Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Emergency Room Series: Things Are Happening!

Thursday, May 10, 2018

Emergency Room Series: Things Are Happening!

It really saddens my heart to tell this story.

I just hope the man involved eventually finds peace wherever he's going to be. 

This story makes me wonder why bad things happen to seemingly good people. 

So this man in his mid fifties was rushed to the ER. He was said to have been referred from another hospital. On presentation, he was very weak and restless. 

He was not well oriented as he couldn't tell where he was or say his name. He came in company of his sister, a son and a young lady who claimed to be his wife. In the previous hospital, he had done series of test and scans and had spent a significantly large amount of money. It was said that the CT-Scan he did showed lesions on some parts of his brain.

During examination at the ER, he was unable to turn his head as his neck was stiff, he was said to have had two seizures in the previous hospital, he was sweating profusely and had laboured breathing. He was said to be unable to walk and was experiencing severe muscle weakness on his right leg and headaches too. 

He had pitting pedal and facial oedema as well as a distended abdomen. He was said to have been making very little urine and hadn't gone to a toilet in 5 days. 

He had few leisons on his skin as well

It was a neurological, gastrointestinal, renal and possible dermatological case. Too much for one body, I must be sincere.

Despite his state of health his vitals signs were good. It was just his oxygen saturation level that was a bit low so we had to nurse him in cardiac position and support him with oxygen. 

His sister was by his side praying for him and his son who looked to be in his mid twenties was with him. I noticed his 'wife' was very restless. She was always asking the blood tests we wanted to do and why. The way she was behaving made It look fishy to us.

He had an ECG done. His blood was taken for kidney and liver function tests. The doctors decided to run an HIV test without the patient's consent because the symptoms were similar to those in severe immunosuppression. 

The man was placed on IV fluids, antibiotics and other medications while we waited for the test results. Gradually he became oriented and could talk. He was also able to make more urine. 

The blood test were not looking good. His creatinine and urea levels were high, his kidneys were failing. He had high levels of bilirubin too. His HIV test result came out to be surprisingly Positive. My guess was he had something called HIV encephalopathy, a condition where the virus affects the brain and its normal functions. 

Now, despite this man's condition, he held on to his Cross chain which he had on his neck. He could be heard whispering and praying in other tongues. He kept sighing and calling Jesus to help him. A doctor went to his bed side and asked his wife, sister and son to leave. The wife was adamant as usual, claiming she deserved to know everything. She was told that even if she was his mother, there was something called patient confidentiality and so she should leave immediately, so she left. 

The doctor then asked the man when last he had an HIV test done. He said he had never done it before but his former wife had done it during antenatal screening and it was negative and that was over twenty years ago and that his former wife died during childbirth which produced his only son who was with them at the hospital. He said he remarried and the lady with him refused to do the test once when he asked for it during courtship and she had never gotten pregnant despite being together for 8 years so he didn't know her status.

He claimed to have always used his personal clipper, never had blood transfusion, never did surgery, never shared a sharp object or cheated on his new wife, so he was sure it would be negative. Mehn, it was deep! 

The doctor asked for his permission to do the test and he agreed. The doctor then called his 'wife' and asked for her permission to take her blood too but she declined, asking why and claiming she wasn't sick. She was just restless up and down. The doctors didn't like countenance, She had tattoos all over with tattoo brows, fake lashes, long nails and wig and her skin looked like she just had a bad sun tan. I don't know why and how the man got himself with her.

The doctors had no choice than to work him up for referral to another hospital. 

They made sure to write in his referral letter that he was immunosuppressed but it didn't state he had HIV. I'm sure they would definitely run the test at the other hospital. I hope nemesis catches up with the woman!. 

The doctors didn't reveal his status to him because he was still unstable. 

Hopefully when he gets to the other hospital he would be alert enough to take the news. 

We knew among ourselves that he must have been infected by the wife and its possible she was on treatment, hence her refusal to take the test and her panicking. I pray that the man is rightly diagnosed and gets better and stable in time. I felt bad for the man and even worse for the son who might lose his father too(God forbid!).

*Are you not supposed to report her for knowingly infecting her partner?

50 comments:

1. Oh dear! This is sad. Where do they get all this wife from hell?

1. I don't like the way your hospital re-packaged him to another hospital. This is probably what the previous hospitals did. This may well continue till he eventually dies!!! At least his only son deserved to know in order to protect himself and start making plans for the future. I am really sad after reading this story.

2. I don't like the way your hospital re-packaged him to another hospital. This is probably what the previous hospitals did. This may well continue till he eventually dies!!! At least his only son deserved to know in order to protect himself and start making plans for the future. I am really sad after reading this story.

3. At this point only. Federal hospital can help him cos private hospitals will keep repackaging him to the next!

A Neighbour’s husband had that brain encephalopathy, he was even in a near coma when he was admitted in UCH but got better and is doing well till now.Wow. It’s been almost 12 years. Hey have 2 kids now..

4. I don't think the son is infected. His mother tested negative during antenatal remember? She died at childbirth. The guy is safe

5. But at least they should have informed the son concerning the situation of the father since he is of age so the woman is exposed incase the man dies without coming out of his unstable condition.

2. if she knew her status and on drug she can't possibly infect the nan. the anti neutroviral prevent positive partner from infecting their partner. I've been on drug for years and I've never infected anyone

1. Ehnnnn, says who? Do u know her viral load? What if she knew and her viral load was high and had not started drugs when she met him? Abeg abeg abeg

2. Please use condoms and don't brag about not infecting anyone!!!

3. "antineutroviral?" sic

You sure say you no get ANTI-RETROVIRAL medications wey you dey swallow
      dey yarn dust?

3. But the man has no right to confirm which tests to be carried on him or is he unconscious?

4. Chai!!! Just negodu how this went and married a Jezebel 🙆🙆

5. Wow this is terrible.. Please always insist on HIV testing oh.. Shouldn't there be a law to persecute those who willingly infect their partners? 😔

1. Sadly there isn't in Nigeria

2. is the doctor not supposed to give the man the result.
      what nonsense.

3. Yes, there is a law criminalizing the intentional transmission of HIV. Funny enough, the western world wants that law upturned because of its consequences. You see, under the law, you are penalized if you know you are HIV positive and then infect someone else so if you don’t know, you are not guilty. The argument is that it has been proven to affect voluntary testing for HIV (in countries where they have statistics and many counties have repealed their own law cos of that)

Long argument here and there

6. His wife refused to do d hiv test when he asked for it during courtship and he went ahead to marry her when he ought to have suspected something fishy at that point b4 going ahead.. He isnt serious at all. Wish him well btw.

1. Gbammest!!!!

2. Nne eh...chai. Even with all the tattoos, excessive artificials and her refusal to do the test, it should have been a pointer to something but guess he was too 'in love' too see it. May God heal him for his only son's sake.

7. She is heartless and wicked, she might have known her status and hid it from the man......too bad! i feel sorry for the man, what a costly mistake he made

8. My father's wife cannot leave him because of money. Longer throat will kill her there. Her body is chooking her now that money is finishing. The man infected her and the 2nd wife (not my mum thankfully). He now lied to my step brothers (2nd wife's kids) that it's their mother that gave him. We know the woman that gave him. She's a popular politician in the middle belt region. She was his mistress for some years sha. My mum left him since 1992. She is not "fight for my home" kind of person. After he gave her gonorhea once, she checked out mehn. Sharp woman. She has remained celibate ever since. Her case just be like widow wey her husband never die. It's just God that has kept her. One time, pupsy almost died. He kept it secret from us and lied that he had malaria and typhoid. He came out of hiding when he got better. He was lean with craw craw on his body. Lie lie daddy. One time he had mental problem and seizures when he stopped using antiretrovirals. That was when we found out. Despite all these, he will still be shouting at us any small thing. Any small thing "I will disown you" I will cut you off from my will. I will stop paying your school fees. Wife beating too join sef.Yeye man. Who wants his will? What did he his own father leave for him? And he made it in life Despite this o. My elder siblings are still scared of him. He will shout small and they will be shaking. Awon egbon agbaya.

1. Eayah it is well with you. Please just do what you think you can and be happy with yourself.

2. Na wa for women oooo. This HIV thing is really scary. I pray the man gets the help he needed.

The woman is a wicked woman

3. Good for the second wife. All this side chicks. N.a. so una go see shege. Kwantinue dating married men

9. This is really sad. I think hospitals should be given a lawful right/ power to get such partner arrested. The wife knew she was positive and is probably on drugs and intentionally infected the poor man. The rate at which hiv is spreading this days is alarming! One needs to be careful at all times.

10. God have mercy on the man o. what a wicked act against your spouse.

11. Lool, no o Stella. You can't disclose another person's status. You want the doctors and nurses to lose their careers? If she says she's not doing test, she's not doing niyen. What if she sues them. Its just that foreign countries have stronger laws about the illness that reduces the spread, unlike Nigeria. Check the statistics

12. "She had tattoos all over with tattoo brows, fake lashes, long nails and wig and her skin looked like she just had a bad sun tan. I don't know why and how the man got himself with her. "

Nurse, you wrote like a typical woman of the Nigerian genre and not a professional here. You have already concluded the woman is hiv positive even without testing her. She has every right to refuse to be tested; doesn't she?

Mmmmmmh all those fake, fake things you wrote . . . the signals of "fake lives?"

1. What right does she have in face of her husband in a terminally ill condition???
      She is the culprit! Say whatever you Like!

2. Dumb comment, what do you know, if you're a doctor as I am or even at least a lab tech you won't comment like this. Maybe I should start sending my stories so you'll know how messed up this country is!

3. I'm telling you - she's very stereotypical. Are you sure she's even a nurse? Surely, you can be prosecuted for failing to reveal your status ( that's if you know you have it and you're hiding it )

4. I felt some type of way when I read that too so I understand where you’re coming from. It is that stereotypical analysis from the way people look. Trying to say she looked ‘wild’ ‘ she resemble a shawl..

She didn’t need to add that description because like they say HIV no de show for face. That description on the other hand, would’ve been apt if she’d turned out to not be so suspect..

5. Pls send @14:04 we need to know

13. You wonder "how he got himself with her?"
    Will he rather have gotten himself with you?

1. Is that what you'll say to d whole story?, typical Nigerian

2. Stereotype—- in other words, the man looked like a Godly man and the wife looked like ashawo

14. See as stella don join the Nusu jump into conclusion?

Wooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeen!

1. The nurse took a wide GUESS. You all should chill abeg

2. Have you wondered why she has been refusing to take the test? Isn't that suspicious enough? You are part of the problem

15. My patient came to my office with a bottle of anti retroviral drugs. He said his wife was using them and he wanted to know what they are. I couldnt tell him. But I sent him for screening (he is negative at the moment). I then asked to bring his wife on his next visit. I've not seen them since then. My colleague says I should have told him.
    There are so many people hiding it from their partners.

1. please save that man. You're not disclosing her status, you're just saying what the drug is used for. Thank God the man is still negative help him remain negative biko

16. You sounded judgmental while describing the man's wife. That was unprofessional. I personally dislike tattoos but a thousand tattoos(done with sterilized equipment) on a bleached skin cannot make her HIV positive.

1. Let the scale drop off your eyes and see the problem others see.

17. A lot of people re living with it and they just dont know. Get tested. Scary but it's better known early than too late.

18. I just lost someone to HIV. My mom called me a couple of nights back. I was so so so upset because I do not believe anyone should die of HIV in this age and time. Hiding your status from your spouse and family is the utmost wicked thing anyone can do, it exposes them to the virus more than anything else.

Take your meds, eat well, live your life.. it is not a fucking big deal anymore!! Chai, e pain me oh.. she left 2 kids behind!

1. Eayah. Sorry.

It is with shame she did not tell anyone ooo. You know when people knows, they will cast you out. It is well with the family

19. There is something called spot diagnosis in medicine y'all. You can see some signs in a patient and know wat it is at once.
    The man clearly says he hasn't cheated before, no blood transfusion, and with the history of the woman not willing to take the test...abeggiii, its nt been judgemental, its been professional.
    If you know, you know.
    Its called been good at ur job
    I patient came into my consulting room with a rash typically seen in HIV. She was claiming they said its spiritual. I just laff for my mind. I then told her we would need to do retroviral screening for her. She then said i shouldn't bother that she has HIV. Knew for months, not taking drugs because she fears stigmatization. I sha advised her to start her drugs asap. Cos wen it turns to full blown AIDS, wat she's hiding wud be known.