Here are a few tips on how to achieve perfectly smooth akara balls like the ones in the photo:
Tip 1: Blend your beans with as little water as possible. If your blender can't work with very little water, then it's best to grind your beans in the market with those heavy duty grinders. Too much water will make your akara flat and ugly.
Tip 2 (very essential for puffy akara): After grinding your beans and other ingredients, pour some of the puree into a mortar (this should be the amount you can fry in one go). Using a pestle, work some air into the mixture by turning clockwise or anticlockwise for at least 5 minutes. Your batter is ready for frying when it becomes noticeably lighter in colour and doubled in volume.
You can use an electric mixer for this step but nothing beats the good ol' mortar and pestle.
Final tip: Add your salt just before frying. Salt can disrupt the leavening process, so it should be added after the batter has risen sufficiently.
Follow these steps and you'll be wowed by how smooth and puffy your akara balls will turn out.
Happy frying!!!
And for lunch, how about some Banga soup made with fresh fish and chicken?
It can be paired with pounded yam too, not every time starch.
Wishing everyone a foodilicious weekend!
BV Chichy
BV Chichi will be handling the Breakfast post from now on and Tantalising ya all with breakfast tips and photos.....Remember to read the post up there cos Chichi says there is a time to put salt when frying Akara.
Nothing at all, don't even know what lunch would be.
ReplyDeleteThat pics up there π just made my mouth watery and hungry.
DeleteYour comment will be visible after approval
Nothing For now, still reading comments π
ReplyDeleteAkara balls made me remember Bukky Alakara
Really don't like brown akara, prefer the cream colored ones inside of a soft breadπππ
ReplyDeleteI am so tired of this gizzard sauce my wife cooked. na the same sauce for 5years to a point my shit is looking like the sauce. Women should change their package na. I think I need to hire a chef
ReplyDeleteSorry, tell her in a polite way that she should explore other soup. Watch YouTube videos of soup with her. If you know how to cook, tell her on a Saturday you want to pamper her, then cook what u like and enjoy it together. U can tease her that she should cook your type of sauce too. U go dey alright.
DeletePls do. Hire a chef π¨π³
DeleteLol,tell her naa
DeleteLol @ shit looking like sauce. Ewww!
DeletePele
Hahahahahahhahaha pele
DeleteNothing for now. Still observing
ReplyDeleteChichy..thanks.. No wonder I see those akara sellers turning the ground beans paste on a mortar.. Before Frying.i used to wonder.I love cooking.. Teach me more
ReplyDeleteThat banga is everything. #Itsekiripikin.
ReplyDeleteI'm having green tea in bed. Having a date with boo later.
I'm telling you, the banga is dope.
DeleteMy mum thinks I'm trying to check weight when I eat the quantity I can and tell her I'm satisfied (I'm not even fat so I don't know why she thinks so).
She keeps singing that breastfeeding mothers eat by 6am,10am...,and before 9pm I should have eaten like 8timesππ
Me that I wake by 9am, she'll be screaming that I'm supposed to have eaten Like twice already.
She's just oohh so wonderful, I'm asking God to keep her alive for me.
Awww may God bless and keep her
DeleteIndomie will be my breakfast and semo for lunch. If not for this rain, i will go and look for correct akara and hot koko to buy.
ReplyDeleteThank you BV Chichi
Eating my EBA and ogbono soup!
ReplyDeleteOha leaves is very scarce!
Bread and tea...
ReplyDeleteOoh banga!
ReplyDeleteI can't stop looking at it.
Oh Lawd...Bv Chichi butu why nau? just negodu the banga. My gas finished yesterday. The money I have cannot cook and refill gas. So wetin man go do? Let me just be salivating and reading novels till i figure out what to do.
ReplyDeleteJust finished cooking beans and plantain
ReplyDelete*Larry was here*
Same thing for me too. you only know you are an expert when you fry very ripe plantain e no burn e no soak oil, almost impossible
DeleteBanga soup is too oily.
ReplyDeleteIs there any other way to cook it without too much oil ?
Ask goggle.πΆπΆπΆ
DeleteYou can scoop out the oil after boiling your Banga juice. That's the only way to make it less oily
DeleteThe akara recipe is not complete you didn't list the ingredients
ReplyDeleteOlybekee Amawbia ugbo ogiriga
I assumed most of us already know the ingredients... Beans, onions, pepper and salt are the basic ingredients. You can add anything else you like
DeleteStill tired from the Hallelujah praise night. Drank a can of malt when I got home from church this morning. Will think of something later
ReplyDeleteThis reminds me of those growing up days akara and ogi baaba. Then afternoon will be amala and gbegiri, I miss growing up
ReplyDeleteHad toast and tea. Lunch would be eba and afang soup. Greetings lovelies, how are you all doing?
ReplyDeleteBV Chichi Thanks for your step and tips, it is very helpful and timely..Anonymous 9: 40 kpele oh, lolzz
ReplyDeleteYou're welcome
DeleteThe FAM is used to pap and akara on Saturday mornings......though I do shakara once in a while,lol!
ReplyDeleteJust had Eba and native soup with plenty isam, stock fish and catfish.
ReplyDeleteGoing back to bed. Will "cook" tea when i wake up
Enter your comment...moimoi and pap
ReplyDeleteYummyπππ
DeleteTea and bread with fried egg for breakfast.
ReplyDeleteLunch will be palm oil jollof rice, with dry fish, crayfish, biscuit bone, with vegetables on top. I will wash it down with freshly home made juice.
Plantain chips!!