Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Fun Things About Northern Nigeria

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Fun Things About Northern Nigeria

Quite a number of Nigerians have a negative perception about Nigerians from  Northern Nigeria.there are some things that they do not know about these people. ...I hope this post does not head South...

They have wonderful tourist attractions

From the Palace of the Emir of Kano to the Kano City, Kajuru Castle, the Chappal Waddi in Taraba, and Yankari Games Reserve and much more, Northern Nigeria is blessed with so many exciting tourist destinations. In fact, if you want the perfect getaway, we recommend Northern Nigeria.

Enlightened

When you see a Northern Nigerian man, he is always with his transistor radio. With this radio, he keeps up with the latest news development. Hence, if you still think the Hausa man in your neighbourhood is an information illiterate, you better shelve that thought.

Hardworking

On the streets of Lagos, it is the Hausa man that is willing to do ‘anything’ to survive as far as it is legal. They are the cobblers, they own small kiosk to complement their jobs as a security guard and are ready to do menial jobs in a bid to continue existing. In fact, they are the unofficial Bureau De Change of many Nigerians. In addition, they offer the best Kilishi and Suya.

They are not Boko Haram members

Many Hausas have been tagged Boko Haram members even though they do not have any link with the militant organization.

They are very hospitable

Northerners are naturally hospitable and friendly. They welcome you with open arms and of course, they can house and feed you for free. In fact, life in the North is very peaceful unlike what we read and hear.

33 comments:

1. The same hausa man who will house and feed you is the same who will recommend you for slaughter in a situation of unrest. They are as cruel as they are hospitable. Talking from experience

1. You are very correct,I grew up in kwdu

2. I grew up in kaduna, I tell you anon 17.08 is bang on the money.very correct,hausa's are nice and very hospital but when their crisis start,I tell you they will be the one to open your door to be slaughtered

3. no love then. i recently moved to Abuja, they are peaceful but i still prefer to stay in the South

2. With all due respect ma, this is not entirely true. I served in the north and they are far from accommodating.
    Our girls were followed around and stoned by kids with the full support of their adults on an almost daily basis just for wearing the NYSC uniform and not covering their faces like Ninjas.

1. Why won't they be stoned when your girls wear clothes made with one yard of material.y you come here and exhibit indecency. The north is known for hypothetical activities. The fact that you drink or sleep with women does not mean to should be proud about it.

2. Quick question pls, what part of the north? Didn't say you are lying o but even me who lives in an Hausa dominated area as in women with full hikab Neva experience this one o and we have many serving corp members in my place of work who go about their work unhindered. I'm in Kaduna anyway.

3. The perfect getaway in northern Nigeria; no thanks

4. Bad market

Hausas are wicked they need a reorientation especially about religion, its their greatest undoing

5. The last fact is veryyy true about dem sha but comma dey in terms of peace in northern cities these days..

6. Life in which north is peaceful, hian Pls Na yoruba man abi na igbo man be Boko Haram, Oriegwu,

7. They are very kind and honest people, they can be extremely dangerous and ridiculous when provoked too

8. Abeg go and sit somewhere. Most enlightened and hard-working my ass. The Hausas are a bunch of lazy humans whom only claim to wealth is the National treasury. Reason why they are always willing to shed blood just to remain at the helm of affairs in Nigerian government. They know nothing yet they would always occupy the choicest positions in all government organizations.
    The Hausas have the highest poverty rate. Thieves. I grew up in the North and speak Hausa so fluently but I have their way of life! Bloody perverts!!!

1. You are 100% correct. Very, very lazy people who hates to work, but wants the money. They hate strangers and don't want your business to thrive in their place. Hospitable my foot, when they are leeching on you and sell you out once there is crises. Kai these people...

9. I served in Funtua, Katsina, you dare not let ur guard down, accommodating? Naaaa, the kids will touch ur breasts n run in ur full nysc kit o while aisha will sell u out.

10. They have such a rich cultural
    Heritage too, I had to do a presentation and found out a lot about their festivals , dances , instruments even their architecture interesting

11. If Northerners are not Boko Haram members then Boko haram members are majorly from where?. Well the write up is 80% correct to me.

12. So stella should not eat again? Can't she collect money in peace and post what the person wants. She don't have to agree with the post neither do u have to. It's common sense people. Lol if after this post you carry yourself go vacation for there, no call Stella name o. You're OYO 🤣🤣🤣🤣

13. To be honest the Hausa tribe are the most accommodating tribe that never judge you so far you never do anything blasphemy their religion and they won't do it to you they are violent if only you speak blasphemy of their prophet and religion i happened to work in a company in kaduna and as a Lagos guy i have my side hustle and i rented a shop right beside my company that pays me salary and the company knew i owned the shop and they still patronise my side hustle and still pay me and i do it out of their time they are paying as a staff so they don't judge nor envy your progress

1. They never judge who? I was born in Kano then moved to Zaria, before moving to abuja, all the 29years of my life is in the north So my dear they do judge o. Go to gelesu in Kongo where they kids stone some of their students for not covering their faces, they expect you to conform to their own ways. Even Abu sef if you want a favor from a Muslim lecturer it is advicable to dress like them. People in zazzau will look at you with bad eyes, so whenever we are posted they we get scared of a riot starting there.
      Yo stayed in kaduna the janded part that's why you felt this way.
      They are very honest people though, once they add allah, just know they are telling the truth. Plus they live a modest life apart from that they can kill you even if you both have lived a 100years together

14. This post is full of extensive narrowness. Is the North made entirely of Hausa people? How many states are categorized as northern states? Yet all mentioned in this post talks about Hausa. Where are the Gwari people, Chori, Igala, Ebira, Nupe, Angas, Langtang, Kanuri, and many others in the middle belt region also classified as northern? It is the narrow mindedness that makes us conflict issues all the time. The North is the most ethnically diversed areas in the country.

1. I think people are venting specifically about the hausa people. The problem is that the hausas have so dominated the north that some of those other tribes you mention even speak hausa more than their own native language...so to southerners, they are all grouped as hausa.

2. Asides that, the north is the largest but not the most ethnically diverse. That statement should be used for southern Nigeria. Its easy to group northern Nigeria as hausas, since that's what most of them speak anyway. But you can't do the same for the south. Very different, and unique tribes populate the south.

3. We speak our languages in Benue. Tiv, Idoma,Igede,Jukun. We are unique and have a rich cultural heritage. Dont group us as hausa.
      No tribe has the same dance style as the Tivs for instance.

4. We own the sit of the Kwararafa kingdom (the Idoma's)of which many southern tribes used to belong to.
      Find out your history. King Jaja etc were under the kwararafa kingdom

15. #Every negative situation contains the possibility for something positive, an opportunity. It is how you look at it that matters*

16. We need to correct this notion SDK, not all northerners are Hausa's, we have the jukuns, tiv, kagoro etc...

17. Northerners are accomodating sha. I have this Nupe friend that went all out to make my stay in Minna worth it.

18. I for like type plenty episode but my hand dey pain ma. Bottom line is a hausa man is only good to you if you are usefull to him the day you stop being usefull that day you end up becoming useless to him.

1. Doesn't this describe any human being on the planet? You can meet people who fit this description from any tribe. The fact that many people speak Hausa doesn't make the people Hausa. After all, most Nigerians speak English. Are we English? Like English, many people in those areas learn Hausa because it is the one most people can use to communicate and it bridges that gap. Northern Nigeria is indeed very diverse. The problem lies with those who have decided that if you speak a language or look a certain way, you are from a certain place. I once met someone from Delta who heard me speak Hausa and instantly decided I was a dangerous person. Meanwhile, I learned Hausa when I served in the North. I then introduced her to her fellow Delta man who speaks Hausa fluently. I didn't say where he was from though. But I saw the look in her eyes. I told her he was from Delta too. Her village kpakpa. Still waiting for her mouth to close. It's been two years. For those saying they have seen Hausa people offer up strangers in times of trouble, the same Hausa people saved my father's life during a turmoil. There are other good stories out there, but people only want to share the bad. If you can't appreciate people for who they are, you have no business calling yourself open-minded or good. You're no different from any other person or group who kills people because they are different. Stella, if you want to do something like this again, though good-intentioned, I would advise you making this more balanced and looking deeper than the surface. Thank you for the effort.

19. I think the perception that everyone from the north is Hausa is actually false, there are other tribes being lumped up and categorised as Hausas because they are in the majority. Being from the North East, Taraba to be precise i am neither Hausa nor Fulani. We need to do more in terms of knowing our history and culture to be honest.