Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mama Tee Series -Fake Currency Brouhaha

Friday, March 23, 2018

Mama Tee Series -Fake Currency Brouhaha

I had an embarrassing experience with fake currency sometime last week.

I had bought some groceries in a store, gave the sales girl some #1000 notes and a #500 note. After counting the money, she examined them one after the other and then called on another staff, a guy to come check something. She handed him the #500 note. The guy checked it and asked me to change it that it was a counterfeit.

I was speechless. I collected it from him and gave him another one. I then asked how he knew so I would not fall victim again as someone gave it to me as change. This guy flared up. He said:

"you want begin pretend like say you no know abi? Shey na because I no slap you and call police for you, if you no disappear from here now, na for inside cell you go sleep today"

By now two customers had joined me at the payment point. They looked at me and asked him what the problem was. By now I had started walking out, the guy said they should stop me and ask me to explain what happened and that I was a criminal.

I felt their eyes on my back as I exited the store. Tears welled up in my eyes. I felt so sad, it was a very long time ago that I got embarrassed that way.

I tried to figure out how I got the fake #500 note but couldn't pin it on anyone as I had done some shopping in about three other stores before, also, a woman that was owing me paid that morning in #500 notes.

So I licked my wounds and prayed they apprehend those behind it.

Pls bvs endeavour to examine any #500 and #1000 note you collect from anyone very well. I heard the counterfeit of these two are many out there.

Mama Tee

*You should have gone to the woman who paid you in 500 notes and accused  her nau.no be Lagos you dey?..
Your exiting quickly made you look guilty..

52 comments:

1. Thank God they naughty boy did not slap you. I wonder how you would have felt if being slapped.

Stella, you say make she go with the woman. What if the woman deny. Many people are ready to deny even their mothers on these things.

Anyway i have never fallen victim on this and dont think will fall

1. It has happened to me o.
      I went to and access bank AtM point to make withdrawals cos i needed to deposit some cash in the same bank. After withdrawing the money, i went into the banking hall. When it got to my turn, the cashier counted and re counted the money. She kept examining each note one after the other to the extent that other customers on the queue starting murmuring loudly. At a point, i asked her if there was a problem but madam no answer me.
      She put a call across to her MD who instructed the security guy to take me one corner of the banking hall. To say that i was embarrassed, was an understatement. You need to see how this security guy roughly dragged me as if i was a criminal.
      The kind of stares i got from onlookers was second to know. When i eventually met with the MD, he said i brought fake notes to the bank and that it is a punishable offence bla bla bla, how he will call the police for me,etc.
      At that point, my dada scatter. I asked him which fake currency? the one i withdrew from your atm point or another one?He was shocked cos he wasn't expecting such reaction from me. See me shouting and asking him,"which fake currency? The one from your atm or another one? Oga was seriously threatening me that i should start confessing. I was shouting on top of my voice that he should play the cctv camera. By then, everyone was watching and waiting for the outcome. Some customers even joined by saying,"play the cctv camera na make we know who dey talk true"He ordered one of his workers to go and play the cctv. When that one came back, he went and whispered to him that i actually used their ATM.
      The next thing was, "Madam calm down. This is not a serious case". I said ,"calm down for what? after accusing me wrongly.He started apologizing and even blamed the cashier for not handling the issue properly. You need to see the way people were raining abuses on them. That that was how they would have arrested an innocent lady.I just deposited the money and left.

2. OMG. I thank God for you. If it is in the abroadian lol, you would have sued them for emotional blackmail abi na wetin dem dey call her emotional harrassment

3. Jeez, just imagine that......Thank God you were not intimidated and outspoken enough to face them. We all just need to be extra careful now with all these fake currency circulating around.

4. at that point my dada scatter..... ahhhh, i don laugh tire.

5. Bank ATM vomiting fake notes?
      How did it get there?
      Chai! Nigeria have spoiled

6. Ooooh! You would have sued. You would have just told them that they should wait, that you're trying to contact your lawyer so this matter can be settled 'amicably'. Cos you're shocked and distressed and can't continue any transcation right now.

7. Sue them when she doesn't have a lawyer? Abeg, talk another thing jare.
      Corrupt country

2. that was a really nasty and the guy is a fool. Why reply you in such a manner? My mum has s small shop and things like this pop up once in a while. all l do is return it or hold on to it and get a replacement then destroy it. Why such embarrassment? that was so wrong.

3. You shouldn't have exited quickly..That's a guilty move there

1. I don't even understand this write up. I thought she would write "this happened a long time ago when I was a kid". Why the tears and walking out? On top store boy. Hah

2. People are different in handling issues, some get very emotional and while others might stand their ground. I guess she though of the fact that on a normal day the store boy cannot look into her eyes not to talk of vomiting such nonsense, but the situation she saw herself brought such insult.

3. Yellow sisi is correct
      Some people don't like confrontation especially in such an embarrassing case like this. You know she said she didn't remember who gave her the fake money. If peoole gather, how will she Xplain how she got the money? Worst case scenario is if police men are close by. Those ones that are always looking for who to extort.

4. Hmmmmm...Na wah ohh. Felt bad reading this.
    I was thinking maybe it's just a false alarm and that the people would have checked and know it wasn't counterfeit.

Why would he slap you when you gave him another one. Some people sef just dey craze anyhow, don't he know you too might just be a victim without knowing it?

I never see that bastard wen go slap me cos I unknowingly give him counterfeit money. Then na who I go go slap?

1. Stainless do you know some people go to jail for being in possession of fake currency? It's worse if you don't know where you go it from. I hav witnessed where someone was beaten by some for spending fake money and quarrelling with the store owner. They called in the police who questioned him where he got it from and he could not mention it, he was taken away

2. Stainless, e be like say you like police case well well. She got fipght abi? Na police cell dem for forget Mama Tee.

5. I sell fake naira notes to business men, they mix it to original one when they want to go buy goods. Also I sell to fake prophet and babalawo who use it to decieve those that want to do money ritual. My contacts who produce it are in Lagos Island. They produce fakes dollars too. Don't blame me, man must survive in this harsh economy

1. So you dont have an ID. wayo liar

2. I hear they produce all sorts in that Lagos Island. Fake school certificates and other certificate, fake Visa, fake drivers license, fake everything

3. Princess Love me jeje, what do you need his blog id for? You want to contact him for some fake notes? Lols

4. Priase No jare. Wants to know how true the story is. You know some anonymous can lie for africa

5. Heiress Fitables you are very correct.

@Yori
      Of what use is my blog id here? Do peeps not lie with their blog ids? You, Yori, can you swear that you have not lied on this blog with your blog id several times?
      Like bv Praise said, If you need some fake currencies, be it naira or dollar, let me know and I will contact you.

6. Gerraout of here Lai Muhammeds bro, Atleast we have given you few minutes of attention for this your big lie.
      Oniraanu eda 😏 😏 😏

6. You should have dropped their grocery and collected back your money! Why would the sales boy talk to you like that? After paying several 1000 naira notes and just one 500 naira counterfeit and he never thought you could be innocent? This your story vex me. He must be very stupid. Nigeria and zero customer relations. Even if the customer is guilty of such, he/she shouldn't be treated like that. There is a way to address such. What nonsense?

1. Honestly... Very stupid person

2. I tire Oh! Slap again? Nigerians don't know customer service joor..Abeggy

7. I once witnessed this fake currency brouhaha in idumota
    I went shopping for my engagement lace and shoe
    I met a woman at the shop pricing Swiss lace, 5yards cost at least 50k, this woman didn't even price it. She said they should bring 20yards and paid #200,000.
    After 15minute of the customer leaving the shop was when the shop owner senses came back to crosscheck the money.

#150,000 was fake,this means the shop owner was jazzed.
    She cried Ehn and they couldn't locate the woman.
    I felt so bad for her but it was too late.

1. They are many like that ooo in this Broad Street. It is only God that will help people selling. The way jazz dey follow people waka, make i keep quiet

2. I don't carry cash Oh! Me? POS and bank transfer on-the-go. The maximum i can carry in cash to spend is 10k. For such transactions, I do bank transfer. We will wait till it goes through. Or, shop assistant follows me to ATM. This is so I know where my problems are coming from.

8. Me anytime they spend it for me in my shop, especially the #1000 I go out in the night and spend it too. I cannot come and lose.

9. Hmmm.. very embarassing situation, so how do we identify fake notes without using mercury light?

Please anybody kindly help me with steps to retrieve old comments made by me. Thank you

10. To know if a currency is fake or not, just dip it in water. The original one will maintain its features while the fake one will change into paper-like note.

1. Hahaha so one will tell the customer to wait and then start dipping the notes inside water one by one?
      Fake notes feels like paper to the touch. The security features inside the note, the one that you see when you lift it up to the light will not be there. But you will only check this one if it feels suspicious in your hand. From touching it you will know if you handle money regularly.

2. @Praise: Why were you so appalled? There are different ways of killing a chicken nahh? By mere raising the note up you can tell if it's fake or not. The inner photograph( hope you get me) will look blur. The thin line in the currency won't be there either. But for a layman or in case where large notes are involved, one can just sprinkle water on it (no harm in doing that nahh). Thank you.

11. There was a day I used the ATM machine and when I wanted to spend the cash they were fakes. I was surprised. How on earth can bank ATM dispense fake notes. I went to them the following morning and caused trouble, returned the remaining notes and they replaced them for me.

12. Maybe you don't like confrontations and avoid it. You should have stood your ground and defended yourself after the guy accused you and embarrassed you. After buying goods worth thousands, is it five hundred Naira that you will now cheat him with if you had such intention.

In my university days, I tried buying suya with a fake N500. Thought he wouldn't notice but he politely gave me back the money and collected his suya.

1. hahahahahaha onye ori ori. Ole

2. Lols @ collected back his suya

3. Lmao @ collected his Suya.
      I understand mama Tee. You know some people dont like confrontations. Embarrassing ones especially. Sorry mama Tee.

13. Please how can one identify fake. So far no one has provided the answer.
    I want to sell something at computer village and I'm afraid they will give me fake money. Also someone suggested that I tell the buyer to do transfer when I get to the shop. But there have been instances where some fraudulent people will do tranfer, you will see the credit alert on your phone, when you get to th bank, nothing in your account.
    Anyone who can advise on what to do to avoid being scammed please let me know.

Mama Tee, thanks for your series. It always makes sense.

1. If you have a banker friend, let him tell you about the mercury light that those cashier use on their table when counting money. You need it and that will help. spend money to get money if you want to succeed.

Happy business

2. It depends on what you want to sell.
      If it is something that involves a lot of cash like big phones and computers or machines, you may need a Mercury light like yori yori said. But if it does not involve too much cash, you will know by touching it while counting. The security features on the note will be different. The silver line or thread that passes through it will not have cbn written on it an it will look very flashy, the image that is inside the note when you lift it up may not be there in the cases, but if it is there, it will look distorted, it will not look normal, it will look like a drawing.
      This is for 500 and 1000 which are the most commonly faked

3. Download your internet banking app. Once the money is paid it will reflect in your bank balance even if you don't get alert.

4. Thanks for this MummyJ, I'm not the anon that asked but I benefited from this your comment.

14. I can relate to how you felt, personally i avoid confrontations,argument,because am emotional,especially when your hands are clean and it could have been avoided if u had known.

15. walking away made it look you actually gave them fake currency. Instead of you to confront him and iron it out, you cowardly exited the place. Thank your stars they didnt slap you. Be bold especially when you are right. Also, go back to the woman that paid you that morning and ask questions too. Haba, are you this soft?

1. You talk as if slapping her is right. Should the man take laws into his hands or get the authorities involved? Only in Nigeria where poeole think jungle justice (yes slapping is jungle justice!!) is right. If I am wrong, call security. Don't touch me. Cos if you do as soon as I settle the issue legally, I'm coming to retaliate. I will come with thugs and land everyone at the cash point hot slaps. Rabbesh!