The Minister of State for Education, Anthony Anwuka, stated this while briefing State House correspondents after the cabinet meeting presided over by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo.
The minister said the council discussed the school fees being charged by various universities "and noted that as of law, no federal university should charge tuition fees."
He said: “We understand some universities now charge fees per course unit and we are going to make sure that we investigate that properly and make it stop. Students can pay other auxiliary fees, but not in excess. Various university councils and management should be able to fix what fees students should pay that is affordable and acceptable to the students. That is the position. The federal government does not determine fees for private and state universities. It only takes responsibility for fees paid in the federal universities.”
From Daily trust
I'm not getting this. Are they saying that Federal University students ought not to pay for tuition fee or course fee?
ReplyDeleteSomeone please explain this half baked statement from the honourable minister of states for education.
Could this be a strategy for reelection? #justthinking
You don't understand something yet you go ahead to term it half baked. Well done
DeleteThe highest I paid in Unilag b4 leaving was #734.00 I still have my receipt. But other things were over 100k I.e hand outs books and small small faculty fees... I left 2007
DeletePoli-tricks
ReplyDeleteAll 2019 A phe cee gimmick
Them sabi the truth
Could it be as a result of the upcoming elections? Uhmm all of a sudden the Federal government is so considerate. I'm going back to school.
ReplyDeleteStella there is no Federal University that charges for tuition. If you see a proper fees break down, Tuition is always FREE or 0 but by the time they add every other non-living things (Computer, Hostel, Sports, Medicals, Security, Masquerade, Village meeting etc) inside; you'll be dazed.
ReplyDeleteDon't mind them and their lies joor
Stella there is no Federal University that charges for tuition. If you see a proper fees break down, Tuition is always FREE or 0 but by the time they add every other non-living things (Computer, Hostel, Sports, Medicals, Security, Masquerade, Village meeting etc) inside; you'll be dazed.
ReplyDeleteDon't mind them and their lies joor
I read this and I'm surprised. Has it really been that long since I graduated? Or have things just changed radically? Had to check my last fees receipt to be certain. There's a long list of things we paid for but tuition wasn't one of them. When did universities start charging for tuition?! The disadvantage of e-payment is that there's no breakdown of what's being paid for. It's a pity. I don't even trust this government to do more than talk otherwise I would have said they'd probably look into it. Oh well
ReplyDeleteI am not understanding
ReplyDeleteAbeg, help us investigate and cancel oh. Politricks or not. My bro is killing us, especially me
ReplyDeleteI went to Uniben and all I paid from my year one to four every session was N7,700(ok year one was a bit more cos of medicals and the rest) and I knew then that sciences were paying N9,700......Graduated 2011 BTW.