Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ikoyi Registry No Longer Has Power To Conduct Marriages ....

Friday, May 18, 2018

Ikoyi Registry No Longer Has Power To Conduct Marriages ....

Power tussle  ...One of Nigeria's biggest problem!!

The Lagos State Government has secured another court injunction restraining the Federal Government’s owned Registry in Ikoyi from conducting marriages, saying it was unconstitutional for the Federal Government to be usurping the power of the State Government and the Local Government in this regard.

The judgment delivered by Professor Chuka Aunstine Obiozor with the reference number SUIT NO: FHC/L/CS/1760/16 of Lagos High Court in favour of Lagos State and which took effect on Monday 30th of April 2018, reaffirmed that all the marriage registries in the Local Government and Local Council Development Areas in Lagos are the authentic and legally-binding government division established to carry out such function.

Addressing a Press Conference on the development on Thursday, the Commissioner for Local Government and Community Affairs, Muslim Folami said the Ministry was in the process of officially communicating the development to the various embassies in the State, stressing that the decision of the court was supreme and was legally binding on all, the embassies inclusive.

According to him, the judgment would undoubtedly put a stop to the seeming perception of superiority of Ikoyi Marriage Registry over the Local Government Registries.

He added that the news conference was strategically necessary in order to intimate the various embassies resident in Lagos State, the general public and the country at large that all Marriages conducted and registered in any of the 57 Local Government Areas/ Local Council Development Areas were valid and in accordance with the Marriage Act.
From pm news

*So that's it,Lagos state won.no more conducting Marriages in Ikoyi Registry...Now the LG should make their dirty environment conducive for such activities.....

33 comments:

1. People should just arrange for registry staff to come Wed them in their own venues

1. Ehen na . Have civil ceremony in the hotel lawn or penthouse balcony and go inside the banquet hall for reception . Shikena

2. More living room or home garden weddings loading in Naija.

3. Make the man come first. Mke una no bother where I go register am

2. So that mean previously conducted marriages at the ikoyi registry are now void?

1. Na so una dey take fail school cert. Go back and re-read the piece.

3. This made me remember when I was planning my wedding. I visited Isolo local government to process the registry stuff, jeezz I ran out like hell No can't have my registry here. I moved to Ikeja local government, not too dirty but I don't like the area and the staff are rude, the charges asked was higher than the federal registry. Eventually , I had to opt for Ikoyi and everything was OK. The environment, staff and no waste of precious time.

4. Lawyers come in here.

What about previous marriages?
    What about those that got their license from there?

I got my marriage license from Ikoyi

1. Marriages before the court rulings are still valid. You don't have to be a lawyer to know that.

2. I don't think anything will change. It will still be valid, it's just subsequent ones that won't continue there.

3. Anon,I read something different from what Stella wrote that is why I asked.

Thanks Cynthia

4. Better ooo, I did mine too there

5. Lol, all marriages held there before this law remains valid.

5. What about us that got married at Ikoyi, is our marriage void?

6. As if the sufferings,headaches and tribal discrimination we get from the LGs are not enough,they add this to it........save us Lord!

7. Better, the nuisance at Ikoyi registry is just not it at all.

Thank God I did mine at FMR, Abuja.

8. Na real power tussle!they better clean up their environment truly. People can't be taking wedding photo with onekind background.ordinary license we took to church from LG I went to collect at The LG at Akowonjo see local background with Bachuss and all those yeye artiificial flowers.no other eyes has ever see the byforce pictures we had to take.

1. For ordinary license,you took pictures?

2. Yes o swag we took pictures. By force.i wore jean and top even hubs cos we didn't know we'll have to. Plus they taxed us bring milk bring yoghurt bring biscuit 😅😅

9. Yes, they are void. Those licences and marriages were done ultra vires the power of the federal government, hence they are void.

BUT, I am only a lawyer. I foresee this getting to the supreme court, so till then.

1. Its not possible. They are not void. This is a simple thing and am sure it will it will still turn out like that- even if the FG doesn't appeal, it supposed tone a matter of choice...the law is universal. It in no way will make previous ones void.

All in all, am in support of the judgement; FG cannot usurp Lagos IGR. Secondly, all the so called 57 local councils should brace up and upgrade their areas. They should not just be interested in the money...

10. Lawyers Biko come and answer oo
    We that got married in ikoyi, hope our certificate remains valid ?

I think it's even better, one groom fainted on my registry day, they had to do for them first.The ikoyi craze is unlimited.

11. It's a good move considering the traffic they generate

12. *sigh* i remember the dingy LG place in gbagada.....Or is it the one in ibeju lekki LG where i served? I wondered what the couple's went through....
    Dear Lord, remember our agreement? My court wedding won't be in Nigeria. Amen 🙏

13. pls I lost my certificate and we did our court wedding at ikoyi, what do I do pls? Help a sister