Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: MMM Founder Sergey Mavrodi Reportedly Dies Of Heart Attack..

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

MMM Founder Sergey Mavrodi Reportedly Dies Of Heart Attack..

Russian businessman Sergei Mavrodi, whose MMM pyramid scheme deprived millions of Russians of their savings in the 1990s, has died of a heart attack, according to Russia media.

Reports said the 62-year-old was rushed to the hospital late on March 25 with pain in his chest and died several hours later.

Mavrodi's MMM financial pyramid was a typical Ponzi scheme in which earlier investors receive their profits from subsequent investors. Mavrodi promised returns of 20 percent to 75 percent a month, as well as lotteries and bonuses for investors.

As soon as the number of new clients stopped growing, the pyramid collapsed, causing huge financial losses for at least 10 million people, in some cases leaving them destitute.

In 1994, Mavrodi was elected as a lawmaker, a decision he later said was to ensure he received immunity from prosecution. In 1996, he lost his parliamentary mandate.

In 2007, a Moscow court found him guilty of financial fraud and sentenced him to 4 1/2 years in a penal colony.

In 2011, Mavrodi launched another pyramid scheme called MMM-2011, calling on investors to purchase so-called Mavro currency units in a bid to get rid of the "unfair" financial system. Some 15 months later, Mavrodi halted the project.

From 2011-16, Mavrodi launched Ponzi schemes under the MMM brand in India, China, South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Nigeria.

In many of those countries, Mavrodi's operations were subsequently shut down or suspended.

*Based on reporting by Moskovsky Komsomolets and RBK

From Radio Free Europe/ Radio Liberty

27 comments:

1. Nigerians prayers has answered

1. U dont mess with Nigerians....btw rip

2. Oya make them pray for Buhari to die na, yimu...

3. which yeye prayers?wish prayers of crazy Nigerians are answered,PMB should be dead by now,he died of natural cause,stop been ignorant

2. All the prayer of people wey loose millions. ...chai!!!

3. Ati gbe baba rele, ati gbe baba rele, ati gbe eeee, ati gbeee baba rele. Awon angel yo yi ka, awon angel yo yi ka, awon aaaaa, awon angel yo yi ka.

4. Scam.. I need to see his dead body and I want to know where he was buried or where they want to cremate him...This MMM man is a big scam...Over to you Fan Emmanuel..lol

1. hahahaha go to Russia. Last I know they did not put gun on people's head not to go there. I am sure you dont have international passport. Oya over to you Fan Emmanuel

5. why wont he die of heart attack?!! The heart attack he has given ppl around the world, no be small...
    That christmas was hell, most ppl locked their doors and cried, cried their hearts out cus they wouldnt want to be shamed n insulted, my neighbour kicked out his wife then for using the kids school fees for the ponzi, it was hell, me sef lose amount in 6 figures, never in my life have i watched my money disappear right b4 my eyes, gone in a second, like fart in the wind. God help us all to recogniz scam & not be greedy.

1. Eayah sorry oooo. Ojukokoro is not good ooo. This is same thing as Baba Ijebu

2. All those that will go to Russian for the world cup, you guys should help us check ooo. I dont trust this MMM man. Hope he did not fake his death. Oyibo people can do anything especially Russian

6. If this is true then it was highly anticipated. You can't defraud and scam people of their life savings in the name of ponzi and expect not to die a painful death. You will die of not just heart attack, but a death so painful and you will also face God's panel when you get to him. What goes around comes around and it will only take time, but you'll surely receive the results/punishment of all the evil you do in full measure, pressed down and shaken together

I'm outtie

7. I hope the man is dead for real. Hope he didn't fake his death and changed his identity.... Hmmmm

8. 'Jest' passing, as my Ghanaian counterpart says

9. The tears of those who lost money in MMM scheme did not go in vain. I am not rejoicing over someone else’s death but this Man was heartless that is why his heart sef decided to leave him.

10. hahahahaha na wa. Fan Emmanuel, God has answered una prayers oooo. So where are all the monies this guy collected?

That Nigerian guy that did wedding sometimes ago, you are next if you dont return people's monies.

I am sure it is African people that killed him. Nigeria, South Africa, Zimbabwe etc

11. I know most people would be very happy with this news but it still won't bring their money back. He was an evil man sha. I'm sure by now he has been judged accordingly.

12. Hmmmm, God forgive me but I say it's a befitting way to die for him.

13. Is he really dead? Or he has changed identity to scam people further. I don't trust these people.

14. He never forced anybody to invest their money in the so called scam though...

It seems I'm the only person that benefited from this MMM sha, after collecting my money the first time, I waved them Bye Bye

1. MMM paid off my cousins mortgage, bought him a car, I also got something but not as much as him.

2. Some people were lucky. The first set of people that were lucky were the ones calling on other mugus to join

15. How come none of the lucky ones is saying anything?
    I'm sure most of the people that are shouting upandan did not even invest anything