Some go as far as mixing and drinking all sorts of herbal concoctions and end up causing more damage than good. Sometimes its really not a matter of money, because sometimes, even the well-to-do are no different. Ever since I started practising, I've heard of unbelievable and inhumane concoctions that people take, thinking it would make them get better. From cow urine to tree backs to horse blood. I just heard of a new one.
CPR commenced for about 30minutes afterwards. Oxygen was given, the child was ambu-bagged. The oxygen saturation was so poor, about 8%, which could even be taken as the residual tissue oxygen level that is found in a fresh corpse. Nevertheless, the doctors did their best. We took samples to run tests even as the CPR continued. We gave adrenaline and every other injection that is usually given in cardiac arrests but we got no response.
When asked what had happened prior presentation, she said the child had been running a fever and she initially gave paracetamol syrup but when the fever didn't subside she gave the child goat milk to drink! Goat milk? I thought. A doctor even asked 'madam you mean goat milk? like goat that does meeehn, meeehn kind of goat, the one with horn?
Anyways, because we had already taken blood samples, it had to be followed up. Lo and behold, everything came out fine except that the child had infection. Not just infection, very very very severe infection, we call it septicemia. Its like when the body is so full of all sorts of bacteria and sometimes viral microorganisms, so much that it consumes the immune system. Some call it blood poisoning.
You need to be careful of what you give your child as first aid. What does milk have to do with anything? What tribe can that be? Who are those inventing all these nonsense? Asides the fact that I don't encourage people to self-medicate. Every mother should have a bottle of paracetamol syrup at home. If your child doesnt get better by the next day, visit an hospital!
So this woman runs into the ER, she was screaming and crying all over the place. She held an unresponsive child. The child was about 1 year old and the child was limp. The mother kept screaming 'my baby is not breathing, my baby is not breathing' At first we thought the child was only convulsing but when the doctors noticed there was no pulse or respiratory effort, we knew the child had gone into cardiac arrest.
CPR commenced for about 30minutes afterwards. Oxygen was given, the child was ambu-bagged. The oxygen saturation was so poor, about 8%, which could even be taken as the residual tissue oxygen level that is found in a fresh corpse. Nevertheless, the doctors did their best. We took samples to run tests even as the CPR continued. We gave adrenaline and every other injection that is usually given in cardiac arrests but we got no response.
It was time to stop because the child wasn't coming around. The child was dead, most likely before arrival at the hospital. The mother was informed and was consoled by her sister who came with her. She cried non-stop and kept shaking her child to wake up, I hate scenes like that because it makes you want to cry but you just can't. The child was cleaned and The mother was told to strap the baby with a wrapper on her back home.
She was told to do this because she came with a public bus and she might raise suspicion in the bus if she carries the dead baby in her arms. So she strapped her child to her back so it would look like the child was sleeping. It was a very sad thing to watch a mother do.
When asked what had happened prior presentation, she said the child had been running a fever and she initially gave paracetamol syrup but when the fever didn't subside she gave the child goat milk to drink! Goat milk? I thought. A doctor even asked 'madam you mean goat milk? like goat that does meeehn, meeehn kind of goat, the one with horn?
She said thats what her tribe gives, fresh goat milk, for fever or illnesses and it works sometimes. How would you give a 1year old child unprocessed milk to drink. Goat milk for that matter, milk that contains millions of bacteria!
Anyways, because we had already taken blood samples, it had to be followed up. Lo and behold, everything came out fine except that the child had infection. Not just infection, very very very severe infection, we call it septicemia. Its like when the body is so full of all sorts of bacteria and sometimes viral microorganisms, so much that it consumes the immune system. Some call it blood poisoning.
The white blood cell count was 42,000! I had and have never seen an adult with that level of infection that survives, let alone a child. It could be that the child had a minor infection but the goat milk or whatever they gave the child made it worse.
You need to be careful of what you give your child as first aid. What does milk have to do with anything? What tribe can that be? Who are those inventing all these nonsense? Asides the fact that I don't encourage people to self-medicate. Every mother should have a bottle of paracetamol syrup at home. If your child doesnt get better by the next day, visit an hospital!
πππGoat milk that dies mmeeh mmeeh, u am sorry I laughd at that line. May the baby soul rest in perfect peace.
ReplyDeleteSorry nurse, I beg to differ here. You portrayed goat milk as substandard or assumed that it is infected. Supposing the woman milked the goat fresh with good aseptic technique? Some of the rural people who cannot afford packaged cow milk should be encouraged to give goat milk to their kids. That is a good source of protein for them. A child with septicaemia needs that protein to maintain BMR (Basal metabolic Rate) and to boost immunity while looking for treatment.
ReplyDeleteThe only mistake this woman made was that after the paracetamol syrup did not stop the fever, she ought to have gone straight to the hospital. But in the Nigerian situation which we must factor in, people are hard pressed, do not have health insurance, workers are owed many years etc.
Here in the Western country where I live, goat milk is thrice more costly than cow milk. A family that has a milk producing goat is a blessed one.
In other words we should start giving kids goat milk cos its rich in protein when there are other healthy sources of it..sorry ma/sir, I Wont.
DeleteDon't mind her, "in the western word where I live'. We are taking about Naija, can you give your precious child goat milk those smelly goat?
DeleteHanty western country. I also beg to differ. Encouraged to drink goat milk or. Please oo talk d one u know. There is a reason a branch of medicine is called tropical medicine. Have u asked yourself why we don't advocate for people to take fresh cow milk in nigeria too? Tuberculosis. That's why. I bet y'all drink that in your western country. Tropical medicine is different e kpele.
DeleteLeave her na. SMA gold is from goat milk. We know this but I can't give my child raw goat milk. Y oubare welcome to try
DeleteSupposing the woman milked the goat fresh with good aseptic technique? Well she DIDN'T isn't that obvious? A rural woman milking a goat with good whatever you call it technique? You must be a comedian in your last life.
DeleteDon't carry your itk here please. We know goat milk is nutritious but why drink one that was milked in a dirty environment? Will you drink fresh goat milk here in Nigeria if it was offered to you?
Our in house nurse has every right to be shocked if any mother does that. Don't come for her again please. Get the message she's passing and keep it moving.
God bless you poster,everyone needs to know these things!!
ReplyDeleteYou never see something. They call everything teeth. This one isyoruba tribe. Diarrhoea is teeth, committing is teeth, fever is teething. Haha!. That even use razor to mutilate these babies jaws cos of teething!. God help us. Ps: my consultant and my fellow reg. uses skineal as body cream so I can't even talk about that matter.
ReplyDeleteAre you for real about your consultant using skineal as body cream??????*palmsonfaceshocked*
DeleteGoat milk to drink? I've never heard of such, how did they extract it from the goal? You mean the milk that goal breastfeed its baby? RIP to that poor child
ReplyDelete*Larry was here*
Press d goat breast. .
DeleteHahahahaha
Delete@press the goat breast
Good job you are doing, poster, please talking about white blood cell, I have a question, my 2yrs old son keeps having high white blood cell ( that is what the test says), and antibiotics like augmentine/siporex is always prescribed, he gets better after taking them but fall sick (fever / cough) again within the same month he was treated, please what could be the cause? and what else should I do?, thanks in anticipation for your response, God bless you.
ReplyDeleteWhy you no ask ya doctor for hospital.
DeleteYou need to know your child's genotype first. Recurrently High wbc is common in sicklers. Another cause is immunosuppression, whereby the body can't fight diseases well. Another rare cause is something called idiopathic hypereosinophilic syndrome. Its rare and sometimes fatal but not common in blacks. Nevertheless, I am not a doctor so you should see a doctor and run possible tests because its not good for a child to have high wbc levels repeatedly. Thanks.
DeleteDoes ur child suck his/her fingers?
DeleteGive him vitaminC...his immune system is probably weak...and they should be checking his throat for inflammation.
DeleteNurse relax, it can be ordinary "dorty" n a weak immune system...I was like that growing up...every month my mum must treat cough, fever n I'm AA ..
DeleteBut c? What happened to fruits and veggies? .poster Does he take milk, egg, meat? Veggies and fruits? Meanwhile a normal under 5 FBC is not the same with an adult. Meanwhile, rainy season is here. Cold don land. Be home for your kids and invest in warm clothings. I actually guess the fevers to be from malaria. Go and buy a net and quit ranting.
DeleteThe child is likely a Sickler.
DeleteIf after 6 hours the body is still hot,run to the Hospital.
RIP child.
Stella nobody wish to self medicate, the major reason is money, government hospital bill now is thrice private hospital, for one month now have been down with sickness am surviving on herbal concortion, I went to general hospital they said I should come and do 4000 test, Me that I don't even have money for 1500 soup where's did I want to see money for test, not to talk of injections and drug did you know the amount it will get to? May God help us in this country, Rip to the baby.
ReplyDeleteBut despite the concoction you've been using, you are still sick. Don't you think you should find a way to get to a hospital (even if it means borrowing that money)? Pele.
DeleteLawwd! A grieving mother was made to strap her dead child to her back because!? What happened to moving d child to morbid? Or getting police report so she can access convenient transportation to the burial site if d child must be buried at once? Ayam not understanding biko!
ReplyDeleteMaybe the mother's tribe doesn't give room for protocols like that. I'm guessing she's Fulani.
DeleteI was just as confused
DeleteInasmuch as I like the ER series, nurse I found two issues confusing. There is goat milk available for drinking and even for new born babies. The thought of goat seems to even perplex the doctor. The second issue is making a woman who has suffered such a traumatic experience to carry the dead child. Then we wonder why many people are angry, stressed and have psychological problems. This is what you have done. I know money was a factor, however couldn't another means or solution come up?
DeleteBut nurse o,why was CPR started 30 minutes later and not immediately?
DeleteEnglish o, the CPR took 30mins, don't u get?
DeleteOK,didn't read well.
DeleteIf you know that they were even doing her good... because protocol demands that a patient like that undergo autopsy ‘coroner’s autopsy, and then the relative will still need to pay to collect the corpse from the mortuary....
DeleteMaybe money considerations.....so that could’ve been a kindness in itself
Maybe she didn't have money for additional expenses. None of those services are free especially that police report.
DeleteI feel for her π’
Very Educative. Nice one poster
ReplyDeleteMy runaway nurse is baaaack
ReplyDeleteI just screamed at the salon reading this. I understand that there is poverty in the land but did she not end up at the hospital? Nothing wrong if she begs for money to treat the child, that is if poverty was the reason she dint go in the first place. If she had gone earlier, that child would be alive now.
ReplyDeleteRIP to the baby. May God console the family.
Oh my heart breaks reading this
ReplyDeleteOh dearπ₯π₯ππ’π§π
ReplyDeleteVery pathetic. Thank you Nurse.
ReplyDeleteAiya