Crooner Banky W, has revealed that there was a time that he almost quit music due to depression.
He also revealed that he has had three cancer operations; he has been robbed, kidnapped and his house has caught fire but despite all these, he is still waxing strong.
The singer made this revelation during a radio programme and explained how he was robbed and kidnapped for about 45 minutes on the first day of 2009. “All the money that I had saved for my music, I had spent on marketing, videos and other things. On the last day of December 2008, I realised that these things were not working out well for me because I had high hopes when I was returning to Nigeria from America. I believed that I would be the greatest artiste in the world till reality set in. I went to church for new year service as I always do and I prayed to God telling him that things were not working out fine for me. I even wrote down my prayer point, telling God what I wanted. As I left the church, I got accosted by armed robbers at about past 1 am and that was the worst 45 minutes of my life. They drove around and demanded that I withdraw money from my account for them. At that point, I was already broke, depressed, frustrated and tired.
I was already regretting the fact that I came to Nigeria because when my parents knew about my decision, they were worried, especially my mother. They all told me that it would not work and then I got robbed. After I got robbed, a few days later, the caretaker of my house got drunk, took my car and drove it into a neighbour’s wall on the same estate. That was my only means of transportation and it was gone. This was a car that was always breaking down all over Lagos. I had already started releasing music and fame came before fortune. Sadly, anytime someone sees you on television, they assume that you have money. At the time, I would borrow N5,000 from Segun Demuren every Mondayto fuel my car and buy airtime for my phone. Luckily for me, I had somewhere to lay my head and there was food on the table. But that is how bad things were for me. When I got robbed and my car was later damaged, I did not know how to get around.
At that time, I sat in my room depressed and Segun came around and asked me for my next move. I told him that it would be nice to record a new album but that I did not have the funds. He asked who I wanted to work with and I told him Cobhams. Back then, we were not friends and to be honest, getting Cobhams’ services is not cheap. We called his office and got the price. Segun actually went to borrow money and gave it to me. He said I should use a fraction of it to fix my car while I use the rest for my album. Then, I was very close to throwing in the towel and returning to America. I thought of getting a job as well but we held on. I decided to start again but work differently. I changed my method and approach. I worked with Cobhams and the first song we did was ‘Strong Thing.’ That was the song that changed the game for me,” he said.
The singer used his life story to advise those going through a rough time, reminding them that things would get better. “I am saying all this because sometimes when you have hit rock bottom and it feels like everything you have tried is not working; the good news is that the only place to go is up. It is in that moment you need to hold on a little bit longer. You tell yourself that things are bad but I did not die and since you have breath in your lungs, you have the chance to turn things around because tomorrow is a new day. Crying over your past is not going to do anything for you.
From punch
I was already regretting the fact that I came to Nigeria because when my parents knew about my decision, they were worried, especially my mother. They all told me that it would not work and then I got robbed. After I got robbed, a few days later, the caretaker of my house got drunk, took my car and drove it into a neighbour’s wall on the same estate. That was my only means of transportation and it was gone. This was a car that was always breaking down all over Lagos. I had already started releasing music and fame came before fortune. Sadly, anytime someone sees you on television, they assume that you have money. At the time, I would borrow N5,000 from Segun Demuren every Mondayto fuel my car and buy airtime for my phone. Luckily for me, I had somewhere to lay my head and there was food on the table. But that is how bad things were for me. When I got robbed and my car was later damaged, I did not know how to get around.
At that time, I sat in my room depressed and Segun came around and asked me for my next move. I told him that it would be nice to record a new album but that I did not have the funds. He asked who I wanted to work with and I told him Cobhams. Back then, we were not friends and to be honest, getting Cobhams’ services is not cheap. We called his office and got the price. Segun actually went to borrow money and gave it to me. He said I should use a fraction of it to fix my car while I use the rest for my album. Then, I was very close to throwing in the towel and returning to America. I thought of getting a job as well but we held on. I decided to start again but work differently. I changed my method and approach. I worked with Cobhams and the first song we did was ‘Strong Thing.’ That was the song that changed the game for me,” he said.
The singer used his life story to advise those going through a rough time, reminding them that things would get better. “I am saying all this because sometimes when you have hit rock bottom and it feels like everything you have tried is not working; the good news is that the only place to go is up. It is in that moment you need to hold on a little bit longer. You tell yourself that things are bad but I did not die and since you have breath in your lungs, you have the chance to turn things around because tomorrow is a new day. Crying over your past is not going to do anything for you.
From punch
Susu is really trying sha.
ReplyDeleteThanks Banky for your inspiring story
DeleteStrong thing is my best song from you dear Banky. And thanks for sharing your story.
DeleteThanks for the inspiration. This is what I really need at this time.
DeleteThank Goodness something inspiring finally.
DeleteNice. Thank God you overcame.
ReplyDeleteEyaa the dumerun brothers have very good hearts.
ReplyDeleteIt is hard for you to find a friend that will be giving you even if it's 5k every Monday to get by and someone that will borrow on your behalf. Those are good friends, no wonder they are all really close.
Going into music is a huge risk. You will either suceed or fail. 9-5job is still of lower risk but may never reach certain level of success. With one hit record someone can earn what you will earn in 5 years with a good 9-5 job.
The demuren brothers seem very nice. Little wonder they are all close
DeleteThe Demuren brothers seem very nice. Little wonder they are all close.
DeleteNice one!
ReplyDeleteThank God he came out of depression. Many people are suffering from depression and needs help,counseling and support.
ReplyDeleteThree cancer operations? Hmmmmmmmm...and Adesua agreed to marry him. Nigerian ladies and greed are like bread and butter. If Banky is an ordinary Nigerian guy hustling to make it, Adesua wouldn't have married him ooo... Like that chronicle poster that wanted to abort her baby cos her husband was once mad. Abi is cancer no more inheritable? Isn't there possibilities that their kids will inherit the cancer genes?
ReplyDeleteOn another note, I don't see Banky as a rich guy. He's just famous
Who told you it is all cancers that are heredity. I believe his is malenoma skin cancer or smthn. Not hereditary.
DeleteThe types that can be hereditary are breast, ovarian and some others;And if you have it in your family there is a test you can do to check the likely-hood of getting it. If it's tested youve inherited the gene you will be advised to remove your breast and your reproductive organs(ovarian cancer). Not even all breast cancers are hereditary.
The type banky has isn't hereditary. Anyone of any age can get cancer at anytime.
So shes supposed to dump the love of her life because he has a health issue that is treatable.
Banky is poor. But can you beat your chest you are richer than him ????
Chaii Banky w reads stella's blog,welcome bed and roses,you see i dont think anon 17.27 is hating,the person was just being real stating the obvious that is being ignored.i'm sorry
DeleteI really think you should just shut up. you have no right to speak for them or judge what is in their hearts. She herself is full of potential and does need to wait around for a man to be made
DeleteSuffice to say some cancers are quite curable when detected early. So they will be fine. Worry more about your own possible undiagnosed genetic diseases.
Deletehmmmm!!!!! i am so inspired.
ReplyDeleteMind your biz. No one is immune to any for
ReplyDeletem of ailments.
A big Amen to your last paragraph Banky, Amen. May the Lord perfect your healing in Jesus mighty name, Amen.
ReplyDeleteI now understand the reason for their closeness.He is a friend indeed.
ReplyDeleteThis is really inspiring
ReplyDelete@anon 17:27.. I am studying medicine and if you think cancer is only hereditary then you need some awareness. There is this thing called spontaneous mutation, it means that people who don’t even have family history can also be at risk for cancer. Therefore everybody has equal predisposition to cancer risk. So do what you can to stay healthy and reduce certain well known carcinogens like cigarette smoking, alcohol, sedentary lifestyle and poor diet as studies have shown. No need for the cancer shaming!
ReplyDeleteHonestly, I hope that unnecessary comment provokes God to heal Banky completely. Some people just feel they can say anything to anyone just because they are blessed with fame. Who told you banky has plenty money? Has he ever flaunted wealth on SM in anyone's face? Has Adesua ever come out to say she married a wealthy man? So what's all this 'I don't think this and That' some of you really feel your opinions matter in people's lives. As if you don't have your own problems. Shioor!
DeleteTThank God for his life.
ReplyDeleteAnonymous 17:27 u are so ignorant.pray cancer doesn't jam u or anyone n ur family by then u go carry ur tongue count ur teeth.people like u feel so healthy n think they are beyond certain diseases.In naija folks go to hospital when very sick,don't b surprise if a thorough medical check is done on your entire system some malignant cells may b detected.u are jus busy running ur mouth like a tap.
ReplyDeleteWhat an inspiring story. Friends like the Demuruns are hard to find.
ReplyDeleteThere are very few cancers that are hereditary. Most are spontaneous cell mutation. We have never had cancer in my or my husbands family yet my child is battling cancer as we speak.
ReplyDeleteAnd oh, we need to be humble cos this life can turn for us at any point in time. Anon, this is for you. Be guided. Nobody knows what life holds and the last thing a person should be mocked with is a sickness outside his control
May the good Lord equip you with all the strength and resources you need in this trying time, and may He heal your child completely @anon 03:10.
DeleteYour last sentence on point.
His story is so inspiring! Thanks for sharing
ReplyDeleteNice piece,banky,such a gentle man met him in person,adesua picked d right one,God bless dem both