ask him if he will eat again. if he comes back, let him continue eating mama porridge food

2. CeeC has turn to a verb now. Lol...

3. Why would I get upset because a grown man refused to eat my food, even to the extent of me losing appetite? No can't do.. Lol

1. My dear you won't understand. Some men are a whole lot of work.

4. So you both sat there and ate till after 7:pm when the husband returned. Did you both eventually sleep there? mtcheew
    I never see friend wey go find me come house, carry another girl gum body join, come stay till after 6:pm.
    Immediately it's 6:pm, I will tell them my husband will soon be back and he doesn't like visitors in the house in the evening when he comes back from work to come and rest. If the person is a close friend who lives far, then we would have discussed about her staying the night before she comes over and she must not bring another friend follow body asides her kids or hubby as the case may be.

1. my dear ekpele, no kee yourself too much.

When you have good friends, you wont allow them to leave your side for a minute

5. Eyah Stella I love the way you are encouraging this mama nnuku
    She will get there soon. Wehdone Vera

6. This happens to almost every wife at one point or another,what is absent here is communications!

1. My dear it doesn't have to be!! Some men are just like that!! The days my hubby chooses to be like that I just take it very calmly as if nothing happened in order not to be angry.

7. Nawa o. So sad but she have learned her lessons to always ask.

8. My husband never for once reject my food except if we have misunderstanding. So base on the question I will go cee cee on him oh upon my suffering.

1. But men are so childish sha. Like seriously so if he rejects food what's that supposed to do to me? Lmaooo.
      I will eat his portion, eat my portion and go to bed with a full happy tummy.
      This life there is nothing to kill yourself over, certainly not a man na.

2. You will be taking care of baby in your tummy, still taking care of oversize baby throwing tantrums.
      Me, I kuku no say I no get energy. If e like let him bring his babe. I will dish my food and go and rest after.

9. Not a big deal, it happens a lot. He would still eat the soup the next day

10. It's better to call before evening to find out if LeeBoo's eating dinner and what.

11. Kai this thing dy pain just that I don't cook all the time sef

12. After frying fish & absorbing all the flying hot oil, the reward you can get is, "I'm not eating".

Communication is obviously absent but then if I were her, I'll just make the soup. when he's back, I'll make whatever he wants to eat.

Weldone Nnuku mama

13. No appetite for what? I will eat my food wella and thank God

14. My Grand Dad used to do that a lot. Those days in PH, If you stay out too long beyond the time frame he gave us to go out, when we get back home and make either Lunch or Dinner, he would not eat saying we disobeyed him. We will have to kneel down in front of him and repeat what he told us to say. "Papa, l am sorry. I will not do it again." Only after that will he touch the food.
    My Aunt came visiting once and asked her Mom why her Father has not eaten. Her Mom told her what happened that l disobeyed him so he is mad at me. My Aunt said, "if na only me de here, him go de starve" She felt it was not fair for girls in their early twenties not to be able to go out. After then, we began to ignore him and he would later ask someone else to bring the food.
    I have seen Women crying and begging because their Husband refused to eat. If l didn't do it for my grand dad, l will not do it for no Man. More for me sef.

15. Na wa o ... After going through all the stress to cook, the man now says he prefers to go and buy food outside ... well, I wouldn't do that. I will eat whatever my wife cooks for me and if I am not hungry, I will just say so. To encourage her, I will tell her I'll warm the food the next morning for breakfast. My wife is not my slave. I even help in cooking sometimes too. I am the one making jollof rice for breakfast tomorrow morning sef ...