Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: They Are NOT Reading Anymore...

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

They Are NOT Reading Anymore...

You must be wondering what this post is about right?

The management of the University of Ibadan has said that it will expel about 328 students for what it called ‘shameful academic results’ in the recently concluded 2016/2017 academic session.

Vice Chancellor of the institution, Professor Idowu Olayinka, in a statement on Wednesday, however, blamed the situation on the absence of Post-Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination test before the affected students and others in their set were admitted.

Olayinka said that the university compiled the list of the affected students following the “meeting of the University Senate held on March 19 and 20 to deliberate on the 2016/2017 academic results of the final year and non-final year students.” The affected students did not meet up with the minimum condition approved by the university senate.

Olayinka then expressed optimism for a better academic performance since the new intakes for the 2017/2018 session were those who sat for and passed the Post-UTME test.

From Daily Post

21 comments:

1. But they admitted them in the first place; didn't they?
    Lecturer's quota
    VC's quota
    Governor's quota
    Oba's quota
    Catchment quota
    federal character quota . . .

You see someone with seven distinctions and UME score of 270 not admitted to medicine but someone with 180 and awaiting result in English is in medical school, Law faculty etc. All because the parents are "politrical"

Shame be on all Universities in Nigeria.
    Shame on all politrictians
    Shame on all puppet VC'S
    Shame on all of you you and you!

1. I follo you. Shame shame shaaaammmeeee!🙊

2. I wish there was a like button for this comment. Aptly put! 👏

3. So much sense

4. Exactly what is happening

2. This na the beginning of Social media onslaught on Nigerian education wey dey comatose since.
    You go ask exam question, students go write sote them go they write;
    SMH, LOL, LWKMD, ur, gr8, 143 . . .

Make una dey live for SOCIAL MEDIA una hear?

3. Book hard and e no hard at the same time

4. Hmmmmmm. This is serious. A country who joke with its educational system jokes with the future.

5. This comment has been removed by the author.

6. This is a norm at the university of Ilorin. They call it face tanke. First year students are expelled if they fail to meet the crossing GCPA to the second year.

1. Even in Unical. CGPA less than a certain unit won't cross to 200L. But in this case you're advised to repeat the year.

7. It happens in the university of Ilorin

8. facebook and twitter go allow them read?

9. Are they blaming them?
    How can they read when even after studying hard, the ones that didn't study gets the good grades while the ones that studied gets the poor grades. Lecturers get to either sleep with you to give you a good grade or they ask you to pay a certain amount of money whatever!

10. They are no more reading, they're browsing lol.

11. Who expel epp

12. Honestly, students are no longer reading. During exams, they stay glued to the internet. Even the ones in secondary school don't read, they'd rather play games. Wahala dey o

13. If I begin Nigerian university matter ehe, una go tire,

14. Why won't they fail when admission na by who you know rather than what you know. I remember writing putme twice in Unizik but no admission. While those who had money or who knew people there made their way into the list. Pitiful