Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative...

Saturday, May 12, 2018

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative...

Hmmmmm....

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
WORK PLACE POLITICS

Dear Stella and Bv's

I started working in my current place of employment 2 years ago. When I started there was an understanding that after a period of time, say 6 months (more or less a sort of probation period) my supervisor would sign a document for me to show that I was working competently and to acceptable standards. This would help me to be able to apply for a better position and progress in my career.

I agreed and began working. 6 months went by and nothing happened. After about a year I brought up the matter and my supervisor said I should give more time so I my work could be properly assessed. I accepted that.

In February this year I brought it up again and I was promised a favourable response by April. When April came and I saw that my supervisor wasn’t forthcoming I approached another senior colleague who immediately agreed to help. He was even the person reminding me to bring the documents for the signature! 

To my utmost relief, something I had been trying to achieve for over a year came to fruition in less than 2 weeks.

The problem now is that I seem to be sensing some kind of attitude on the part of the initial person I was asking for help. My question is, did I do anything wrong in approaching someone else for help when the first person seemed a bit reluctant? Your inputs would be much appreciated. Work place politics can be draining at times!

*You did nothing wrong my dear....this person did not want your progress...Is there no way that you can avoid this person?

58 comments:

1. Hmmmm.....it happens everywhere my dear. Just avoid the person

1. Not really possible because of the type of work environment. Thanks.

2. Be looking at the person's face u hear? Keep looking, look again, look well, you will get there

1. I feel like there's no chronicle here. Why are you even giving room to sense any attitude? Maybe you should have stayed in one spot for 5years to avoid any attitude from the other superior who wasn't willing to help right? Do your work diligently and face your front.

2. Wasn't intended as a chronicle. Just wanted objective and varied opinions.

3. kiks you are utterly rude and so stupid.....if the person is not giving attitude will she be worried? fools always behaving like they know it all

4. A chronicle does not necessarily have to be a series of bad events. Please,let's take note and stop criticising people when they narrate their stoties in the name of "this is not a chronicle."

3. You did nothing wrong by seeking for help where someone else failed. In fact in the work place it is important to mingle with the right kind of people so they can always give you the right information and assist you if you ever need help.

That person probably does not have the right connection or didn’t want to help until you has to crawl or beg for help so you can always be their puppet. Just be careful not to create an enemy with this person because people like that would do everything to bring you down if they sense you’re rubbing it in their face that someone else helped you. If ever the person comes to ask you why you went to someone else, tell the person that the person who helped you was the one who came to you and offered to help. Don’t open your mouth unless you’re asked and try not to be cocky when you answer.

4. No u did not do anything wrong.

5. Your supervisor is a wicked fellow and does not want you to progress. I pray that he gets removed as your supervisor or your work gets sooo good that it becomes impossible for him to witch hunt you.
    Just be careful how you relate with him.

6. My dear you did nothing wrong. Working with a supervisor that is an enemy of progress is the worst thing. I worked with one idiot like that, but thank God I am free now. If possible look for better opportunities in other companies because he might want to start frustrating you.

1. I've already started! Thanks

7. You did nothing wrong but try and be careful so that this person doesn't make troubles for you. Do your work and mind your business

8. This is not worthy enough to be a chronicle. #OfficeRomance Kind of #ChronicleIsBae

1. Exactly how I feel without your first hashtag.

9. I hate 'hmmmmmmmm' chronicles,they're not always interesting. But if it is 'oh my God' chronicle I'll have hope to read something interesting.

10. Avoid him. Enemies of progress. One senior colleague in my office will even tell you to resign if you ever approach him. So many people avoid him entirely.

11. You did nothing wrong but just as a precautionary sturvs, be applying for at least 2 jobs per week.

1. Chai! As in I don "enter"? Lol! Thanks Ajebo

12. My dear, work politics is everywhere. No matter what you do, your interest comes first. Some people are so selfish. If I start to describe wetin my eye don see for work this week ehen. Mschwww

13. Face your job and do excellent in every aspect cos he would be out looking for the slightest mistake.

14. I once suffered this kind of issue and won
    How?
    I knew that the work space was polluted and if I did not do something unusual,
    I would soon be roped into something I knew nothing about.
    Yes, I used love; just knew what she needed from previous
    discussion, bought it and gave her and that solved it.

Rom. 12:20 On the contrary: "If your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty,
    give him something to drink. In doing this, you will heap burning coals on his head."

1. Great idea ooo! Let me start looking for gift ideas. Thanks

15. You should not sweat about it one bit. A deal is a deal but sadly work place ethics isn’t valued in Nigeria.
    I would be cautious with this said supervisor as I do not feel he has your best interest at heart.

1. I'll try my best Kwikwi. Thanks

16. I was expecting to have fun this afternoon jor. Abeg carry all this kain wacko chronicles enter IHN next time ma'am.
    Bring back angry frustrated lazy broke ass women chronicles back.
    #shinesteethandstrolesouttapostmajestically

1. Lol! King king! Variety is the spice of life!

17. You did right!
    That first one was expecting some offer in return either in sum or kind which wasn't forthcoming.
    Just know it that you've gotten yourself a potential enemy, watch out for me.

Anonymous DYKM

1. Ha! I sincerely hope not @potential enemy! That name though (DYKM)!😁😁

18. You did nothing wrong poster, try as much as you can to avoid that person and if it's someone that you can't avoid totally just make sure that your attitude to work is impeccable so that he/she would have no excuse to torment you.

LEP😛

19. Nope! You did nothing wrong. In countries with good employment laws, as long as that clause is stated in your letter, you may have even been able to make a case.
    See, in office matters.... know when to have conscience and when not to. If a person is standing in the way of your progress, please seek for an opinion from their superior. There's room for escalation. I said it here the other day (on that same alex/adesua post 😂🤣) that sometimes, a mentor (in this case your supervisor who is supposed to ensure you stay on track, career-wise) can often be a stumbling block to your growth when they know you might do better, with similar or even more opportunities.
    If you are more qualified (educationally or professionally) than this person, you need to be extra careful henceforth. Dot all 'i's and cross all 't's. And don't go against company policy, cos they may want to use some 'negligence' as a revenge. Still greet them and dont give revenge attitude.

The politricks in Nigerian office setting though... hmm!! Na God go help person oh 👐👐

1. Much appreciated Chiki. Thanks

20. Don't worry you would be fine. Na so office work dey be. Ministry work is the worst. Where you might even be more qualified than your supervisor this giving room for envy. In all be prayerful.
    Meanwhile Stella do you know that Megan's half brother has written another letter begging to be invited to the royal family. Her siblings are really bullies and I am sure racist. They can't just belief that she successful.

21. Don't worry you would be fine. Na so office work dey be. Ministry work is the worst. Where you might even be more qualified than your supervisor this giving room for envy. In all be prayerful.
    Meanwhile Stella do you know that Megan's half brother has written another letter begging to be invited to the royal family. Her siblings are really bullies and I am sure racist. They can't just believe that she would be this successful.

22. Ehen.... remember that most people who try to force unnecessary control in the work place are most likely lacking that in a domestic setting. Especially if it's a parent or spouse. Or have probably been bullied to a pulp and now that they are in a position to exert some control, they take it overboard. So don't make it too personal.

23. Office politics can be frustrating. I have had my own share ,it was worst when I was pregnant. My dear mind your lane , you own him nada instead kill him with fake love.

1. Thanks Akudo

2. FAKE LOVE indeed! Lol!!!
      Hhmn...
      Abi..oh it is best way to deal with (handle) frenemies.
      It is well.

24. There is a video I saw on IG of a man telling his supervisor or manager that God told him to tell the man to sign a document and if he refuse God will kill him, na this kind of frustration some supervisor or manager subject there subordinate to,to warrant that kind of outburst. Bros u even went about yours in a better approach. You did nothing wrong.

25. You did not do any wrong. Henceforth, just make sure you adhere to your company policies and try as much as you can to perform optimally. Remember also that attitude is everything and apply wisdom in all you do. Wish you the best!

1. Thanks a lot everyone. You all are the real MVPs! Stellar Stella! Thanks a million!

26. Learn how to identify allies in work place. But above make sure ur very...very professional & do ur work well so that nobody can pull u down or betray for whatever reason.
    Because allies can turn to backbstabbers one day!
    I'm a professional career woman now for 25 yrs & I'm playing the game daily at work.
    AT THE END OF THE DAY, DO UR BEST & TRUST NO ONE. USE ANYONE TO ACHIEVE UR GOALS EITHER TO PROGRESS ON A JOB OR TO MOVE ON TO A BETTER JOB ELSE WHERE.
    THERE R NO PERMANENT FRIENDS IN THE WORKPLACE. EVERYONE IS ON THE MOVE OR IN THE GAME THAT IS UNKNOWN TO U.

27. You did nothing wrong dear....they are enemy of progress.

28. You took the initiative after giving your boss a whole year to do as promised. Now you must stay on your toes, do the work diligently and do not fall into the trap of discussing this with anyone in that office. Be very smart and neutral with office gossip. You will be just fine.

As for those saying this isnt chronicle worthy. Everything is not man drama. Let us take a break from last week's back to back daftness.