Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Emergency Room Series: Mental ISH

Thursday, March 29, 2018

Emergency Room Series: Mental ISH

Oh Dear!!!

In the previous post I shared a story about how a guy passed out after taking hard drugs, he's better now, but he has memory loss and blurry vision. He is now being managed by the neurological team because he has brain damage.

Anyways, to the post of the day. I would like to talk about mental illness. The way people with mental illnesses are seen and treated in this part of world is quite unfair. There is very little public awareness on mental illness, its causes and how it can be effective managed. 

Contrary to what the media portrays, mentally ill people don't strip naked and dance around in dustbins with ridiculous paintings on the body all the time. 

Mental illness is not as a result of a curse from 'gods' or a punishment for sins.

While in nursing school, psychiatry posting was an eye-opener for me. I once met this lady who thought she was a vampire of some sort. I learnt she killed and ate her baby on the naming ceremony night. Apparently she had been mentally ill and she was poorly managed. Ever since she killed the baby, she began to crave human blood and would cut herself and lick the blood. It was an obsession for her, it was called the Vampire Disease or Porphyria. She was often restricted and not allowed to touch herself or anyone, always had low nail cuts and was fed only by the nurses till she stopped hurting herself

There was a patient also who was HIV-positive and a paranoid schizophrenic. She thought that the nurses wanted to kill her so she would bite her tongue and skin and spit HIV-positive blood into the air. Although student nurses like me were not allowed to attend to her, the staff nurses had to always use a face mask, gloves and eye google when attending to her

One man even had a behavior or standing still for many hours. He would suddenly stand up from bed, raise one leg and could remain in that position for 1 to 2 hours. Even if you touch him and beg him to sit, he wouldnt act like he heard us.

Not all who are mentally ill are dullards like people think. During the psychiatry posting, we were always given a patient to sit with for that day, one man who was allocated to me taught me a lot about quantum physics, the solar system and astronomy. I think that was what he studied in the university. He spoke good English. I would listen to him even though I didn't have any idea of what he was talking about. He was very good at drawing and would always win scrabble when it was time for games.

There I also met alcohol addicts, drug addicts and prisoners who had committed murder but were mentally ill to stay in prison. We had a lot of students in the unit from various universities across the country who were admitted because of substance abuse or withdrawal symptoms. Those ones were usually s§xually abusive and would often use s§xual words when talking. We had a few student doctors who had failed MB and thought all hope was lost and became depressed, they were treated in a separate unit and only head nurses were allowed to attend to them on instructions of their VC.

I remember one young girl who always had a strange urge to shove things into her privates. Mehn, I never understood what that kind of mental illness was. She would put her spoon, toothbrush, anything really inside herself. In her casefile, it was written that her mother died at childbirth and she claimed to have been raped by all the males in her family, brothers, father, and grandfather (I'm surprised as to how that's even possible)

I think the creepiest was a man who would make snake sounds and roll his eyes most times. He didn't like getting out of bed. He would sit at the edge of the bed and place his ear on the wall and would talk and smile as if someone was speaking in the wall. He had a radio that didn't work, he usually placed it on his ear and would nod as if he was enjoying hip-hop.

I'm sharing this experience to let you know that mental illness is like a cage that terribly clouds people's freedom to live right. They are often neglected and poorly managed by family members. They are usually taken to the psychiatry unit when things are getting out of hand.

Some are not even taken to psychiatry hospitals but are thrown out to the streets where they have little or nothing to feed on and are vulnerable to all kinds of unimaginable things. 

Society has this notion that people who are mentally ill are very aggressive and wild. It is not in all cases. Depression is a mental illness, but wouldn't make you wild and aggressive, unless of course if the person is manic-depressive, in which case the person will be wild and become very sad after sometime. 

We live among people with mental illness and most people are guilty of laughing and mocking them, especially the ones on the streets. It will take many years for our society to embrace and learn to love mentally ill people, because culturally, they are seen as outcasts or cursed. 

Some of you have friends who abuse hard substances and you do nothing about it because you feel its cool to do drugs. Later when the person breaks down, you flee. 

There's a special place for people like that.

Nobody deserves to be neglected or abandoned because they are not mentally healthy. A lot of mental stress that people go through in marriages, at work, school and even as a Nigerian is enough to destabilize your mental health but its important you always find stability and happiness no matter what the situation is.

Do you know any mentally ill person around you, kindly share how they were managed.

Have a beautiful day and Happy Easter in advance everyone.

*WOW..what an eye opener...thank you and happy Easter Babe.
wait oh,so that guy has memory loss?is it temporary or permanent?Brain damage as in thats it for him?

51 comments:

1. I understand ma'am. Its my job. Its what I do. Can be scary though but the satisfaction that comes with helping these people keeps most of us. Being an African immigrant, it took a while to understand people with mental health issues. God bless us all

1. I live in Europe and work in a forensic team that work with similar issues. People who have been sectioned because they are a threat to themselves and others. Some are women who have killed their children, rapists, people who have become unstable due to abuse of hard drugs. I have come across a similar case to that girl with extreme masturbation syndrome. If proper investigation is carried out they will find she was abused perhaps not by all the people she mentioned but someone that has made her loose her grasp on reality. I’ve come across sex offenders and women addicted to sexual activities. Nigeria has a long way to go in the way it treats people with mental health issues

2. It is well with all mental cases.

Eayah it is well with the young man with drug problems

3. There is an intern where i work who is seriously addicted to drugs. We are confused on how to handle him as there is no policy regarding managing such situations. What options are out there for this young man because he may just loose his mind sooner than we imagine!

1. Can you please give the initials of his first and last name? I am looking for someone who left home and has not been seen.

2. Let him see a psychiatrist. The earlier the better for him.

4. So so pathetic. I pray for those with such sickness becos its not easy taking care of such. A woman i know,the children are taking care of her but what i observe in most cases is that mental illness isnt easy to cure cos it keeps re occuring,they must b on injections or drugs daily. Marriage also causes mental problems for women with wicked,stingy,emotional abusive etc husbands. I dont make jest of anybody in this life cos i have learnt a lot of life lessons since i was young even till now cos you dont even know what can kill you or d kind of illness waiting for one.

5. I know of a prominent man whose
    Son was ill n kept shackled sometimes, his mom cares for him till d day he stabbed her in d neck while she was feeding him, she ran out with d knife in her neck, she survived, but two days later, d boy was murdered, i knew they did cos his sister slept at my place dat night n d following day she went home nsaid dey were travelling to biry him, i was gobsmacked.

6. yes there is mental illness.. but there are also people possessed by demonic forces.

Are you a believing christian?

if yes, then the evidence is in the bible. Saul suffered from depression...David's music lifts his spirits.
    there were also several evidences where unclean spirit possessed people that Christ or the apostles drove out.The one that recognised christ and asked him to drive them into the herd of pigs, another that called itself legion, and another that pounced on false prophets that were carrying out miracles... Matthew 8:28,29; 17:14-20

complete healing from mental illness is not possible with psychiatry. It is not even an exact science... it is exploratory and subjective. Only god can heal the soul

7. Is anxiety a mental illness too?...cos I 've been battling with it 6 months postpartum.the panic attack is something.how can I overcome this pls

1. Please see a doctor. Most women suffer postpartum depression but in diff degree. Get help before it gets out of hand. 6 months is a long time to be nursing anxiety/panic attacks

2. Panic Anxiety usually requires you to see a psychology or psychiatrist. You should

8. Hmmm... It is well, I could remember a lady whom was my secondary school mate and had mental illness, I don't run from her, rather she's my friend.. Even if she's abusing and shouting on people, when I call her she will be calm and come close to me. I visit her and she does same as well, even most afternoon then we do sleep on my bed when she comes visiting.. I heard she delivered recently and I'm so happy for her. We call ourself 'my friend' and she isn't stingy at all... Even if she was with me then and the thing started, I will just sit and be listening to her as she will be telling me that governors and presidents are toasting her and she doesn't wanna accept their advances. It is well.

1. You are a patient friend, lol. I for don laugh tire. Governor ko

2. Why are you laughing. You need yaba left. hahahahaha

My dear lady you try ooo.

9. There's dis particular woman i knew since childhood, very calm nd gentle,not knowing she's having mental issues, her daughters (3) can't bring friends home cos she's always sited outside,u would greet her and she will just smile at u,when it's time for d first daughter to marry,dis woman was locked up in d entire house while d 2nd wife represented her,d 2nd just run away from home nd later brought a man and her child,d 3rd is still there taking care of their mother and no suitor with her since all dis years but we were later told that she was like dt cos her husband married 2nd wife

10. This is so enlightening. Thank you ma'am and happy Easter to you too

11. Hmmmmm, drug abuse is very dangerous. I remember when when immediate elder brother took (igbo) the first time. It almost made him run mad. But thank God we noticed on time and my parents were able to act fast.

The way youths these days abuse drugs is alarming. One is beside my compound always murmuring to himself. May God help us raise God fearing children. Amen.

1. Loool. Murmuring to himself. Na small small e dey start

12. My sister had a mental breakdown last year, from January to about February she was in and out of the psych ward. We had recently lost our dad, and she was in school when it happened; so she didn’t get to grieve and heal like we did. How he died sef, we’ve not told anyone till this day, only those who were there know (due to stigma)... it is well.

It was a horrible experience... she became so aggressive and saying things that didn’t make sense; when I went to stay with her at the hospital, she held my neck and threatened me with a spoon... she was a totally different person; her eyes were glazed over, and it was just like the expression “the lights are on, but nobody’s home.” She had completely lost touch with reality. She’d be talking about our dad as if she didn’t know he died, and would get aggressive if we tried to remind her of his death.

The doctors gave her various diagnoses (manic depressive, schizoaffective disorder) then finally settled on bipolar depression. They put her on meds that made her drool, made her mouth swell.. it was horrible. This was a girl in her final semester in college.

To God be the glory, now all is well with her; she stayed on a particular kind of meds for months, we kept praying for her, and with lots of therapy and psychiatrist visits, she’s back on track, back to school, you wouldn’t even know if we don’t tell you.

Mental illness is very very real, and I’m praying for a time when it’s sufferers don’t get stigmatized for something that isn’t their fault. I work in the mental health field, with formerly homeless people, so I was actually able to recognize the signs before my family did. It is well...

13. My sister had a mental breakdown last year, from January to about February she was in and out of the psych ward. We had recently lost our dad, and she was in school when it happened; so she didn’t get to grieve and heal like we did. How he died sef, we’ve not told anyone till this day, only those who were there know (due to stigma)... it is well.

It was a horrible experience... she became so aggressive and saying things that didn’t make sense; when I went to stay with her at the hospital, she held my neck and threatened me with a spoon... she was a totally different person; her eyes were glazed over, and it was just like the expression “the lights are on, but nobody’s home.” She had completely lost touch with reality. She’d be talking about our dad as if she didn’t know he died, and would get aggressive if we tried to remind her of his death.

The doctors gave her various diagnoses (manic depressive, schizoaffective disorder) then finally settled on bipolar depression. They put her on meds that made her drool, made her mouth swell.. it was horrible. This was a girl in her final semester in college.

To God be the glory, now all is well with her; she stayed on a particular kind of meds for months, we kept praying for her, and with lots of therapy and psychiatrist visits, she’s back on track, back to school, you wouldn’t even know if we don’t tell you.

Mental illness is very very real, and I’m praying for a time when it’s sufferers don’t get stigmatized for something that isn’t their fault. I work in the mental health field, with formerly homeless people, so I was actually able to recognize the signs before my family did. It is well...

1. Sorry. I also almost lost it when my dad died. We were so close... hmm. I felt like someone had taken my soul away. I will just be working and sleeping like a robot. It took God’s grace and about 5yrs to pull out of that deep depression. When I think of my dad I still cry. It’s not easy coping with loss.

14. This topic hits very close to home for me, my brother, only son,1st semester in medical school ran out of exam hall and entered bush. After much drama, we got him home, everybody knew it was spiritual,that's how we moved from church to church and spiritual house to spiritual house for over 10 years.

It was even a pastor that advised us to go to Yaba Left, saying even though its spiritual,hence it has manifested physically, we need to treat the physical as well. He got cured in Yaba but has to take medication every day and injection every 3 months.

He now has a small job and is doing better. Sometimes, I weep when I think about the wasted years of this young man because of wicked relatives but I know that God who spared his life has a plan for him, he could have easily died in one of this violent moments *wipes tears*. It is well with him.

1. Eayah, it is well with you my sister. You all should not stop praying for him so that those that seek for him will not find him.

God will wipe away the tears and give you joy Amen

2. Imagin Imagin you had taken him to a psychiatric hospital immediately while praying.
      You didn't want the stigma.
      Somehow Nigerians feel when they take 'such people' to church it looks better.
      You wasted 10 years of this man's life.
      Such a primitive and backward nation.

3. No relative is behind your brother’s predicament. Medical school is really stressful. He probably put himself under so much pressure that his mind broke. Also pressure and expectations from family. This is why you should let kids be who they want to be. Some parents tell kids what course to study and when they can’t cope they lose it.

4. Thanks Yori Yori and Shakiti baby, anons, it was spiritual, I know that as surely as I know my name but you are right, we should have gone to psychiatric hospital from the start while praying.

15. There's a woman that lives with her mentally challenged son on the street beside my shop, I think for over three years now. The story is that his dad belongs to a cult group, one day the boy got born again and decided to burn his dad's shrine and all, few weeks after he started behaving somehow, from there 'menta' set in.
    The mum has been adviced to take him to a psychiatric home, she refused instead takes him from one church to another, that she doesn't want him chained and beaten (surprisingly she's enlightened, even lived abroad for a while). Two weeks ago while cooking in her kitchen the son attacked her, in his words "you're here cooking while they cut me with razor blade..." He beat her eh! Till she ran out with just wrapper, she had to stay in her neighbour's house for about a week plus, just two day ago or so she brought people to bundle him to psychiatric hospital. Meanwhile he has damaged and burnt almost everything in the house.
    If only she had done this since, maybe it wouldn't have gotten this bad.

We should also be careful on how we body shame others, some of them might be on some form of antidepressants, whose side effect is fat we see (I stand to be corrected). I know someone who is in this situation right now, I would rather have her fat and sane than slim and roaming the streets.

Thank you nurse, you're doing a great job.

1. You are correct. The side effect of the drugs makes them fat

16. You write really well nurse..
    Your mastery over the vocabularies and diction is impressive .
    Great writing skills too.. Easily carries your readers along

17. Nurse, thank you for this wonderful knowledge. Please, can high fever cause mental illness? A girl had high fever and later started showing signs of mental illness to the extent the family have to lock her up at home.

1. Persistent high fever 'irritates' the brain and causes convulsions which manifest as mild to violent jerking of the hands and legs. Not to be mistaken as mental illness. The girl has to be taken to the hospital

2. @ nurse - not necessarily. A high fever could mean there's an infection. Also it can cause confusion/ disorientation

3. You're still agreeing with the nurse na

18. I love this post. Thank you very much Nurse.
    Your writing skill is good.

19. This post reminds me of our posting at the Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Aro, Abeokuta. It was really an eye-opener. Next year by God's grace I'll be going for my post basic in Psychiatry. My love for it is unexplainable.

20. Depression is real most especially for housewives ,women under pressure from in laws or hubbies and emotional/domestic violence victims.

21. I was diagnosed of schizophrenia early 2016 after i was disappointed by my ex fiancé in December 2015 after choosing a wedding date and he didn't show up cos he lives outside Naija. I started saying irrational things and I won't sleep all through the night. Thank God my mum is a nurse. Initially i was taken to the church after a day things didn't change my mum took me to the hospital. I was given an injection and all my system went numb I slept for a long time. I was asked to visit the hospital everyday and to also see a psychotherapist for counseling. I was placed on Risperidone 10mg daily, 5mg in the morning and 5mg at night with an antidepressant drug Flutex. Risperidone wan kill me, i was always vomiting every food i eat, and it makes me tremor. We had to go and complain at the clinic and it the Risperidone was reduced to 5mg daily, 2.5mg in the morning and night. So the tremor reduced after like 6months of use my period ceased. I was visiting the clinic on monthly basis, so I was placed on another drug that is olanzapine 2.5mg at alternate night but I started adding weight. I am very well now and I hope to stop using the drugs soon but my doctor said I should continue to avoid relapse. I don't get bothered about things anymore I live my life one day at a time. Mental illness is real and adherence to treatment is important.

1. Anon so sorry about your story. Just remember no man is worth it. See how he just changed the course of your life and he is enjoying somewhere.
      I have had your kind of experience. I had been dating this guy for 2years. We had always talked marriage and had intention of marrying the next year. I just started noticing a change in him. No more frequent calling etc becos we were based in different states. I was even planning of transfering my job to his state. Till I found out this guy had done traditional marriage with his supposed ex girlfriend.
      I almost died. I could eat, i couldn't sleep. I lost 10kg. I cried my eyes out daily. I sometimes contemplated suicide.
      But in that period I got alot of support from my family and friends.
      My friends encouraged me to get closer to God which I did. I think that was what made me save. I read my bible page by page daily.
      Anon no man is worth it. You need to gather strength and just totally move on with your life.
      Be thankful he didn't show up at the wedding.
      What if you married him,you have 3 kids and he leaves you at age 40. What will you do.
      I repeat no man is worth it.
      I am in a happier state. Dating someone else now.

2. Its better you continue so you dont relapse with time they may tail off the dose.
      My brother is bipolar and at a time he tries to get off and he relapsed seriously lost thousands of pounds during that episode,he has come to accept the condition now and the fact he may be on medication for ever and he is in a much better place now. He is a top professional in his field,one would never guess he has a mental illness

3. Eyah. You are healed by his stripes.
      Nurses is it true that mental illnesss does not heal completely? They say it always comes once in a while.

22. 😳 😳 tnx nurse 👩🏾‍⚕️ this is really an eye opener

23. This is the best series on this blog. It’s so enlightening. Kudos!

24. I am quite passionate about mental health issues, especially in women. My mum has some sort of schizophrenia. I think it was brought on by postpartum depression was not treated or managed in anyway. Growing up she was quite quarrelsome, i mean...i dont even want to relive those memories. She left my dad when i was a little over 3years old and my younger sister was just 6months old. She claimed that my dad was an arch Angel who wanted to destroy her salvation. Growing up, there were times we wouldn't have any inclination of where she was for months and volia! She would just appear at our gate one day saying that she came to check her kids. We tried managing her for a while and haven't been so successful over the years. Now we keep her in a home but the last time i went visit her i was so sad, the place is too isolating and she is just too lonely. I have been trying to find somewhere in the yoruba states,where i can reintegrate her into the society. Like a rehabilitation centre/home where there is vocational training and people she can mingle with. Please if anyone can help, kindly drop a message below.