Thursday, April 12, 2018

Chroicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative...

Hmmmmm na wah!!!

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
CATHOLIC WEDDING IS A MUST FOR CATHOLICS...

Good day Stella and my fellow bvs, 

I got married to my hubby traditionally in 2009 December and we were suppose to do the white weeding in 2010 but hubby got an accident in 2010 march which affected his leg and even uptill date,there is still iron in his leg.

My problem is THAT up till now which is making it almost 9 years in marriage,we have not blessed our marriage in church. This is affecting and disturbing me badly becos as a Catholic, couples cannot receive holy communion until after church wedding. 

I can't receive holy Communion and it does not seem to bother my husband. In 2014 the priest refused to baptise our daughter saying THAT we should register for marriage class and then pick a date which we did but after the marriage class,my husband did not pick a date saying that he could not find his baptismal card.So this year,he asked his mum for his baptismal card and she said she has looked for it and she can't find it.

Recently, I told him to meet the priest and ask if there is a way in which he can bless the marriage in holy matrimony without the baptismal card but he seems adamant! Note that money is note the issue here.

Pls Stella and my fellow bvs what other way can the church bless our marriage without baptismal card?or am I worrying unnecessarily? Should I forget about this issue?

*Catholics and Church wedding sef!

I dont understand..why is there a big deal here?I remember relocating and my mum in law insisting on a Catholic wedding...I just quickly agreed and we had it and moved on even though i am not Catholic.
I am sure there is a way it can be done without the Baptismal card,stop making a mountain out of a molehill.....Is your hubby a real Catholic or Catholic by paper?lol

52 comments:

1. Na wa.

Maybe he doesn't just want the wedding. He is comfortable with the traditional wedding only. I may be wrong though.

1. Let me borrow space. Stella Did you read the part she said she can't recieve communion because of This? I was once a Catholic and the man is not being fair. Poster please talk to the parish priest during confession so they could Persuade him to do it.

2. I still got married in a Catholic Church , I had my baptismal card but my husband is not catholic, as long as one of u have a card u can get married in a Catholic Church , or better still let him go for classes again and get baptize then he will be given a baptismal card

3. He can go to where he was baptised and get the copy. Thats what I did

4. Aunty
      You are married already. Why bother yourself unnecessarily?

2. May be the church wedding is a ticket to heaven for catholics.

So you cant have holy communion because no wedding and most of them they chuku chuku boys and having gay partners. It shall never be well with that "clause" they put.

Catholic and church wedding..... it is well with una. Make i keep quiet

1. Madam yori yori stop typing rubbish if you ain't got any reasonable contribution to make.

2. Yori Yori better keep quiet if u have nothing good to say. If u don't know about the doctrine of the catholic church then hush it and allow those that know to talk.

What do u even mean by having gay partners? Have u caught any of them b4? U guys will still be the ones championing the "do not cast the first stone" slogan, now what are u doing?

I have never had issues with u and I always respect your comments but this is a no no.

3. What do u know about the Catholic Church sef?

3. Obviously Catholic by paper.. Madam just enjoy your marriage. Please don't bring up issues where there is none!

1. When I was to submit my baptismal card for my wedding .I couldn't find it,so I had to go and get another one from where I was baptised. It is not a big deal.they have records.you can just go and meet the priest in charge of that parish and explain to him.he might even offer to do chapel blessing for you and your hubby or the one they do during morning mass.unless May be you are pushing for a wedding and reception which your hubby might be feeling awkward do after this years.
      Imo,if you just want marriage blessing please tell him so that both of you can discuss it with a priest and arrange it sharply.it is even a thing of Joy for the priest that you decided to bless your marriage in church.if that parish seems difficult check another one or look for any catholic church inside barracks.those ones no dey follow protocols

4. I dunno if all these unecessary pressure for catholic wedding is a direct entry to heaven or it makes d marriage very sweet.....or u dey miss wedding pishure.....😁

5. uka agba umu uwa ala.
    oyibo people really played us big time anyi wee hapu omenala mebezia omenaenu.

our tradition is traditionally marriage (igbankwu) but we prefer white man tradition (white wedding) to our own.

Poster una go dey alright Las las

1. Chike I na ekwuzi ka o na iburo onye igbo, our people carry wedding for head like Afro oh 🤣
      That is how they kept disturbing my husband and I till we did ours(my husband is from Anglican) they will tell you that you are not completely married without church wedding.. Hmmm Even Pentecostals have joined in this too.

2. Hian!
      Chike!! Baptismal card??!!
      🤷‍♀️🤷‍♀️🤷‍♀️🤷‍♀️🤷‍♀️

6. Make i read comment cos i am not understanding

7. Your husband should go to the parish he was baptized, meet the catechist there, explain your situation. There's a ledger containing the data of those that were baptized there from the inception of the parish. If his is found, the catechist will issue a new baptismal card to him. That is if your hubby really wants to get it. You can also meet your present parish priest and explain the situation, they might find a way to do it too.

The card is needed cos marriage, just like first holy communion and confirmation are one of the 7 sacraments of the church, there has to be an evidence that he was baptized and confirmed before he is wedded. That is why if ur spouse is from another denomination, before the wedding is held, you must first of all be baptized and confirmed.

I think your hubby just doesn't want to do church wedding, the "sharking" feeling is no more there. I hope he is not planning to marry another wife though.

1. NOT HAVING A BAPTISMAL CARD ISNT AN ISSUE, IF HE CANT GO TO THE CHURCH WHERE HE WAS INITIALLY BAPTIZED, D PARISH PRIEST CAN ISSUE HIM A NEW ONE. MEN GENERALLY JUST GET RELUCTANAT AFTER THE WIFE STARTS LIVING WITH THEM, IT WLL ONLY TAKE A DISCIPLINED MAN AND THE GRACE OF GOD FOR A WHITE WEDDING TO HOLD AFTER CO-HABITATION...JUDYKAY

2. Mhiz A, you are on point. The poster does not even need to do a big church wedding. They can fix a date with the priest and do a chapel wedding. Go home and continue with their marriage. No extra drama.

3. You have said it all. Theres no big deal in getting a new baptisimal card.

4. Mhiz A, you are so apt with your comment. Poster, this is it.

5. Plus ur hubby can have conditional baptism, my hubby jx did DT n we had our church wedding.
      Mine was jx a year of wait n I know DT feeling, ppl will talk indirectly DT u will be asking if u had not been married traditionally.
      Jx be patient n firm, above all keep praying, it works

6. Madam poster, take mhiz A advice.

You didn't need to bring this issue here because your parish priest office is d solution ground.

Official prestige

8. Mhiz A is so right. My baptismal card disappeared and I got a new one from my parish, where I was baptized. Couldn’t find records for communion and confirmation but the catholic wedding still held.
    A true catholic would not feel right with that communion so the poster is right in being uncomfortable

9. Catholic Church do keep records of people whom are baptized. If he knows the year, and his sponsor is still alive,there should be no problem. Those saying church wedding na white man tradition, make una clap for una selves...you people think your marriages would stand firm without God involved in it abi??

1. So if its not done inside a church, God isnt involved right? Very rubbish talk

2. Rubbish talk for real..Imagine what is coming out of your gutter mouth

3. Lmao. Wacky thinking. Last I checked, Jesus turned water to wine in a traditional marriage. Not a synagogue or church wedding. Be deceiving your self. Thr most important thing is the traditional marriage followed by court wedding. Church marriage isn't supposed to be happening sef. It's supposed to be just blessing of the already married couple. But then, Africans want to copy it all

4. Lol, u never see man wey pray with his wife finish then go bang sidechic later? Lol....

10. Before our marriage class my husband's card got missing, we had to call a relative from the village to meet the catechist of his parish where he was baptised. All they asked was the year he was baptised and a new card was issued with just #100.

11. My dear sometimes people need a little push. All I hear is my husband this, my husband that. Are you scared of the Reverend Father? Why not go ask him yourself, make all necessary enquiry and if possible arrangements and tell your husband how far you have gone. Trust me he will be prompted.

Sometimes you need to take matters into your own hands and please if you guys are not buoyant just opt for 6 o'clock mass wedding, take a studio photo with your wedding gown and move on with life.

12. Yes we are Catholics and we so love our faith. Go back to the parish he baptised and get things sorted out. This is not a big deal. And yes matrimony is a sacrament and not just an obligation. Please if you 're non Catholic abeg stick to your lane, we Catholics ain't complaining

13. It is not an Isue. But if he go to that particular church he did it they can trace the card for him

14. Perhaps your husband doesn't want to be legally tied to you? Are you sure he hasn't been married to someone before, or maybe even be still legally married to someone else? Before your wedding, marriage banns would need to be posted for 3 weeks, and maybe that is what he is afraid of...getting exposed!

1. Can u people not stay without thinking Evil? Married before ko, married before ni.

2. lol @ afraid of getting exposed!! Clap for yourself, detective Anyamakaranya

15. We Catholics take our faith seriously unlike the rest of you who don't have any base or foundation of Christianity. Living with your spouse without sacramental marriage is a sin and mind you Jesus raised marriage from being just a traditional thing to a spiritual one. When he said that from the Beginning God made them male and female and so a man leaves father and mother to be joined to his wife and the two become one flesh. What God has joined together let no man divide. Only God's joining is above your tradition, your parent's consent and even the couple's. The joining is done either in a Church a place agreed upon with a validly ordain priest who represents God and His Church as witness.

The institution of the Church is greater than your tradition or culture. When we become Christians we are people of the Christian culture and every other culture falls under the Christian faith.

1. Na wa ooo. Chai! Hapu dis wan

16. What do you mean by "we Catholics take our faith seriously unlike the rest of you",why not make your point than drag others into it or try to sound holier than thou

17. If you read the Bible, there is no place from Genesis to Revelation where marriages were conducted in the synagogue or church.
    Nothing is wrong with that but once the man has paid your bride price, you are married.

Study the scriptures.

18. You can get the baptismal card from the church you did your baptism. That's so simple.... Ha

19. Travel overseas and get married. Please the need Catholics

20. He should go to the Parish where he was baptised and they will issue him a new one. Once he tells them the year or within the period of time it took place for example, he got baptised between the years 2005-2010 but he can't remember the exact year, they will search within that period and give him a new one. The catholic church does not joke with records. Go to the Parish u were baptised and it will be solved. You can even send someone if u can't go yourself.

21. I am a Catholic Priest, and I say with that authority that even though you are not married in the Church, that priest had no right to deny your child a Baptism. I humbly apologise on behalf of the Catholic Church.
    To the case at hand:
    A Catholic needs a Catholic wedding to be able to receive the full benefits of all the sacraments of the Church. I applaud you for desiring to receive the Holy Eucharist, which I believe is your motive for asking on the blog for advice.
    Ask your husband for the name of his Church of Baptism, and the duration. They will find it for you in their records and issue you a copy of it(Canon 877).If it is a case of doubt whether he was baptized or not, the priest can confer Conditional Baptism. It should not be a hindrance at all(Canon 869). Your man is just dragging his feet, as his reluctance to even choose a date indicates.
    So, get the information, seek and get a copy of his Baptism card, and insist on getting a baptism for your baby. If they refuse to baptize your child, tell Stella to contact me on IHN so I would arrange it for you wherever you are in Nigeria, in a Catholic Church, and properly recorded.
    Weapon: Threaten to report whomever tries to force you to celebrate a sacrament, or to deny your child Baptism with a comprehensive report to the Bishop. The Canon Law is in your favour on this note. (Canon 844 Communicatio in sacris)(Canon 1057 No force internal or external).

1. Wawu, a priest BV. I rove our BVs, the best and well informed and they like katakata...kiki kikikikiki

2. Thanks father. The man simply is not ready for the church wedding considering how sacred the Catholic churchs marital rites is. After 9years he feels what's the point. As for the refusal to baptised, this is a common practice in the East.

22. This is it. Well-done Fr. Well spoken.

23. I am catholic. How is baptismal card an impediment to getting married pls? You won't educate yourself about your faith but you'll come on a blog and post misinformed opinions that lead others to bash the church. Your husband is not interested in solemnizing your marriage that's all.