Yesterday someone corrected me that i should have used ''Sport'' instead of ''Spot'' that I used concerning a hairstyle...
So i should have said he was ''Sported'' with a pink hairdo instead of ''Spotted'?..Are you Kidding me?
Many people always mix up most English words because they sound alike but are spelt differently....
Examples are
Many people always mix up most English words because they sound alike but are spelt differently....
Examples are
Being -I am being careful.
Been - I have been there!
There
Their
Spot
Sport
Fork
Fuck
Bait -Please do not bait me to agree
Bath -I am having my bath.
Foul
Fowl
Beat..I will Beat you.
Bit - I will be with you in a bit
Which other words do people mix up?
Let's use them in a sentence as we differentiate them....
Fate and faith
ReplyDeleteAltar: where you pray
DeleteAlter: to change
Boss
DeleteBus
Am
ReplyDeleteI am.
I am 5inches tall not
Am 5inches tall.
This is not what Stella mean
DeleteYeah you are right
DeleteShe meant words spelt differently but sound the same.
Working and blogging is not good.
It- it is time.
ReplyDeleteHeat- the heat is intense.
Hit- she was hit on her face.
Eat- I want to eat now
Park- going to the park for a walk.
Park- where did you park your car?
Pack- can I have a pack of condom?
Dear Stella, being and been are not pronounced the same way, pronunciation of words are based on the way they are transcribed and being and been are not transcribed the same way a perfect example is ...
DeleteSweet and suite (hotel suite)
Stella.. I disagree with u on “bath and bait” having same sound... I wasn’t convinced so I had to use dictionary to listen to both words... let me know if u can prove me wrong sha...
ReplyDeleteThey are not even the same in anyway ... bath is pronounced with the "th" sound using you tongue and upper teeth and "bath" has the "a" sound while "bait" has the "ai" sound and just "t" sound at the end
DeleteBait and Bath have two different pronunciations. Bathe (with the "e") is more like Bait, in word Bath the "a" is sounded as /a/ as in apple.
ReplyDeleteA lot of Nigerianstuff make this mistake.
Bath= to wash one's self
Bathe= to immerse one'side self in water like a bathtub.
Thank you oo anon. I thought I was the only who disagreed in my mind.
DeleteBait and Bath have two different pronunciations. Bathe (with the "e") is more like Bait, in word Bath the "a" is sounded as /a/ as in apple.
ReplyDeleteA lot of Nigerianstuff make this mistake.
Bath= to wash one's self
Bathe= to immerse one'side self in water like a bathtub.
Kate
ReplyDeleteKit
Gate
Is
It
Huh?
DeleteStella what are you saying na?
DeleteOlodo@ Stella maris baby
Deletefebuhari- a vote for buhari
ReplyDeleteFebruary - second month of a year.
Your - How is your brother?
ReplyDeleteYou are - So you are going there.
Hmmm. oga I don't understand your second example
DeleteLol at FEBUHARI
DeleteMiss
ReplyDeleteMist
Word
World
Being and been don't sound alike.
ReplyDeleteI think they do eka, just that "being" sounds a little stressed than "been"
DeleteI mix up "there" and "their" quite often so I mentally correct myself before putting it out... was just telling my friend today that English is haarrrrd 😂😂😂😂
ReplyDeleteFame..and his fame grew (popularity
ReplyDeleteFirm...she has a firm butt.(solid)
Fact....this a fact (truth)
Fart..she farts all the time (emit from the anus)
Faith...he's a man of faith (hope in God)
Fate.. that is he's fate (destined to happen)
Cause..she caused it (reason for something to happen)
Course..she took a wrong course (direction)
You know pronunciations well before you dish out corrections dear. Fame and Firm sound alike? Even Fate and Faith? Sdk blog American wonder
DeleteSorry Becky fame and firm don't sound alike. Ahan.. Even fact and fart? Are you serious right now?!!
DeleteChile...these are common mistake I've noticed from my fellow country people. How many people do you think know the actual pronunciation of words? So.. I'm serious.
DeleteHas,have and had comes before been not being..
ReplyDeletee.g. I have been sad since yesterday not I have being sad since yesterday
Or
She has been lonely .
Being doesn't need have,has or had.
e.g.
Its being soon long we hang out.
There is used to describe position or location
e.g.
I dropped it over there
While their is used for possession
e.g
I gave them their portion
I hope I've convince someone and not confused them...
👏👏👏
Delete"Its being soon long we hang out."
DeleteOh my word!!
Hide your face.
DeleteI will know my FATE by 2.pm
ReplyDeleteI have FAITH in God
SITE: He is the new site manager
SIGHT: He has poor eye sight
CITE: Cite a suitable example(case)
)PAIL: Pls get me a pail of water
PALE; He looks pale
Sorry but the first example are not pronounced the same way... anything with "th" at the end is pronounced with the tip of your tongue and your upper teeth... now try it
DeleteThis just brings back a lot of memory about Lang 109🤣
This and these.
ReplyDeleteThis is a book
How is your mother doing these day's
Let's talk about people that write;
ReplyDeleteIs me Funke instead of It's me Funke.
Am coming instead of I'm coming.
Ur coming instead of You are coming.
One of my friend instead of one of my friends.
I don't take people that make any of the above blunders serious.
I see that some of you are going to google to copy...we are looking at their use in a written text yeah?
ReplyDeleteforget the pronounciation please....
Someone still sent a mail this morning saying...
Thanks for been real'''
In that case. My example 👆🏻Is correct
DeleteSight- you have a very poor eyesight
ReplyDeleteSite- over there is the dumping site
Cite- cite an example
Might- do it with all your might
Mite- that's my widow's mite
Hey-Hey, how are you?
Hay-Make hay.
here: I am here for you, always
ReplyDeletehear: I can't hear you
where: Where are you going to?
were: We were at our neighbour's
wear: I'll love to wear a pink dress for my shower
Seat and Sit
ReplyDeleteAs in...
I am seated at my desk (CORRECT)
I am sitted at my desk (WRONG)
That been and being ia a major problem to me.
ReplyDeleteWhat about taught and thought that many Nigerians confuse.
ReplyDeleteTaught - past tense of teach. The teacher taught me how to read.
Thought - past tense of think. I thought about you yesterday.
please some of the words you people are pointing out is killing me slowly... ogini n'ekwoli ifenu???? Obara Emmanuel
ReplyDeleteI have seen a lot of people writing shook instead of shock on this blog. Been is a past participle of the 'verb be' usually used with have, had, has while being is the present participle of the 'verb be' used with am, was are, were.
ReplyDeleteGood
DeleteQuiet: Silent
ReplyDeleteQuite: adverb with two different meanings depending on the subject.
I have seen a lot of people writing "quite" instead of "quiet".
Example:
1.I have remained "quiet" for a long time.
2.He has left this place for "quite" some time now.
That is the proper way of spelling the two words.
This error arises whem someone misses exercises in lexical structure during English Lessons in their formative years.
ReplyDeleteRemedy? BACK TO THE BASIS. Simple!
Read the right books repeatedly and do the exercises thereof at the end, and you are good to go.
ONCE, ONES, ONE'S, ONE IS
can you shut up for once;(quantity,order)
those ones are ripe;(adjective,specific)
one's belief may differ;(pronoun,personal)
one is okay for today;(numeric,certain).
It is not easy but going at it with the right books will make an impressionable change.
“Spot” and “sport” when it comes to hairstyles are different, madam Korkus.
ReplyDeleteSpotted with a hairstyle OR sported a new hairstyle.
Ware - items
Wear - to wear
Wear - to fade due to prolonged use.