Friday, April 06, 2018

Mama Tee Series -Wetting The Bed

Bedwetting is as old as man himself lols.

Today, I see some mothers say their kids stopped bedwetting at the age of 2 or 3yrs and I wonder if its true. Could this be true? I ask because some mothers like hyping their kids.

I personally wet the bed almost everyday until I entered Primary School and then it reduced to a few times in a month. By the time I entered secondary school, I wet the bed only a few times in a year and then it stopped finally before my 14th birthday. Hahahahahahahaha

Those times, I would dream that I was peeing in the toilet or at a corner of the bush and this pee would refuse to finish. Then I would wake up to find myself soaked in my urine, I would roll my younger one onto my wet sleeping space, go out, change my clothes and then come back to sleep on a dry space. The wet clothes would be carefully hidden. I'm sure we all did this. Lols

Thinking of it now, I realise it was my mum's lackadaisical attitude that was responsible for my doing it for that long. She didn't really do much to make us stop.

I see my neighbour treading that same path now. She brings her kids' mattress out to dry in the sun almost every day. Once when we had a small discussion, I tried to teach her some tips on how to make them stop and also how to prevent it from touching the mattress, as I was explaining, she interrupted me and said:
"Let them weewee on the bed abeg, some people are looking for children to weewee on their bed, them no see, I myself, I suffered two miscarriages and the third one died at birth, so allow them abeg. They will stop when they are bigger"

When I heard this, I just kept quiet and faced my front.
She delivered a baby recently. When I entered her apartment to greet her, the stench of urine hit me right from the door. The chairs in the parlour were smelling of urine, when her mum came out of the room to greet us, it was as if they stored urine in there. I could not stay more than a few minutes.
In this 21st century?

Well, that's her own cup of kunu.

My 4yr old still wets the bed occasionally. This happens on days that I forget to make her pee immediately before bedtime. She wets her bed between 2-3 hours after sleeping on such days. On days that I make her pee before going to bed, she wakes up on her own to pee in the middle of the night after sleeping for like 4- 5 hours. There is a toilet in her room but I also kept a 'potty' in a corner so that if there is a power outage or she is too pressed to enter the toilet, it would be easy for her to pee. You know kids na. Lols.

I was told by an in-law back then when she was 18 months old to stop using diaper for her at night but to carry her and make her pee every 3 hours till day break. I tried and did it even though I used to sleep off sometimes and she would pee on the bed but it worked somehow. I believe that is why she wakes up to pee now.

So, how can we stop kids from bedwetting? At what age should we be worried if they still bedwet?
When did you stop bedwetting?

Mama Tee

50 comments:

1. Its very true oo...My first daughter stopped before she clocked 2 sef....we noticed when she wakes up midnight and start crying that means she want to wee.....but i dont trust my second daughter she might not stop early......

2. My mum always say it that her kids don't bedwet because, she's a very light sleeper, she can wake up more than 8 times before day break. So she used to give us dinner by 6pm and still wake us up more than 4times before daybreak. I could not remember our last baby bed-wetting.

Now my niece, she just stopped bed-wetting late last year at 8yrs plus. She did it 4days ago for the first time this year.

But my nephew of 6yrs still do, in fact, he can bed wet more than 5 times before daybreak. His younger brother of about 20months old hardly bedwet, especially if we wear him diaper, he won't ever bedwet in the diaper. We were told to stop wearing him diaper to school by her aunty, she claims he always disturb her to remove it for him whenever he wants to "weewee"

So children are different, and also, if the mum can always wake them up to "weewee" at night, but it's not easy

1. Yes o, kids are different, I had a neighbor that bed wetted even in the university, they kept saying it was spiritual instead of guiding her intake of water and sugar at night, she can take 3bottles of water at night abeg who no go wee, I don’t know if she’s still doing it now as I don’t know where she is now

3. Nice one Mama Tee. I think your tips are okay but sometimes after doing all that children still wee on the bed. It will interest you to know that I know of a lady in her late twenties, she still bed wet at such age and one funny thing is that no matter how late it is, she will never past night outside her home for fear of urinating on someone's bed. What could be her case?

1. Mama tee thanks for always inspiring us. But to me I think bed-wetting does not solely depend on mothers attitude towards it, some children no matter how many times you wake them up, they would still bed wet. Like teejay said I also know of a lady who bedwets even at the age of 21, we later found out it was her step mother who inflicted with bedwetting spiritually.

2. Teejay I'm 28 and I still bedwet

3. This is a serious something @Anonymous 28. Please seek help. It's well with you.

4. That could be a medical issue, it is generally known as nocturnal enuresis. She should seek medical help. Anonymous that still bedwe@28 take this medication, oxybutynin 2 twice daily for at least 3 months. Good luck.

5. Bed wetting signifies fear of a parent, usually the father. Please @28 is there any relation to what I’ve said, do you fear your father, if so why? This will help you deal with the psychological issue, which will in the long run help you. I wish you all the best.

6. @anon 22.38
      Bedwetting doesn't signify fear of a parent per se.
      As a form of defence mechanism people who can't cope by anxiety causing life stressors can then regress to earlier passed stages e.g sucking the thumb or bedwetting as an adult when he or she has no medical issue...so any anxiety causing stressed can precipate this in someone who unconsciously employs regression as a defence mechanism

4. Guess I am very lucky with my kids, my first child stopped bedwetting at 2years while the second one stopped at 1 yr 3months, she started removing her diaper and peeing in her potty before she clocked one. Don't ask me how I did it because I didn't do anything, I was just lucky

1. You are right..didnt do anything too,and my daughter stopped before 2

5. Lols
    I wet the bed all through primary school. My secondary school was in another town so I went and live with a relative. Nobody Warned me to respect myself, I just stopped. then when we were on holiday, I went home, my mum was surprised that I had stopped bedwetting while away.

6. I stopped at age nine, my three kids stopped before age 3. This is how I did it, I wake up at night to take them to wee at intervals, after some months they started waking up themselves to wee. In the process of training them to wakeup and wee at night, I found out that whenever they want to wee, they always give a sign, my first child will raise her bumbum up, the second will let out a loud cry why the third does like the first.
    Sometimes mothers are too tired to wake up at night after a long day at work or business place.

7. If a child takes plenty water at night it can make the child wee on the bed,and if parents can be very observant to take d child to wee in d middle of the night I believe wit time d child will stop bed wetting.

8. Lol...mama Tee that your neighbour is funny. Leave her to enjoy her kids in peace biko.

My mum said of all her children I stopped bed wetting even b4 I reached 18months, that I will wake up, cross her and go down to urinate on d floor after which I will climb back up and all these while she will be sleeping.

On one faithful occasion, as I was climbing down from the bed ( u know those old model bed nah that were high), I fell and broke my lips...blood everywhere. Chai, she said my dad almost sent her packing...lolz( as the last B that I is nah). My dad was so angry, he blamed her for been asleep while a little baby of less than 2 years tries not to bed wet while my older ones were busy bed wetting.

My elder sis could bed wet for Africa eeeh, she will finish bed wetting, wake up and turn her matteress and change her clothes but my DSD always finds a way of knowing...lol.

Growing up was fun biko, I hope my kids will copy me and no too bed wet.

1. Nice story you wrote...but I have to ask why are women always threatened when something happens to the child and Men feel it's not within their job description to look out for the child as well... 2 people will have sex and birth a child but one person will feel it's not his responsibility to look out for the well being of the child because he is a man...I pray our generation does better abeg

LEP😛

LEP😛

2. Amen to this.

9. Nice one mama Tee. I am presently battling this with my kids. The youngest who is 3+ most times does not wet the bed even if you don't wake him at night. If you wake him once, he won't wet the bed. So also the one that is 7+. It is true if you wake them up at intervals they won't bedwet. But my concern is my son that is 10+. If you wake him up to 4times he still bedwets sometimes. I have talked, prayed, encourage him to wake up to pee, once in a while he does so. When he bedwet and I try to scold him my husband tells me not to do so, saying it may affect his self esteem when I compare him with his brothers. Does anyone have any tip on how to help him stop?

1. Stop him from eating anything that contains sugar or carbohydrate after 6pm,this helped my little nephew so you can try it also.

LEP😛

10. Mama tee,no hyping here,some kids are different from what some of us were while growing up,my kids don't bedwet,they stopped bedwetting before age 2,my hubby will always say they took after him,that he's sure their mom bedwetted till secondary school,and we'll all laugh.

1. Exactly @just glamour, I can say that I am truly blessed, my children stops wearing diapers (they will always remove it when they're pressed) and immediately I introduced them to potty, there was never an incident of bed wetting.
      I'm truly blessed ooh

11. Nice one Mama Tee. I use to wonder too myself.I use to bedwetting till I was 11/12. My 2 Children 6 and 4 years old, stopped bedwetting around 2years.Then, I stopped using pampers on them and would always ensure they wee before sleeping and also wake them up at night to pee. However, nowadays once they pee before going to bed, they are OK until they wake-up the next morning, whereas, I wake up at least twice to pee before day break. I just won't be able to sleep if I don't pee every time I mistakenly wake up at night to do one thing or the other.

12. My mum has a 13 years old girl living with her,this girl can bedwet like mad,even if you wake her thrice to wee at night she still bedwet,she waits for my parents to go to bed and she goes to the pot to empty the meat and fish in the soup,then goes back to sleep and wee on her bed,the girl matter tire me sef.

1. Had a cousin who was also staying with us like that but she was 11 at the time..At first we were all worried my mom took it upon herself to wake her up at night at intervals but the days she couldn't wake her up she bedwets and some times when she wakes her up she would have already bedwetted at a space of 3hrs,she made sure she eats her last meal by 6pm and couldn't take water after 6pm but it didn't work..We later got to find out that she was stealing stuffs and eating at night when everybody had gone to bed

13. I'm 28 an still bedwet. My late mum tried all the including rituals yet no solution
    I dont have boyfriend or close friends that will sleep over or I sleep over not at all. Only my relatives who knows. If I travel I sleep in hotel, if I bedwet I clean with plenty soap and water so no urine smell. TheyI'll think is water that poured.
    On day we went for a seminar in my working place at another state of they put me and one other colleague in the hotel room. I d not sleep till 4:am and still bedwet when I woke up by 6. I cried and she consoled me. I told her how my mum died on the problem. she now told me about a prophet and she will take me there, I cannot say no so that she will not b angry and spread my news. I followed her. Hmm this girl planned with the prophet and dupe me. I cannot talk. God is seeing everything. #crying

1. Eyah the Lord is to strength. He will see you through

2. Oh Lord, heal this Sis I pray. It is well with you dear.

3. Eiyah. That your friend is evil. God Almighty, I bring your daughter to your cross, let her problem be finished. Dry her wetness the way you dried the woman with the issue of blood. Console your daughter and give her a cause to laugh and rejoice. Amen

4. Oh dear, this is so sad.
      You should see a doctor, they might be able to help

5. My dear, the problem is psychological. Bed wetting at an older age can symbolize sexual abuse of extreme fear of a parent usually the father. You must a have an issue you have buried deep within and it causes you to bedwet. Please look within and heal your emotional wounds this will really help to stop the bed wetting.
      I wish you all the best

14. Let me go annon on this. I am married with Kids but I am still bedwetting. I don't drink water as from 6pm if not I must bedwet. THis bedwetting dealt with me in my university days and it reduced my self esteem to zero.

1. Hmm God will see you through too. I pray the anon above you too will find love, get married and have kids even with her condition

2. What's your husband saying about it?

3. Go and see a doctor. There are actually drugs you can take to treat this. There's a certain condition coined from bedwetting. Don't know the name.

15. Some children no matter what and how you tried to make them stop they won’t till their body is ready. My daughter stopped using daytime nappy when she was 2yrs but couldn’t stop wetting her bed till she turned 5yrs. I tried a lot of thing(except spanking) all to no avail. I would wake her up at night, took her to the toilet, she won’t wee there but would rather do iton her bed. My first son stopped bed wetting when he was 2,5 years.
    I think bed wetting is genetic.

16. My mom said I stop bed wetting at 3. I believe her bcoz I remember always feeling awkward when i wet my napkins as a child.

17. I stopped at the age of 15..that was my ss3
    This bedwetting thing really dealt with me in d hostel and at home too cos my late mum will continue beating me no holidays for me et al..i tried everything i could to stop it buh it didnt work until my bunky woke up one morning and insulted d hell out of me n reported me to our mistress.i was so ashamed of myself dah i stoped talking to everyone except if u ask me a question..i couldnt sleep at night to avoid it so i prayed ,fasted n cried to God dah if he can help me i will give out all my pocket money n provisions as that was d only thing i had then and that was how it stoped till now..
    Im grateful to God

18. I read an article here on bed wetting. I think last year post or 2016. Among the reasons for bedwetting is genetic reason. That is if a mother bed wet for long, the Child too will bed wet fo a long time. But seeing comments here from mums who stopped bed wetting a advanced age and there kids stopped at early age, I'm wondering if that genetic claim is true. Or the children took after their dad?

19. I stopped bed-wetting at the age of 8. My dad would always wake me up every 3 hours to pee at night but I still managed to bed wet. But he was very patient and I would overhear him sometimes praying about it. My mom spanked me a few times. She was so worried. Thank God I stopped a few days before my 8th birthday. None of my siblings bed-wet and I pray my children won't.
    Nice one Mama Tee.

20. Hmmm this just broght back some memories, I bedwetted even after I was done with sec. school at the age of 16, I stop eating by 5pm,i pee before going to bed, sometimes I even stay up very late to keep peeing, but as soon as I close my eyes even for an hour I will bedwet.
    my mom used to flog me and complain about her house smelling bcos of me, all my younger ones had stopped bed-wetting except on special days that maybe they had a lot of water before going to bed.
    my mum even wakes us in the middle of the night to go pee, but for where I will still bed-wet
    my siblings use to abuse me with it whenever we fight and so our neighbors knew and they use it to mock me too.
    I cried ehn, I fasted, I prayed hmmmm
    my parents then would ask me how was going to cope in the University, and even in my husband's house and all that, but I thank God for answering my prayers at last, I don't even know how it stopped but I overcame, but it was after I had embarrassed myself in a relatives house, maybe that was what the thing wanted.
    I pray none of my children take after me in that aspect, cos that thing really dealt with my self esteem while growing up.
    sorry for any error Abeg, I never write this kind epistle before. 😁😁

21. My son stopped using diapers at 1 year 6 months and doesn't bed wet till now

22. One of my muffins when he bedwets he will be sooooo sober in the morning. He will just wake up and enter the bathroom and start crying. I used to pity him eehnnn.... nobody complains but he just hates it especially as his elder brother stopped at about 5 years old and he has never seen that one bedwet.
    The other one she would just wake up, if she is wet she will and enter the bathroom and remove her clothes and put on water. And start singing her nursery rhymes very loudly. No remorse! 🤣🤣 No be person go tell you make you run go help am.
    I stopped pretty early sha cos I hated the smell. About 5ish. Sometimes I sleepwalk to pee and back to sleep. Pee makes me uncomfortable even now I wake up to pee at least 4 times per night. In my office they know me and toilet esp as I dey drink tea inside AC. No matter how small let it just come out.

23. My girl staying with me can pee like no tomorrow. I have scolded, advised even had to wake her up to wee but no avail.
    It is a continuous process for her to change, I will just be patient and hope for the best.

24. Thanks all for your contributions. I've learnt a lot today, I do learn always from the comment section. You guys are the bomb.

To those still bed wetting as adults, may God come to your rescue. You can try the medicine that anonymous mentioned up there. I truly feel sorry for what you are going through.

25. That thing was a disease to me. I peed all through Secondary school, my dad was even administering drugs for me.I prayed and my mom really motivated and helped me . now am good. The funniest part is when I visit someone, I dont pee on their bed, but when I go home, I will pee on mine. Now as an adult, I realize I can't hold my urine. If am pressed, I will feel the urge to pee immediately and it will start dripping. I notice my mom feels that way too.

26. I stopped bed wetting early...can’t remember but I know I didn’t bedwet in secondary school.... My twin toddlers are 3 plus and still bed wet....but I honestly can’t say I do much to stop them....me I just wear them diapers at night, following their drama all day is enough work abeg.....am however thinking that after this pack of diapers finish I will just stop them wearing and try the waking up at night thingy