Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gov. Rochas Imposes Levy On All Adults In Imo State

Friday, April 20, 2018

Gov. Rochas Imposes Levy On All Adults In Imo State

The Imo State Governor, Rochas Okorocha has ordered all “leviable adults” in the state to pay N3,000 each as “development levy”.

This was contained in a statement by the State Commissioner for Community Government, Culture and Traditional Affairs, Louis Duru, on Thursday.

According to Duru, the money is to be used for “autonomous community adult development”. There at least 2,000 leviable adults in each of the 637 autonomous communities.

Okorocha warned that the traditional rulers of defaulting communities will have their allowances or salaries suspended. To facilitate the payment, the state government through the ministry of CGC, since September 2016, has provided community adult registers for all autonomous communities in the state where the communities will enlist the names of at least 2000 leviable adults.

Consequently, His Excellency Owelle Anayo Rochas Okorocha has directed that all recognised autonomous communities in Imo State should pay the minimum adult development levy of N6,000,000 (Six million Naira only) without further delay. Any recognised autonomous community that fails to pay the development levy will be merged with sister autonomous community that had paid and the salaries/allowances of the traditional ruler ill be suspended.

From Daily Post

26 comments:

1. Okorocha wants to raise $10,000,000 to add to his 2019 war chest.

2. Election money. Ndi IMO anyi bara one chance. What of those not living in IMO but are indigenes? Onye wayo Rochas

2. hahahahahaha Okorocha parting gift come May 2019.

Ndi Imo oya make una start to pay. You all wanted Okorocha and he wanted you guys. Oya make una enjoy him

3. After paying tax. Isn't this some form of double taxation. This country.

1. It is called double taxation dear.

C = a + byd

I.e..c is consumption function

a is autonomous..either u work or not u must spend

b is income

Y is tax

Which means gud is disposable income after paying tax

In that sense

A disposable income is now been used again to pay another tax to the government. Then it becomes a double taxation..no much time would have analyse better

Mc pinky

4. So that he and his family can collect that one as well, abi?

5. He is looking for N3k from those whose salaries he has slashed and whose pensions aren't being paid? Ok na.

6. Unserious man. So what is tax meant for? What a country?

7. Let his commisioner for happiness start working already because this will trigger unhappiness more in the State.

8. So after the normal paye,the are still expected to still pay another form of task.
    This man is sick. The people of Imo state shouldn't just fold their hands and watch this rubbish.

9. Kai Imo people una doh oooo.

10. IMO state is now the modern Roman empire. So aside the tax they pay (both directly and indirectly) they'll have to pay extra as "leviable adults"? So it's now a crime to be an adult in imo state, okwa ya? What nonsense development levy is that? So he needs money for development and he was busy erecting statutes all over the place? Talk of misplaced priorities! This government has failed. Awelle, you're a failure!

1. My dear...so appaling! Apparently he needs money for more statues. Some one wakes up in the morning,cooks up some destructive ideas to dish to the people who voted him....and they follow hook-line and sinker! He indeed is a total FAILURE

11. This is total rubbish! and those Chiefs and elders are keeping quiet,submitting to this modern day slavery? So sad,so so sad. Imo indigenes,your intelligence have been mocked in several ways since this governor came on board,its time to wake up and choose right,come 2019.

12. What is our offense in this country that God single this country out for his punishment?
    Father please look upon us in ur mercy and forgive our sins! Pardon us of all our iniquity and bless us with good leaders come 2019 in Jesus name I pray!
    Amen!

13. Poli-tricks

He told you gullible folks that he will no longer loot
    Looting has many facets.

14. May God punish this man and his generations. We can't let this continue! This is nonsense. We have to stand up and fight before its too late.

15. Wonders will never end. How can one person decide what happens or what all adults should do in a state?
    How on earth did we get to this point as a country?
    Thus Man singlehanded spent state money erecting statutes he had no business erecting and now this?? Where are his advisers??

16. Mathematically speaking, 2000 adults in every of the 637 communities to pay N3000 each..whaoo that's about N3.8billion. I hope this development levy will not be used to erect another statue?. Okorocha, Some of these adults are struggling to feed and take care of their families. Anyway election is fast approaching..

17. And to think my parents in law were ready to die for rochas. Now no pension to pay for drugs . Oh God rochas you will not end well.

18. The Nationalist21 April 2018 at 14:11

That is about 3.8 billion. This man is a joker. Looking for 2019 campaign funds yeah

19. Is it constitutional to impose this levy on taxpayers? Are all the members of Imo state House of Assembly dead? Or is it that they don't know their job? What of the judiciary? The human right lawyers in Imo state nko? Rochas will not die well.

20. Okoroawusa na thief make him cone and collect money now onyeohi