Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actor Aremu Afoloyan Says He Was Born Into Poverty...

Sunday, April 15, 2018

Actor Aremu Afoloyan Says He Was Born Into Poverty...

Nollywood actor, Aremu Afolayan is one of the sons of the late popular filmmaker, Adeyemi Afolayan fondly referred to as Ade Love, his other brothers also in the movie industry are Kunle and Gabriel Afolayan.

Aremu Afolayan in a chat with Saturday Beats disclosed that he was born poor in a wooden makeshift house popularly known as face-me-I-face-you and had to join his mother daily to sell pepper soup after school.
He said, “I was born poor but I don’t know if my other brothers would say otherwise but I know that I was born poor in a makeshift wooden face-me-I-face-you house in a very poor area.

Rich people never affiliated themselves with us or allowed their children to play with us. In fact, we did not see them because there were no rich people in the area I grew up, everyone was poor. There was no life for me basically while I was growing up. I got to know where the airport is in 2006. That was the year I would say I started to enjoy life a bit. I did not know anything about how to enjoy life while I was growing up and there was no one to enlighten me. That is why I never took school seriously because I had to sell pepper soup for my mother. We would go to her shop by 3:30 pm when I returned from school. Then, we would get home at about 5 pm. This happened all through my formative years, it happened from 1991 till 2002.

“My mother later had to retire from that business and I got all the freedom I had been hoping for in my life. No matter how high my hopes were, I could not just leave my mother alone to fend for herself because I am her last born. I eventually became a model in 2002. After the modeling, I went into the film industry. As a model, I got some jobs but I was always nervous in the midst of the new friends I made, no thanks to my background as a poor boy.

I did not grow up going to clubs, smoking or drinking alcohol. I was not exposed to that ‘hip-hop’ life because my background modified my life and made me who I am today. If I was exposed to that lifestyle maybe I would have been dead by now because I may have had a very flamboyant lifestyle and I would be a night crawler. When I began my acting career, I tried to see if people would appreciate my talent but they were biased towards me despite my family name. No one tried to help me until I met Bob Manuel one day, he gave me a ‘waka pass’ role and like they say, the rest is history. No one, not even my brother helped me to get to where I am today. I worked hard myself,” he said.

When asked why his famous father whom many believed was wealthy could not help out, he simply said, “People assume a lot in Nigeria. My father was never a rich man; he only made money but never had money. Whenever he made money, he spent it almost immediately. He was supposed to have money but he did not because he did not have investments. 

He did not leave anything for me to live on but he made me work and earn a living for myself. If he had left something, maybe I would have grown better than this but it has taught me that I would not do the same for my children. My father was only famous but he was never wealthy,” he said.

Punch

21 comments:

1. Heya
    Are they from different mothers?
    I use to think Aremu and kunle are from same mother
    Then Gabriel another.
    There is moji afolayan too
    I like them though,even if their dad left nothing
    He left his name and they are all doing well

1. Himself and Kunle are from the same mum while Gabriel and Moji are from same mum too. Their father married many wives.

2. If there is no story,there won't be an event..it's all about trial and error which will lead to discovery.

Ispeak to everyone's life,,,that event that will happen in ur life this minute,this hour,this day,this month,this year,,that will make you important in ur family,among ur friends will surely come to past

Mc pinky

3. All these people and their grass to grace talk all the time then later someone will burst him. Take am easy abeg

4. At least he left a good name.

5. no be Yoruba men? they give women belle up and down. at least Hausa men marry many wives and give them belle. but Yoruba men will just be knacking without condom and leave the women to fed for themselves

1. Tuface, Flavour, klint d drunk, etc are Yoruba men? You are high on something.

2. Gbam!!! I fear who no fear Yoruba men.

3. Blame the knackees as I blame the knackers and no be only Yoruba men dey do that u hear

4. Flatinos don come again.i guess Charles billion is Yoruba too.awon oloshi dede

6. Eyah. Same thing applies to some celebrities we have today. We see them 'shinning' on social media and assume they have money

7. Interesting story. The important thing is that you are somebody today, You earned it and thats commendable

8. A good man leaves an inheritance for his children. Some men leave multiple baby mamas, with resulting neglect of children, discord, division, jealousy abuse and brokenness.

9. At least their father left them with a good name

10. men and their randy ways...fuck all their lives and just leave children and problems behind