Sometimes if not most times as humans we get distracted by what we see or what society wants us to see that we forget that there could more going on underneath. We see the glam and glamour of people on social media, their 'luxury' lifestyle, 'perfect' relationship goals that are enviable.
Until you realise that nobody or no relationship is that perfect as they paint it, the better for you. Anyways, to the story of today...
So this woman was brought in to the ER in the morning. She was bleeding from the vagina. She was in painful distress and highly irritable. She was brought in by two ladies who I assume were her friends. She was weak and complained of being dizzy. She was restless too and acting slightly confused. Her blood pressure was low and she had a rapid heart beat and breathing rate too.
When asked for her bio data, one of her friends mentioned a name while the other one mentioned another name, probably to protect the woman's privacy.
She was commenced on oxygen to aid her breathing and she had blood samples taken for series of tests. The tests revealed she was pregnant and that she had a low blood level too as she was said to have been bleeding for about 4days.
When asked if she knew she was pregnant, she said she knew. She was then taken to the scan room to have an urgent scan. The scan showed she had a 14weeks old baby and the baby had some sort of fetal abnormality whereby the brain of the baby was partially out of the skull.
The doctors requested that the woman's husband be called but her friends claimed he had travelled out of the country. She had some injections to stop the bleeding which was severe and had big lumps of clots in it and blood was arranged for her to be transfused with. Her friends were told to leave, they refused initially claiming they were her best friends but had to leave when a doctor threatened to call security to bounce them.
She was asked series of questions by the doctors. She explained that she was on family planning and that her family planning method was IUD. IUD is a tiny device that's inserted in the uterus and is a long-term, reversible, and one of the most effective birth control methods. She said she had it inserted 6 months ago at a clinic and against her husband's knowledge as they had children already and she wanted a break. She said that she was surprised when she found out she was pregnant, she asked for help from one of her friends to get rid of it, who told her to insert misoprostol pills into her vagina to induce an abortion and drink dry gin. She said when she did it the first time, she saw only little blood which meant that the abortion failed, so she doubled the dose and repeated it 3weeks after, then the blood came, with severe cramps. She said the blood kept increasing in volume with big clots and it made her feel dizzy and faint.
She begged the doctors not to grant any interviews or answer anyone who comes asking to know what had happened, she made it seem like she was an entertainer of some sort. I think it was the first abortion attempt that caused the baby to be deformed.
I was just looking at her, lost for words as she talked.
Anyways, we asked her to sign and fill a consent form for her to have the remaining contents of the baby removed and to empty the uterus of the clots which she did, a procedure we call MVA. The IUD was removed. After the procedure, she was transfused and became stable. She also had antibiotics and other medications. Then the unexpected happened!
Unknown to her, her husband's car which her friend drove her in to the hospital had a tracker of some sort which was connected to an app on his phone. He said he had been calling her several times since he got home and noticed her phone was at home and the car was gone. He said he managed to trace the car.
At the reception, he saw her two friends before they saw him. I'm sure if they had seen him first, they would have dodged him. He had seen his car in the car park and asked where his wife was. They weren't giving straight answers so he got angry and was creating a scene at the reception. He was then told where she was. Due to the fact that she had told the doctors they shouldn't tell anyone what had happened, they had to lie she only had a low blood level and was feeling dizzy so they were boosting it with some blood and that there was nothing more.
I was dazed. Her husband felt pity for her, held her hands and assured her she was going to be okay. He even sang to her and stroked her hair.
. Usually, we give d dead baby to the mother to trash or bury after an MVA but since the husband wouldn't leave her side for us to give her the remains, it had to be trashed in the bin. I wonder why she can't discuss family planning with her husband and why she had to have an abortion. I wonder how she got an IUD inserted because both parties need to consent to it before it is done.
It is dangerous to induce an abortion without help or advise from a medical professional. She inserted a very high dose of the drug and I count her lucky to still be alive. She could have gone as far as having a rupture or even a heart attack. what does dry gin have to do with anything?. Poor baby, poor husband......
. Usually, we give d dead baby to the mother to trash or bury after an MVA but since the husband wouldn't leave her side for us to give her the remains, it had to be trashed in the bin. I wonder why she can't discuss family planning with her husband and why she had to have an abortion. I wonder how she got an IUD inserted because both parties need to consent to it before it is done.
It is dangerous to induce an abortion without help or advise from a medical professional. She inserted a very high dose of the drug and I count her lucky to still be alive. She could have gone as far as having a rupture or even a heart attack. what does dry gin have to do with anything?. Poor baby, poor husband......
And somewhere else, a woman is still trying to conceive.
Oh Lord! Should I say she is lucky. This is scary. Thank God for her.
ReplyDeleteAll you women that kill and bury in ya wombs
Deletetime is ticking o
Repent ooooooooo!
Aha, the killers have come.
DeleteKill and hide.
Nawa ooo!
DeleteHia.
DeleteSee stupidity in highest level.what if she died in the process.
DeleteNobody is talking about those two musketeers called friends she has
DeleteIWhy do you need husband consent for iud. Is it his vagina
ReplyDeleteExactly. I don't think you need your husband's consent for that.
DeleteEnter a govt family planning clinic alone as a married person and see if they'll give you naa
DeleteNaija ehn....you should be able to decide and use any form of family planning without anyone's consent. If your marriage lacks good communication then preventing preg is the least of the problems it will suffer. This lady and so many other women are going (have gone) through alot. IMO is still the best when fitted properly.
DeleteIn the city that I am in, family planning is carried out on any person without the husband's consent, I know because I did mine in Park Lane Hospital, Enugu, and the health officer didn't seek for my husband's consent.
DeleteThe heart of a woman is very deep...anyway I don't wanna miss Meghan walking down d aisle.
ReplyDeleteYou can imagine
ReplyDeleteSome have food they can't eat, some can eat but have no food.... ..hmmmm
Lucky her
Nurse
ReplyDeleteDon't be naïve. That pregnancy that she aborted may not be for her husband. It may be for her boyfriend or sugar daddy. Many married women sleep around and get pregnant. They abort it secretly or have the bastard child for their husbands.
Another angle...
DeleteAngu!
DeleteSo you don't know some women whose husbands wants more children abort a pregnancy when they don't want more. It must not be about boyfriends or sugar daddy
DeleteHnmmmm
ReplyDeleteWhy do u need both parties consent for family planning? Its the woman's body so her primary decision.
ReplyDeleteLol, dey there o
DeleteHmmmmm,God have mercy.
ReplyDeleteThis one weak me oh.
ReplyDeleteShes lucky to have a mumu husband
ReplyDelete😂😂😂🤣🤣
DeleteSaying that some women are ttc or saying some has food i dont understand
ReplyDeleteMurderers! Women murderers!
ReplyDeleteWhen she begins to reap the "rewards" and fruits
of her "labor" she will not write this side of the
story in her chronicles.
She don carry pistol abi misoprostol shoot baby commot for her womb.
ReplyDeleteIf she no repent, innocent blood go hunt am o
Another person go carry pistol shoot am. See Gen. 9:6
I honestly give up on Nigerians!!! Why does she need her husband's consent to insert an IUD? Are we ever going to stop being a third world country.
ReplyDeleteI hope it wouldn't be an offence if the husband ties his sperm duct without the wife's consent especially if the are trying to conceive whereas the husband has other children before meeting her. Or better still the husband acquires properties without informing the woman after all it is his money. Mind you at marriage two became one, hence one half can't make sole decision on issues that will affect the other too. Let us try not to be sentimental but rational in our thinking.
DeleteMADAM NOBI, WHY NOT GO TO THE CLINIC AND REQUEST FOR PLANNING IF THEY WILL DARE GIVE YOU
DeleteI'm not sure about "husband's consent for IUD".
DeleteCos I had mine inserted at a primary health centre in Lagos and I wasn't asked for my husband's consent.
It's his sperm and his body, he can do whatever he wants with it. If you can't stand it, walk away from the union.
DeleteThankfully I don't live in Nigeria so I'm not walking into any"clinic". Contraceptive is the business of the woman.
Does it mean a single woman cannot use a family planning method in Nigeria??????
There is no medical law/ethics in Nigeria that demands consent from the husband for any form of contraceptives . I am a doctor and I can say this boldly anywhere.
Delete"I wonder how she got an IUD inserted because both parties need to consent to it before it is done". Nonesense. Only in Nigeria. so if he refuses to consent she should go on birthing like a rat and if she dies in the process he would remarry after one year. Her body her decision. This nurse tends to sound very judgemental atimes and hence unprofessional.
ReplyDeleteWhy blame the nurse and not the doctors or government that put up and act such rules that requires consent. Na the nurse dey prescribe prevention pills? Nonsense talk!
DeletePerhaps inexperienced. I'm a nurse and i know
DeleteAdanna, you seem to be the auxiliary type. I'm a doctor and you don't just prescribe prevention pills without tests and consent. Thats how its done in fertility clinic too.
DeleteFamily planning services is for the couple.
DeleteWhen I had blighted ovum and I had natural miscarriage wow, the bleeding and blood clot I experienced was out of the world.
ReplyDeleteNever knew we had something like blighted ovum where you have all the pregnancy symptoms even a sac n test positive but you not actually pregnant no baby inside the sac. And to know that pregnancy lost brought everything back to square 1 for me. It well my eyes is still fixed to God to perfect which that concernet me.
So sorry. May God grant your heart desires
DeleteAmen
ReplyDeleteShe should have left the pregnancy, I had my 4th child after 10years of birthing my kids I was scared to do any abortion. Thank God the child is almost 3years now and he doing very well he even brought me alot of luck.
ReplyDeleteIt seems her friends played a huge part in her decision