Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: U.N Urges Nigeria To Legalise 'Igbo' For Medical Usage

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

U.N Urges Nigeria To Legalise 'Igbo' For Medical Usage

The United Nations has said it has approved the use of Indian hemp for medical purposes, urging Nigeria to relax laws restricting usage to allow its prescription for Nigerians.

The Project Officer, United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime in Nigeria, Harsheth Kaur Virk, stated this in her presentation at a one-day public hearing on the rising abuse of pharmaceutical drugs among youths in Nigeria. According to Virk, cannabis is a miracle drug allowed for medical purposes by the UN. She, however, stated that it was not for recreational purposes.

She said, “Nigeria, as a sovereign nation, has its stringent laws against it; but international conventions of the UN have approved it for medical purposes, based on the outcome of researches conducted to that effect by globally recognised institutes. Virk added that apart from cannabis, users of other addictive drugs for recreational purposes, as approved by the UN, should not be criminalised but rehabilitated. The Drugs and Crime Office of the UN sees addictive drug users as people who are sick, in need of treatment, care and rehabilitation." The UN official however pointed out that the global body was against drug trafficking. She charged Nigeria’s security agencies to be proactive in their anti-drug trafficking campaign and not reactive.

In his presentation, the Director, Technical Services, National Drug Law Enforcement Agency, Mr. Femi Oloruntoba, however stated that drug traffickers and possessors were the ones being criminalised, and not drug users in Nigeria.

From punch

22 comments:

1. So they want everyone to start taking it because it is medicinal.

Anyway goodluck to anyone who will take it.

1. if everyone starts taking it and so? Its way more harmful than cigarattes, no death has ever been recorded as a result of weed... highest na highness, you eat, fuck and sleep.

2. No it's not harmful than tobacco.
      Tobacco is worse.
      Cannabis for healing..is used in d oil form mostly n practiced in most TCM..traditional chinese medicine..just like how pple resort to herbs for treatment.

3. Wat does it cure? Hiv,cough,lung disease?

4. Its relieves you from headaches, cures glaucoma, it increases your appetite and yes, it's anticancerous...

5. U mean I shd give my 85yrs old father Igbo for his Glaucoma??haaaa

2. Nigeria has not legalized it and we have people destroying their lives. What will happen when it becomes legalized?

1. Alcohol is legal and people still destroy their lives with it. It is far, far, better than alcohol. You don't have to smoke weed; you can use it as tea, in cooking, in baking, etc.

Most Nigerians consume it anyway. Legalisation is the way forward IMO.

3. Emhmmmm, so they can import it and make money out if us again? Mba!! Ain’t happening here.

1. Anybody who intends to import weed is not ready to make money unless. It is extremely easy to cultivate right here. Do you know how many weed farms NDLEA destroys regularly. It was expensive earlier this year, now the price is down again.

4. We are not ready for it please, we’ve not gotten out basic health right na marijuana remain hiss they should face their front biko

5. This is a great move.
    The herbs can cure alot of ailments and cancers.
    But nigerians only see d negative aspect not knowing it can save pple d cost of losing someone.
    I agree for it to be legalised.
    Mind u..for using it as a treatment..u need to consume d oil n not smoking d leaves like pple think.. cannabis

1. Naim be say nobody for die from cancer again.

2. Not exactly, but will reduce its probability of occurring

6. Nice move!...I do use CBD oil( food supplement) for acne when ever it appears.And very effective on joint pain too.
    It comes in drops!.

7. I see smoke everywhere, ichagokwa anya bia nwanne ise go kwa ife