It advised that they should use their influence wisely and not continue to engage in public declarations that were likely to inflame emotional passions and threaten National Security.
A statement by presidential spokesman, Garba Shehu on Saturday said the presidency was very worried that criminal gangs will feel justified in defying legal governing and democratic institutions, and authority of legitimately elected democratic government if unrestrained pronouncements were made.
“Silence can be dignified, but sometimes it can be misinterpreted and exploited. It is both shocking and scary to hear the recent comments by a senior citizen calling for Nigerians to defend themselves.
“The Presidency commends the Nigerian military’s efforts to maintain peace and stability, despite being pulled in various directions by elements determined to destabilize the country and government for their selfish reasons.
“What country would survive if its citizens rise against the country’s organized, trained and equipped military?
“We advise former leaders to take advantage of the various fora where people with a history of national security can offer advice to the government without resorting to the exploitation of emotional sentiments.
“The civil war motto: “TO KEEP NIGERIA ONE IS A TASK THAT MUST BE DONE” rings very timely at this time in our nation’s history. We must be careful to avoid the mess that destroyed other African countries like Somalia,” he said.
from dailypost
Since civil way wey dem mention there wey them "keep Nigeria one", is Nigeria one?
ReplyDeleteWetin them politrictians don achieve except to loot like the owner of the house dey wan come back?
"Civil way?"
DeleteIt's like this your pidgin grammar is in a CIVIL WAR
Abeggi! Watch what they say ko! Mtchewww
ReplyDeleteIdiot.....if it was your people they were killing you would have said they should mind what they say....let everybody defend themselves, we are tired of Fulani herdsmen and their satanic agenda
ReplyDeleteImagine the govt threatening us not to speak out.rubbish country yet they call it democracy govt,where is our rights?
ReplyDeleteDem no wan call him name? Lol
ReplyDeleteThis Garba Shehu should keep quiet. It's obvious he doesn't know the inner happenings in Aso rock. After all when his Oga was sick in London, messages was getting to him through the cabal and not direct.
ReplyDeleteIt is the right of every citizen to question a democratically elected government . Especially when things are not done right. They should learn to take healthy criticism and better themselves instead of throwing tantrums
ReplyDeleteThis same people they are trying to shut spoke against PDP government now that the table is turning, they are scared. Speak out my people
ReplyDeleteIdi Amin
ReplyDeleteAn incompetent government and its clueless cabal asking people to watch what they say. So people should keep quiet while you fools mess up their lives.
ReplyDeleteI thought out president is so sincere that he forgot the power of words. Especially the words of a man weilding power. Now he knows how his words to the world about Nigeria and Nigerians has affected the Country...talking about my people are corrupt, my people are this and that. And i dare say his use of words didnt start today. If you doubt me ask Fela. "My people are useless.... my people are senseless...in felas voice. Please let us endeavour to remove the log in our eye before the spec in Stellas eye..Bye bye