Tuesday, April 10, 2018

Nigerian Stocks Allegedly Drop After President Buhari Declares Re-Run Bid

Nigerian stocks dropped to a three-month low, after President Muhammadu Buhari officially announced he would seek re-election in 2019.

Reuters reports that the stock market, which opened on a losing streak after Lafarge Africa announced a surprise 2017 loss, worsened its decline.

The equity market fell near 40,000 points.

This came as Buhari declared at the National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting of the All Progressives Congress, that he will contest in next year’s election.

The news has drawn mixed reactions from Nigerians, as some expressed gladness, while others criticized the president for making such decision despite challenges facing the country.

Buhari defeated Goodluck Jonathan in 2015 to become president, after previously failing to win in three consecutive polls.
from dailypost

15 comments:

1. OM:G, stocks don suffer ooo. so they rejected buhari declaration. Odi kwa egwu

Buhari so our shares rejected you. Chai.

2. If they like let him dash us free stocks, we go collect am and still vote our preferred candidates... Nonsense

1. Stella imagine the kind of air heads you have on this blog!
      They dont even understand the meaning of stock dropping or declining or shares crashing.

Just imagine this dumb beliving it means "dashing us free stock " The other one up there says it means "shares rejected Buhari".

3. Cardiac arrest fell upon the stocks 😐 who wouldn't be surprised he wants to contest again? Did you notice that there was no widespread jubilation like before? Unlike POTUS he is dissaPOINTUS 😡

4. This buhari should go and rest oooooo,we no want make him rule us again, abi is it by force

5. Even the stocks rejected buhari 😅😥

6. What a greedy man i will say
    He doesn't even consider his health and age
    Africans leaders are too greedy for power
    Mcheeeeewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwweeew

1. Anon. 10.59, dont get it twisted. Buhari is not running because he loves Nigerians or that crappy excuse he gave;it's his health that he is considering. As president, he can go for medical treatment without paying out of his pocket. Then Cabal never finish to loot from our nation's treasury. Yeye dey smell.

2. The stocks in us need to reject pmb starting from now!

Youcan buy onions as cheap as 3500 for jumbo sack!

Many have played smart when it comes to onions storage,not knowing that it takes more than buying onions this single mistake has led them to many loosing hundreds and millions of naira.
      What HOSH offers is a better and more advanced method of onions storage with less risk and more profit guaranteed!

Invest now and smile later!
      We are here to serve you.....
      Call us today!

3. Very greedy man indeed

7. The man is just bad luck all round.
    The name Buhari is synonymous with suffering. I just hope the dollar wont plunge further down also.

8. There is a very big restaurant in my area that offers a 10percent discount on every food you buy provided you present your PVC at the counter, I wonder what they tend to achieve with that.

9. His second comming will be a shocker to Nigerians

10. Joshua it is not onions we are talking about. We are talking about shares of companies eg. Dangote shares, UBA, Unilever, Mobil Oil, etc. May be you are being sarcastic with what you are saying.

Hope you get it

11. You all go get your PVC,talking wont solve this issue, ACTION would. With your PVC we can vote out Old Log woods and Vote in young vibrant Nigerians.. Enough is Enough!