Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Banker Tales....

Banker Tales to Entertain and Enlighten you.....

Let's call this one ''One Chance''

So this colleague; my friend and colleague actually, came up to me saying many banks were recruiting tellers and she has connections that will get us better jobs. She got my attention; I have been on this job for over a year now and my elders who have worked as tellers for the past nine years were still fighting over TYS and happy weekend tips from customers. This means anything to get out of here to an even slightly better place would be refreshing already. So I was interested in this offer. 

She smiled, my interest brought out that beautiful smile, so I showed even more interest. She cut my joy short when she said it would cost 120k. Hain! 

That’s more than two months’ salary. I am no more interested. How can I pay 120k for a job of how much? She said ‘na full staff work, no be contract’. My face lit up again, this isn’t bad after all, how far? Details please! 

Without hesitation she gave me the number of one Mr who has the connections. I called him, he confirmed what my friend said, gave me his account details and was really in a hurry to get down payment. 

Let me explain something about Tellering; I am aware for most banks, Tellers are not allowed to keep their phones with them for obvious reasons. So we resume work at 7am in the morning and submit our phones to our supervisors, the phones are vaulted in and we only get them back when we are closed to customers, balanced our till and vaulted in our cash and working tools for the day; this means you get your phone on your way back home. If you get lucky and have network in your vault, you might see your missed calls and text messages when you close. What this means is even if you have applied and you are qualified, prospective employers might never be able to reach you. If you are in a slow unindustrialized town like mine, your chances of even switching jobs is almost nonexistent. 

So a chance like what my friend just introduced me to would be really something if it works out and these people sounded serious though the deals were hushed.

Bros said I need to pay at least 50k, I explained that’s all my salary and I need to survive on something; I pleaded and he agreed that instalments of 20k be paid at every stage of the examination and interview. He promised that interview and aptitude test would be for formalities and since I would be a special candidate i must pass every stage irrespective.

Okay, I got account details and wired 20k sharperly because Mr said he needed to put my name on that ‘one customer bank list’, He promised that before that week runs out, I’d get an invite for aptitude test. The week ran out and no text. 

He called me; these calls were either weekend or at night when I got home, he knew my timing so I was impressed when he kept calling to keep me abreast of situation of things. This went on for months until I got pissed and he told me the truth. He didn’t have connections to racquet full staff position with any bank, he only had connections with the outsourcing firm I work with, I was already their staff and would not be disengaged to be re-employed…….whatever that meant.

I was upset, I asked for my money and he said he would refund, a few months rolled by and Mr wasn’t forthcoming with my money. My younger sis graduated, I transferred my down payment to her since I wasn’t getting any refund. In less than a month, my sister was sent guarantors forms, bio data form, and all other forms even oath of secrecy. She was already doing documentation. I got guarantors for her and made sure she got all her forms completed and submitted on time.

Once she was done with documentation, Mr called for the next deposit, I told him she had to be posted to a bank first, if she goes through training and gets posted, I’d be willing to pay the remaining 100k at once. This infuriated him and for some reason dropped my sister from whatever list he claimed he put her name. 

I got a shocker when one of my sisters’ guarantors was called that she had gotten a job, unfortunately for them, this was my very close friend, he called to confirm from me, I asked him to please investigate by probing them properly especially since my sister was still unemployed. We later found out they were using him as guarantor for someone else, someone he doesn’t even know.

I found the Mr wife and reported to her, she said it was me who refused to cooperate and she was willing to pay me half my deposit back. After over two years, I collected 10k back from them and realized over 80percent of my fellow tellers paid 120k to get the job and they did it through the same guy.

No wonder I didn’t get called back during my own time even after impressing them so much at each stage; my employment was a favor owed so I can’t complain. 

Now I look at these Tellers with side eyes wondering if they display so much attitude because they paid for the job and can still pay for another one if they get sacked. 

How did you get your job with these outsourcing firm? No lies, just spill in anon mode.

17 comments:

1. This country is just messed up on all sides, yes, that's all I can deduce from that write up.

2. Na wah oh!

3. I didn't pay a dime to get employed in the bank i work presently. I submitted my CV at the outsourcing firm, few days later was called for an interview by a well known bank, a week after that, got a text message that i was successful at the first interview and invited for a second interview. I went for the interview and then 8 days after the interview i got a text saying i passed and should start work almost immediately. I had no long legs, no money for bribe and didn't sleep around either to get the job. Infact i had just God, to think i was employed a month after i passed out from NYSC.

1. And the outsourcing firm didnt charge you??? Whats thr name of the firm please

4. Hian!!! Banking job isssa roller coaster.. I just look at all these bank marketers with side eyes whenever they come to my office feeling like they're the next best thing after roasted yam.. All the gra-gra ontop contract job..

5. I didn't really understand somethings here.
    Pls link me up with this outsourcing firm please

1. No way no pure 😂 what don't you understand that needs a link to the outsourcing firm to be understood ?

6. I know someone who paid 500k to get an offshore job.so after all the expenses to become a graduate,one still needs to buy a job.it is a pity

7. My dear no genuine outsource company charges before the job is being offered. What they do is to give you an aptitute test to write if you scale through their questions, then you will be asked to come for oral interview where you will face some panel of judges. If you pass the interview and they found you knowledgeable enough to handle the job then documentation follows immediately with job offer.

Do not pay for anything without the job they are fake...so many here in Lagos.

8. Paying to get a job in Nigeria so how much is the staff salary kwaa, chaii this country is messed up big time..kaii lord jesus hear the cry of the people searching for jobs infact provide a good paying job..

9. I am confused about an outsourcing company that wants to help me secure a job. They said they will take my first salary, I didn't go ahead with them

1. Those ones are agents not outsourcing firm. A genuine outsourcing firm will never ask you for money before or after employment becos they get paid by the company that contracted them for the job. Shine your eyes to avoid stories that touch!!!

2. Not true, not all clients agree to foot the bill.. some take 10% taking full pau is inhumane.

3. Not true, not all clients agree to foot the bill.. some take 10% taking full pau is inhumane.

10. contract jobs abound in most countries even the US, but Nigerian own na to use people die. i worked as a contract staff for 8yrs when God smiled on me and i got a permanent job elsewhere. contract staff for bank is a NO NO . just do it and find an alternative. na slavery work

11. Please poster and other bankers here, i will appreciate if you list the names of the outsourcing companies you people know. Your sister want to switch from marketing to operation. Really tired of marketing.