The armed robbers had stormed the community on April 5, killing at least 17 people during a raid on five banks. Eight police officers at Owode Division, Offa were also killed in the attack, and the robbers made away with police arms and ammunition.
The police arrested seven suspects within the first two days of the attack, and made more arrests, later.
Jimoh Moshood, the police spokesperson at Force Headquarters, released details of the arrests, including recovered exhibits on Friday.
Read the full statement below:
SUSPECTS
i) Adegoke Shogo 29yrs – Arrested in Offa
ii) Kayode Opadokun 35yrs – Arrested in Offa
iii) Kazeem Abdulrasheed 36yrs – Arrested in Offa
iv) Azeez Abdullahi 27yrs – Arrested in Offa
v) Alexander Reuben 39yrs – Arrested on the 11th April, 2018 in Lagos
vi) Jimoh Isa 28yrs – Arrested on the 11th April, 2018 in Lagos
vii) Azeez Salawudeen 20yrs – Arrested in Offa and victim’s phone and sim cards recovered from him
viii) Adewale Popoola 22yrs – Arrested in Offa and victim’s phone and sim cards recovered from him
ix) Adetoyese Muftau 23yrs – Arrested in Ibadan, Oyo State
x) Aminu Ibrahim 18yrs – Arrested in Ilorin
xi) Richard Buba Terry 23yrs – Arrested in Ilorin
xii) Peter Jaba Kuunfa 25yrs – Arrested in Ilorin
These three (3) last suspects in whose possession another Beretta pistol and Fourteen (14) rounds of live ammunitions were recovered.
EXHIBITS
i. Two (2) Beretta Pistols
ii. Twenty (20) Rounds of Live Ammunition
iii. Four (4) Phones and SIM cards belonging to victims, some of whom were killed during the attack
Consequent on the Inspector General of Police, IGP Ibrahim K. Idris NPM, mni, deployment of high-powered Police Investigation Team, Armoured Personnel Carrier (APC), Three (3) units of Police Mobile Force (PMF) and Anti-Robbery equipment to Kwara State to carryout discreet investigation into the banks robbery, prevent further attacks and bring perpetrators to justice; the high-powered Police Investigation Team deployed in synergy with the State Criminal Intelligence and Investigation Department have arrested the Nine (9) above mentioned Armed Robbers directly involved in the Banks Robbery and attack on a Police Station in Offa, Kwara State.
2. The Police teams engaged in massive raids of identified criminal spots/flashpoints, stop and search operations, visibility and confidence building patrols, intelligence gathering which led to the arrest of the suspects. Some of the arrest also involved serious exchange of gun fire between the Police and the suspects in their various hideouts.
3. The following are the suspects arrested and have admitted to the various criminal roles they played in the banks robbery attacks and are also assisting Police investigation into the incident.
i) Adegoke Shogo 29yrs Native of Offa Kwara State, he was arrested in Offa after the bank robbery and the attack on the Police Station. He is drug baron and also an Indian Hemp dealer in Offa Kwara State. According to intelligence gathered from cultivated and reliable informant, he is alleged to be one of the sponsors of the robbery attack and the Police Station in Offa. He has made useful statements to the roles he played in the armed robbery.
ii) Kayode Opadokun 35yrs Native of Offa Kwara State, He was found out to have been released from Prison Three (3) months ago after Serving only 8months of his sentence years for Armed Robbery, Notorious Armed Robber and confirmed Gang member of the Offa Bank Robbers. A Barrette pistol and six (6) rounds of live ammunition was recovered from him. He has admitted to the criminal roles he played in the Offa Banks robbery.
iii) Kazeem Abdulrasheed 36yrs Native of Offa Kwara State, A Gang member from whom a Victim’s phone was found. He was arrested in Offa
iv) Azeez Abdullahi 27yrs Native of Offa Kwara State, Gang member from whom a Victim’s Phone and SIM Cards were recovered.
v) Alexander Reuben 39yrs Native of Isoko LGA Delta state, He is a Notorious, Deadly and Hardened Bank robber from whom GMPGs, Rocket launchers and Several Rifles were recovered in 2015, He was released from Prison in December 2017. He was arrested on the 11th April, 2018 in Lagos.
vi) Jimoh Isa 28yrs Native of Okene Kogi State indicted by Technical intelligence generated on the Bank Robbers. He was arrested on the 11thApril, 2018 in Lagos.
4. Three000 (3) suspects namely Azeez Salawudeen 20yrs, Adewale Popoola 22yrs and Adetoyese Muftau 23yrs from whom Two (2) phones and SIM cards belonging to victims were recovered have also made confessional statements admitting to the various roles they played in the commission of the crime.
5. (i) Aminu Ibrahim 18yrs – Arrested in Ilorin,
ii) Richard Buba Terry 23yrs and
iii) Peter Jaba Kuunfa 25yrs
These three (3) suspects in whose possession another Beretta pistol and Fourteen (14) rounds of live ammunitions were recovered were arrested in connection with the Offa bank robbery. They have previously been investigated and charged to court for armed robbery and cultism. They have made confessional statements admitting to the various criminal roles they played in the recent bank robbery in Offa.
6. All the suspects during investigation confessed to the various criminal roles they played in the commission of the crime, however, investigation is being intensified to arrest other suspects still at large and bring them to justice.
7. The Nigeria Police Force once again deeply commiserates with the Government and People of Kwara State, most especially the people of Offa and the families of the victims. The Force will leave no stone unturned in unravelling this dastard act and bring all those responsible to justice. The Force appreciates the supports from members of the public so far and calls for calm and their cooperation to sustain the normalcy that has been restored in the State.
*Bloody thieves!...RIP to those who died in the attack.
Great news to the hearing, there will never be a hiding place for crime. End of the road for them.
ReplyDeleteThis is good, I hope they are the actual culprits. Though even if they aren't, they are still criminals.
ReplyDeleteImagine someone serving only 8 months of his years of prison sentence. Last I checked, Nigeria doesn't use parole system, so how come?
I hope they still don't get released to perpetrate another heinous attack.
We should all wonder how useless the "reform" aspect of prisons are in this country. These are vital aspects that the government needs to address, apart from the obvious educational, health, economic sectors of the country. People go to prison and end up doing even worse crimes. There should be a proper system of re evaluation and rehabilitation before such people are let back into the society.
DeleteThese criminals just use the prison systems to form crime syndicates and alliances and become even more of a danger to society.
DeleteSo tomorrow now somebody will now ask me to join prison visitation ministry in my church, and I will use my hard earned money to buy food and gift items for these cursed children of ekwensu.
DeleteUnfortunately i dont believe this story
ReplyDeleteNigerian police always makes arrests when something happens. Kidnapper Evans case has enough evidence to convict him yet he is running his mouth from prison.
I believe Naija police works buts its still ok not to have suspects when something happens. They are so quick in doing that to show off.
Hmmmmm
DeleteI don't believe it too. I find it hard to believe that the robbers after performing' their disgusting acts, will remain in offa. Even the one that was released from jail, is he stupid? And why were the no of years he was to serve not stated?
DeletePease I believe them.
DeleteThe CCTV footage is enough assistance for the rounding up of these criminals.
Weldone NPF.
So because they have all the evidence against him then she should be killed? Even abroad murder cases takes over a year of judgement. Do you even know how the law works? Do you know they go to court and then adjourn cases until its over? Or you want cases to be handled within a week? Do you know how many cases are brought before the court that makes them adjourn cases longer? Don't be making ignorant comment. If you had asked why they spent only 8 months for a case km sire they gave then 3yrs to 5yrs then I'll understand. Not the point you are making
DeleteGood news to start the day
ReplyDeleteJesu! Wetin 18years pikin dey do for robbery gang? And he's the youngest. God purnish devil. You guys will rot in jail.
ReplyDelete18 years can be a father.
DeleteDon't know why they will send them to prison again and after it they will commit more. Police and Judges be wise.
Can we go back to a time of life imprisonment and death by hanging? Because there are some people that won't ever change...imagine being released just three months ago. Those guys are the devil themselves.
ReplyDeleteIf you see their faces now, tears will be running down, while they cry "it's the devil", when it happens s certain that they are pure evil, devil dey learn where them dey.
ReplyDeleteGreat news but I find it really hard to believe. I just hope these are not innocent guys or even students that don't know anything about it. Just saying oo because na Nigeria we dey
ReplyDeleteWill you shut that trap or gutter you call a mouth there? Or I'd shut it for you. I hope you go through the exact pain the families of those victims are going through now for you to believe these guys named up there are the real perpetrators. EvilSlave.
DeleteI really can't understand how people that were given birth to, sucked breast, crawled then walked become robbers. At what point did they trade their soul?
ReplyDeleteFirst, I'd like to say our police and security team are a bunch of jokers and a total waste of human resources.
ReplyDeleteI mean how can people labelled and identified as notorious armed robbers keep serving very minute number of months prior to the number of years sentenced and then be freed to walk into another crime perfectly mapped out? How? The police failed the entire ppl they claim to be protecting another time again.
Also, what happened to sentencing those hardened notorious robbers for life either by hanging, electrocution, or death by firing to also give the family of those victims justice for all the pains they're being subjected to by these miscreants? And help the families find closure in the end knowing that the perpetrators have also gone to where they sent those victims to unwillingly? In fact, I'm so pained and really upset.
I mean none of these criminals mentioned there hasn't been linked to either robbery or acts of cultism. Then kill them all I say, to give the society cleansing of the land and then reduce the number of killers and criminals. Storms out of post angrily.
A thousand likes!
DeleteNow this is a better argument than the one above. Why are they serving 8 months? I'm sure they were sentenced to 3 to 5yrs because that's what's armed robbery carries. Then if they had killed in the course of action its usually between 10 to 15yrs or life imprisonment, so what is going on? Why sending them back to the society. This is why I still want the death by hanginf, firing squad or any mean s. Kill them. Because they never change. They come out worse. Kill them
DeleteAt Ralu, and Anon 11:13, thanks.
DeleteThis is great and I mist commend their action but am I to believe this? So rhetorical cuz Nigerian Police can arrest innocent people and make them say and accept they are criminals.
ReplyDeleteGo to kirikiri and interview 20 inmates,you will find out that 10 will be innocent.
May God help us and help them.
Mc pinky
Great news,toturing them to death would be a good one, imagine how they wasted people's lives.
ReplyDeleteI want all the bastards arrested but please do not arrest innocent people all because you want people to think you're working.
ReplyDeleteAnd you are?????
DeleteAm so happy at the sight of this wonderful news, Rip to the dead
ReplyDeleteI'm tempted to rant about our prison system and incompetence in this country but I don't have strength for that this morning.
ReplyDeleteThese wicked soulless men went far and beyond in this case. You want to rob a bank? Jejely rob and go! Why waste sooooo many lives without provocation? Innocent people who are simply trying to survive and make ends meet you wasted them just because you can? In this case they should just burn them alive. They need to die painfully
Exactly. Only shoeing off that gun would have had all the vaults opened. But they went on a killing spree. Imagine innocent people that just went about their normal day dying.
DeleteThat is my issue with armed robbers. Can they not just steal and leave innocent people.
DeleteBanks have insurance for possible robberies they will recover. It's innocent people that have to suffer this.
if the world can rate naija police as worst police in the world hmm e get as e b o good news but they should carryout their investigation properly b4 they arrest innocent pple.
ReplyDeleteThese ones are career criminals that have been stealing from their youth. They know nothing else.
ReplyDeleteThey probably don't have more than basic education and have no skill or craft they even learned to make a living.
Only death can stop such people. They will keep going in and out of prison.and even become more hardened.
These ones are beyond reform or redemption.
Great news, wow.... So the Nigerian police can be this effective? RIP to the innocent people who lost their lives in the most cruel way ever. I pray justice is served.
ReplyDeleteWell I know Nigeria police have lots of issues. But I just have a feeling they are making the right arrest,due to the fact that a lot of police men and women were killed. The robbers went too far this time around. I'm certain nearly all i.e if not all of them will be caught.