Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Presidency Says Reminder That Buhari Vowed Never To Seek For Re-election Was Made The Year He Lost

Presidential spokesman, Femi Adesina, has described as a “misquote” a reminder that President Muhammadu Buhari had pledged to serve for only one term, with a promise to never seek re-election.

President Buhari, 75, had on Monday shortly before he left for London, declared his intention to run for presidential election in 2019. Adesina, who is the President’s Special Adviser on Media and Publicity and currently on the President’s entourage to London, was reacting to a contributor on a television programme via Skype on Tuesday.

Yemi Akinbode, who called in to contribute to the programme, said: “It didn’t come as a surprise to me. We have seen indications that the President was going to run a long time ago. The President in 2014 said that he was only going to run for one term because of his age.’’

In his reaction to Akinbode via Skype, Adesina said, “No, that’s a misquote, he was never, never quoted that way. If there is anything on record like that, it is a misquote because I was with him in South Africa when that issue came up and he said, oh, he wished he had become president at the time he was a military governor, that he would have done a lot for Nigeria. And the other happened in 2011. When he was running in 2011 he said, yes, he would be a president for one term. But did he win in that year? No. The victory came in 2015. So, that being quoted in 2011 is not applicable again because he did not win that year.

NAN

6 comments:

1. See rubbish talk

2. Foolish man. Behaving like Abati. Nonsense people

They will always have excuses to give to people any day any time.

Foolish presido that forgot all he said. Shame on APC

3. Uncle Femi, can you hear yourself! This is unbelievable.Now you will be arguing the President has integrity. So much for integrity when someone says something and cannot keep to it. Abeg swerve jare.

4. I don't understand,its the truth. After he won,he didnt say anything about 2 terms or 1.