Saturday, April 07, 2018

Designer Yomi Casual Addresses The Issue Of Begging Celebs For Money On The Social Media

Hmmmm!!!

Nigerian celebrity designer, Yomi Casual, few days back got in a messy drag with his follower who took to his page to beg him for financial assistance.

The fan posted on his page, “Please help we have nothing to eat and starving this Easter period and any financial aid would gladden our hearts, I and kid bro. bless you and have a pleasant Easter celebration.”

And in his reply, Casual said, “Nothing to eat and you buy data? Trust me, you do not know what you want.” While a few lauded his response, many tagged him as an arrogant person.

In a chat with Saturday Beats, Casual noted that some Nigerian youths were fond of taking to the social media to beg for money and even when celebrities want to empower them, they refuse the help because they are used to begging. He said, “People are very funny. They do not know what celebrities go through on social media. On a normal day when I wake up in the morning, majority of the messages I see on my phone are more of people asking me for different favours. There are some I can help while there are others I cannot help.

Sometimes all these things work with the current mood I face at that moment. You do not know which side of the bed I woke up from, you do not know if my landlord has increased my rent, you do not know my mood at the time but you bombard me with requests. I have experienced it so many times. Some of them are fraud while some are genuine, sadly, we cannot differentiate those who really need help from those who do not. That message was just an innocent message but people misunderstood what I meant and they began to say all manner of things to me.”

The celebrity designer described himself as a ‘small boy’ and would not be able to solve people’s problem when the government had failed them.

He said, “We all have problems. I am still a small boy and I cannot solve the problems of everyone on Instagram. Even people bigger than me cannot solve their problems. A problem that the government cannot solve am I the one to solve it? I would give out money tomorrow to someone and the same person would move to D’banj’s page or Harrysong’s. This is what we face every day, how long are we going to keep doing this. At some point, you would get tired. Even if you keep approaching your church or pastor for money at some point they would get tired and advise you to find something lucrative to do. I would have appreciated it if the girl had sent me a message asking me to empower her. I am sure that if I had told the girl that I had a job for her, she would not come for the job and the reason is that they are used to begging. It has already become a lifestyle for them. Some people are used to shame. Even if I had offered her a job, she would still not accept the job. At the end of the day, you cannot explain to everybody.

He stated that he was not surprised at the insults hurled at him over his response because there are some people that just dislike him for no reason. There are some people that just naturally hate my name, it happens in life. There are some people that just naturally hate you for no reason. If there is any news about you, all they do is just to read the caption. People do not read the story they just begin to insult you.

*Some celebs do not even have enough to give but social media boju boju and the kinda of photos they post makes it look like they have enough to give....Times are hard and most people are managing...It is well.

24 comments:

1. Yomi casual na celebrity? mtcheeeeew... abeg carry your obioma machine for shoulder face ur hurstle!
    Emoney, Davido, Otedola & co see much of these internet beggers daily & havnt put out a memo, you carry ur black face come write speech, if u cant give, then ignore or block!

1. Poor man go n sit dwn. Am sure u have begged him for money b4

2. No mind him. When they call for crayfish giveaway he will want to crush somebody while running to d front.

3. lol.... i dont beg.
      I dont beg cus i dont need to.
      I dont even follow any famous person on IG

4. Kikikikikiki anons make una pity am oo chai!

5. @ink you us wickeeeetttttttt
      Chaiiiiii thus your comment crack me 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

6. He’s a celebrity? 🤔

2. Hmmm! Stella even me wey no be anything, my Facebook inbox is filled with all sorts of begging. Some are really touching situations, others will ask you for money for their wedding or baby's dedication. People far older than me sef wey no get shame. I stopped being active on Facebook cos I just couldn't. I have a moniker I added to my name and that's where wahala started for me on facebook. The begging culture in Nigeria is too much!!

I remember that guy who won N10m who wants to be a millionaire. He said within three days the messages he had received with requests totalled N350m. That he doesnt even know who gave his number out to all these people. Say money wey no even reach am sef na it him wan share?

1. when u dont cover your cake, definitely you'd invite flies, imagine celebs flaunting 1st class flight, hermes bags, DnG sunshades, houses in Lekki etc. And u think beggers wouldnt line up on same platform? I hear they flood davidos residential gate when theyre sure hes in town! Its worse when they know ure a cheerful giver! Some are genuinely in a tight corner & need assistance dont blame them... God can use anyone, even on Social media, which has proved 2b a very powerful platform of late.

2. proven 2b*

3. So what if they flaunt? They should not live their lives again because there is poverty in the land?? Nobody owes anyone shit, btw they have their own responsibilities so how many people will they help?? Abegii you people should free them. That is how I wanted to pay my cousin's jamb fees and she inflated it because she knows I live abroad.

Even people who have still beg because begging is a way of life for most people in Nigeria.A lot of people lack contentment and even beg for things they don't need.

They make demanda and don't care if you have it or if you are going to gò borrow for them. To think that most of them even have misplaced priorities begging to do birthday, naming ceremony, begging for human hair and all sorts.

4. @erased ink is it ur flaunting? Stop begging everywhere. Its not good

5. Chikito what's your real name, will like to be your friend

6. Cookie Hahahahahahahaaaahahahahaaaaaaahhhhhh if dem jam you now like slimqueen, you go begin cry, face front una no dey hear word. Awon 'private speakers' and 'intimate friends' of the blog.
      Ikwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwa Ikwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwa ikwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwa ikwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwa ikwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwa

3. Waytin concern me with Celeb? Biko, for those of u saying time na money. How much is 9:07am ?
    I am broke now. I want to sell it.

4. I don't know why youths of these days would rather beg than look for something to do.
    How much do these celebrities even make, moreover they have families and friends to cater for.

5. He is arrogant but his words are nothing but the truth. I've been saying this and will always say it, respect yourself and work for your own money. You'll thank God you did after all.

6. This table you are shaking has so many of the blog visitors on it. Hehe. We don't know who's a fraudster and who is not. Start a small business, stop having more children, start saving - they will say "Baba, epp if you wan epp which one be long story". This begging culture is like a virus now!

7. Some people can beg for Africa

8. It beats me how somebody will buy data to start begging from page to page. When they discovered that blog begging isn't paying I guess they've stopped that one. Some of them have jobs and are living comfortably, but are begging from these celebrities to have more so that they can buy designers to wear. Majority of the begging is simply GREED. Nigerians are very greedy

9. People will continue to beg because many celebs are giving. Nicki Minaj paid some tuition fees last year for a few of her fans. If celebs are getting into relationships with ppl in their dm, why will beggars not flood the pages of celebs. In desperation shame is no longer a virtue.