+ He was on his way to Canada when he was Arrested!
Recent discoveries indicated the infamous kidnapper is as much connected to Ghana as he is to Nigeria in his nefarious activities, throwing up a shocking portrait of a transnational criminal.
Latest findings of investigations into the robbery/kidnap kingpin’s crime-ridden life suggest that Evans and his entire family hold dual citizenship of both Nigeria and Ghana, which he made his second home and to which, he normally escaped to hide from the arms of the law, whenever the heat was turned on after his many dare-devil operations.
Searchlight on the crime baron by detectives unearthed four Ghanaian passports belonging to him, his wife and two of their children.
Sleuths waddling through documents found during a search that the man identified by a Nigerian passport (No.A0500083) as Onwuamadike Chukwudumeme Somto, 37, is the same person as Asare Nelson, 39, according to Ghanaian passport (No.G0456327).
His wife, known as Uchenna Precious Onwuamadike to Nigerians, is Precious Asare by her Ghanaian passport.
The Accra Passport Office of Ghana Immigration Service issued the couple’s Ghanaian passports and those of their two children, Sussan and Emmanuel Asare.
How they acquired Ghana passports
The big question is: How did the family procure the foreign passports?
Saturday Sun learnt that although the issuance of Ghanaian passport is also porous and susceptible to corruption and touting like Nigeria’s, the strict enforcement of criminal justice system in the West African country discourages many Ghanaians and Immigration officials from indulging in the practice.
This, however, does not stop some from taking the risk.
On a typical day, the passport office located at Ridge, a stone throw from Ghana Parliament and near Ghana Institute of Journalism (GIJ), is a beehive, brimming with passport applicants and others wishing to have the traveling documents renewed or reissued. Mingling with this crowd, of course, are also touts.
The newspaper gathered that a regular Ghanaian passport officially costs GHc50, while those who wish to expedite the process pay GHc100.
But, there are under dealings, which make it easy for a non-Ghanaian to obtain one, as long as he is prepared to pay the exorbitant unofficial fee, a source told Saturday Sun.
Said he: “You pay Goro boys GHc1000 and you get it in a week.” Goro boys refer to the swarm of touts who hang outside the passport office.
The source explains that ordinarily: “You have to go to the passport office for your biometrics, because your picture has to be captured via camera, not scanned passport. But there is nothing to fear, as the go-between would have greased the palms of those in charge.”
Evans probably acquired the passport for himself and his family this dubious way. Paying GHc1000 (about N85, 000 by the current exchange rate) per passport would be no big deal for a man like the notorious criminal, who rakes in $1m from a single kidnap operation.
The smart crook that he is, Evans, in choosing nomenclatures avoided the generic day names––such as Kofi, Kojo, Kwabena Kwesi or Kwame, which are common to some nationals of Cote D’Ivoire and Togo and could deny the family the much prized Caanadian visa that he sought. Instead, he opted for Asare, an Akan name common to Southwestern part of Ghana, which, therefore, could raise no suspicion as to the genuineness of his family’s Ghanaian roots. With the name he could pass for an Ashanti, Akyem or a Fante.
Latest findings of investigations into the robbery/kidnap kingpin’s crime-ridden life suggest that Evans and his entire family hold dual citizenship of both Nigeria and Ghana, which he made his second home and to which, he normally escaped to hide from the arms of the law, whenever the heat was turned on after his many dare-devil operations.
Searchlight on the crime baron by detectives unearthed four Ghanaian passports belonging to him, his wife and two of their children.
Sleuths waddling through documents found during a search that the man identified by a Nigerian passport (No.A0500083) as Onwuamadike Chukwudumeme Somto, 37, is the same person as Asare Nelson, 39, according to Ghanaian passport (No.G0456327).
His wife, known as Uchenna Precious Onwuamadike to Nigerians, is Precious Asare by her Ghanaian passport.
The Accra Passport Office of Ghana Immigration Service issued the couple’s Ghanaian passports and those of their two children, Sussan and Emmanuel Asare.
How they acquired Ghana passports
The big question is: How did the family procure the foreign passports?
Saturday Sun learnt that although the issuance of Ghanaian passport is also porous and susceptible to corruption and touting like Nigeria’s, the strict enforcement of criminal justice system in the West African country discourages many Ghanaians and Immigration officials from indulging in the practice.
This, however, does not stop some from taking the risk.
On a typical day, the passport office located at Ridge, a stone throw from Ghana Parliament and near Ghana Institute of Journalism (GIJ), is a beehive, brimming with passport applicants and others wishing to have the traveling documents renewed or reissued. Mingling with this crowd, of course, are also touts.
The newspaper gathered that a regular Ghanaian passport officially costs GHc50, while those who wish to expedite the process pay GHc100.
But, there are under dealings, which make it easy for a non-Ghanaian to obtain one, as long as he is prepared to pay the exorbitant unofficial fee, a source told Saturday Sun.
Said he: “You pay Goro boys GHc1000 and you get it in a week.” Goro boys refer to the swarm of touts who hang outside the passport office.
The source explains that ordinarily: “You have to go to the passport office for your biometrics, because your picture has to be captured via camera, not scanned passport. But there is nothing to fear, as the go-between would have greased the palms of those in charge.”
Evans probably acquired the passport for himself and his family this dubious way. Paying GHc1000 (about N85, 000 by the current exchange rate) per passport would be no big deal for a man like the notorious criminal, who rakes in $1m from a single kidnap operation.
The smart crook that he is, Evans, in choosing nomenclatures avoided the generic day names––such as Kofi, Kojo, Kwabena Kwesi or Kwame, which are common to some nationals of Cote D’Ivoire and Togo and could deny the family the much prized Caanadian visa that he sought. Instead, he opted for Asare, an Akan name common to Southwestern part of Ghana, which, therefore, could raise no suspicion as to the genuineness of his family’s Ghanaian roots. With the name he could pass for an Ashanti, Akyem or a Fante.
edited from sun newspaper.
He has different names to different people. Such a stupid fool.
ReplyDeleteHis wife must have been lying about not knowing of his criminal nature. If not, why would you allow your husband to get you a foreig passport in a name that is not yours? And even for your children? That woman lied!
DeleteHianest!!! Na only this man waka come ne?!😉😲🤔
ReplyDeleteThe man is even trending more than PMB right now.
DeleteMore than BBN
DeleteSMH! Intelligent crook.
ReplyDeleteShut it. What do you know? Useless girl.
DeleteHmmmm...
ReplyDeleteSigh!
ReplyDeleteAmbode hope u are reading??
Evans Evans
ReplyDeleteVery Smooth Operator
if eva yhu shool be cuaght for eatin frug, let be yhu ate a big one....
ReplyDeleteChiff kidnapa, Asare Evans Chukwudumeme Somto ate a very big frug..... woht eva mega aligashion plazed on him suonds befitin
this man na real case
ReplyDelete#GOAT™
That awkward moment when you're reading this comment to find an awkward moment but there isn't any, and still you're reading this comment and you're starting to realise it says nothing important and you just wasted a couple of seconds of your life but you're still reading and you don't even know why. That's awkward... You should give me a like for wasting you're time .Evanswood to be continued
ReplyDelete👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍 wehdon mA🙏
DeleteInfact eh. They should just jump all this preamble and go straight to the point. This is what happens when there is nothing to post so Evans feeds us day and night. This was so last week naa.
DeleteHahahahahahahaha...
DeleteAnd I read this your awkward comment to the end!...
Smh
Smh, and I read it to the end. U no well. Lol.
DeleteI read it to the end and I'm smh now
DeleteThis evans is more popular than say baba, i don tire for this Evansgate, Is like he is the problem of Nigeria
ReplyDeleteEvans is the new celebrity. Don't you see some people snapping selfie with him???????
DeleteIf you are tired of reading,why then did you open the post?...
DeleteAs in ehnnn... Omotola.
DeleteEven the policemen are all posing for a photo with him- a hardened criminal...like he is some reputable figure. SMH.
Crook
ReplyDeleteKai! Evan don scatter Nigeria and Ghana immigration people.
ReplyDeleteAsare my ass.
Btw, why did he only procure passport for ONLY TWO of his children? Where the others kidnapped by him and not his?
~~Her Majesty
You know...
ReplyDeleteone thing that keeps amusing me is how he is being referred to as
"Nigeria Billonaire Kidnapper"
Such title.
Hahahahahhaha
DeleteLMAO.......
DeleteThe thing tire me
DeleteEvanSeries stories keep unfolding.... I don dey tire sef!!!! Mschew
ReplyDeleteOh these kids!
ReplyDeleteWhat did they do to deserve such a father?
Father from hell!...
DeleteOne of them will take over!...
I'm sure Evans father did worse during his time!...
Well....if they had the opportunity right before they were formed in the womb to choose the kinda man who will be known as father, i am sure a hardened criminal, a killer who derives joy in reaping others off their hard earned cash while sending his victims downtown to a life of misery wouldnt have been an option for them
DeleteAs with everyone else.... Nothing actually. But they can choose their own future and breakaway from the stigma.
DeleteKai! Evan don scatter Nigeria and Ghana immigration people.
ReplyDeleteAsare my ass.
Btw, why did he only procure passport for ONLY TWO of his children? Where the others kidnapped by him and not his?
~~Her Majesty
Just one bullet or a healthy dose of sniper will save us all this Evans this Evans that everyday!
ReplyDeleteMr.Evans might have read enough of James Hadley Chase with these antics...
ReplyDeleteOh!how I have missed reading James Hadley Chase's books.
DeleteThis present administration don enjoy wella, there's always something to somewhat distract the populace from the wahala of this failing government. Notwithstanding, it is well with my country and everything therein.
ReplyDeleteTrue!...
DeleteNobody is asking questions again
ASARE GOAT
ReplyDeleteAnd the wife says she is not aware of her husband's nefarious activities; yet she owns a foreign passport with a fake name.
ReplyDeleteThe wife is very aware.
DeleteI won't be surprised if she even helps him to launder the money in some form
Wicked couple.
I know right
DeleteKai! Evan don scatter Nigeria and Ghana immigration people.
ReplyDeleteAsare my ass.
~~Her Majesty
I just feel for those kids
ReplyDeleteThe Gift that keeps on giving..
ReplyDeleteEvans is the new Johnny Dillinger. Dude is practically being hero-worshipped.
ReplyDeleteWhy can't they just summaries this Evans issues and release all the information at once. Every mintue Evans this, Evans that. Really irritating.
ReplyDeleteBadoossssd
ReplyDeleteCrook