Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Veteran Actress, Joke Silva Says Social Media Is Partly Responsible For Crash Of Celeb Marriages

Saturday, May 06, 2017

Veteran Actress, Joke Silva Says Social Media Is Partly Responsible For Crash Of Celeb Marriages

Veteran Nigerian actress, Joke Silva has addressed the issue of increasing divorce rates in Nigeria, especially in the entertainment industry.

The veteran actress who has been married for over three decades voiced her opinion on the increasing nature of celebrity breakups.

She said: “It is because the younger generation are very popular because of social media, and so, whatever happens to them becomes news; forgetting that there are as many divorces, there are many separations in other professions such as medical, financial, legal among others. Name any profession; there are so many separations in those as well.

While speaking to New Telegraph, the actress and mother of two accused social media of playing an important role in the celebrity breakups adding that it is one of the major challenges every celebrity couple is faced with.

Joke Silva added: “There are a lot of challenges that are being faced by artistes of this particular generation; and one of those challenges is the social media, which almost doesn’t allow you your life. People of my age, when we were getting all the attention, and we were feeling like we were the best thing, things were different.

You need all the attention anyway. For your work to sell, you need that popularity. It goes with the job, so you need that popularity. But after a while, you also get to learn that it can be a double edge sword. So, it is about managing it, appreciating the audience for appreciating your work, but also giving yourself that limit to what aspect of you they can experience.

“In this age of reality shows where nothing seems to be off limit, the new skill that the entertainer has to learn is how much do you give your audience? More so, because you don’t want to be false; like used to happen in the early years of Hollywood where they would create this incredible image, and then it was almost impossible for the performer to live under that image; and a lot of them used to use all kinds of medications just to fit a particular image that was being built around them.

Now, we are in the age of social media, so it is learning how to cope with social media, to do the work that social media does, which is to get your work out there, to get your face out there. But then limit that too so that you do have a life; so that you can have some modicum of emotional privacy. Those are the challenges that I know that the younger generation face.”

from Herald

31 comments:

1. The more reason why they should keep their private lives out of social media.

2. AMEN, SISTER

2. Simply keep what you dont want out there private.

1. That's why I wonder why they can't all be like Genevieve. The fact that you are an entertainer doesn't mean you should entertain us with your lives rather than the work the makes you an entertainer

3. Well,she is right!,..
    Divorce happens everywhere...
    Some people look up to these celebs as role model so they expect their life to be perfect!,..
    Another reason is that men disturb them a lot!,..
    Once you start fucking up as a husband,they won't waste time to dump you!...
    There are other men lined up waiting to grab them!,..

Lastly,most of them are from the marine world with a marine husband and children attacking their destiny in real life!...

4. Aptly spoken. Even if you want to be out there, you need to limit what information about your life you give to your audience. They don't need to know details

5. God help them. Wisdom is key!

6. Sound it mama let them hear.

7. It's true celebrities should take their relationships out from social media,,, Cox they will only add more fuel to the fire

8. Well said ma. Though some of this new generation celebrity are the ones shoving their private life down their fans and social media oesophagus and once the tori worwor they will start crying us a river.
    Let them keep their private life private if they don't want sm interference in their home.

9. And the celebs are responsible for it because they have refused to take themselves away from social media. Flaunting ti take over. Let the best flaunter win.

10. She never said social media is responsible for the high rate of divorce among celebrities. What she meant is most celebrities do not know where and when to draw the line on how much they should put out to the public. Most celebrities live large on social media, posting pictures of cars, houses, clothes, foreign currency and perfect relationship that they don't have and after a while the lies starts to catch up with them. Once you lie you have to keep on lying to live up to expectations.
    Social media should be a tool for endearing the public to them, showing off their music, movies, being a brand influencer and/or other form of entertainment that you're involved in and not for doing pepper them gang.

11. Hey guys! I just feel like sharing
    I have been so depressed for a while know, since I lost my job I have not been able to get something else and other stuff making me to feel this way, I remember when it all started my family knew about it especially while I was contemplating suicide as an option, to the extend that I had emotional breakdown. but I was able to go to church pray and all.. I am still very down but thanks to God not as down as before . Since this dramatic episode in my life I notice that whenever there's a misunderstanding in my house I'm always reminded of what happened to me and how I went to church and how I should still remain there(mockery) most especially my immediate younger one no Matter how hard I try to avoid our misunderstanding I just notice she always finds a way to get to me.. Insults on insults telling how bad my life has been and all.. Using what she knows about me to insult me, even my relationship. Like i started to mute whenever all of these starts for my wellbeing. I'm so frustrated like I can't believe they know what I'm going through and keep tormenting me.. At times she does it in the presence of my mum and my mum supports her.This is jut the tip of the iceberg and honestly I'm so exhausted cos it happens constantly

1. Sorry dear but try to go live on your own, pray hard and expect the best from God... Worry no more

2. God is on your side...You would be fine

3. Get a family friend that they respect very well or qualified medical personnel to talk to them.

They do it out of ignorance. U can also get educative materials and articles on the internet about depression and leave were family members can see and read.

Above all,remain strong. Goodluck.

4. Trust me poster when I say I can relate to your tale, for a moment it felt like I wrote this.... actually thought I was the only one going through same, some friends who I helped at some points even mocks me and make side comments about my life, situation and all... I have moved out and am trying to get my life and peace back, I mean my mum and siblings team up mock me and make all sorts of allegations against me and try to paint me bad and useless before everyone, I have moved far away they won't still let me be but I feel better by the day knowing that God is up to something concerning my destiny and career.... so just hold on to God, talk to him every minute of the day... he would heal you

5. Leave that house!!
      But my family members cant bully me sha. Even my elder ones respects me bcos i dont take shit from no baga.
      Look for something else that can fetch u small money. U see u lost ur job and u dint even save anything to do small business or learn something.

6. Leave that house!!
      But my family members cant bully me sha. Even my elder ones respects me bcos i dont take shit from no baga.
      Look for something else that can fetch u small money. U see u lost ur job and u dint even save anything to do small business or learn something.

12. Enough of all this social media is the cause of celeb's marriage issue. It is not social media at all. Wasn't it social media that broke lanre gentry's first marriage? Even your neighbour whose husband cheats on almost everyday, does she do show offs on social media? Even adesua and banky do you guys want to tell me that they have not had issues abt side chick? They have. Adesua and banky has good friends around them friends that will not expose their secret, they got engaged Feb, no blogger got to know abt it bcos their frnds kept the secret, even if Tonto was hiding churchhill, was the sidechick now around them? Even b4 Tonto said it on social media amebos around them sent the news to Stella, una wan tell me say joke silva doesn't have issues with her husband? Or doesn't have sidechick?
    If you like show off your husband on social media or not, if your marriage want to have issue,it will have issue. if banky has had secret marriage with adesua forr years, adesua will still have sidechick issue if banky decides to mess around and amebos will post on social media.
    I have never been to otedola's house or know where his house is by I know every every just by reading naijagistlive, those sidechicks narrated everything abt that man house to the extent of that huge photo frame of this wife on your way to the bedroom, and guess what I saw every every in "cuppy takes africa" reality show. What is the differnet btw you and these celebs, you post your family pictures on fbk and ig and you don't want them to do it? Bcos them be spirit abi, meanwhile some of your post your spouse pix here. Social media is not reponsible for any broken marriage. Andmercy having issue in her marriage does not mean she didn't slay in IG. Some of you here have issues in your home and put a smile on your faces when you are in public, so give this pple a break and lastly you pple always say that if you are in a dv home, speak up and those who decided to speak up are now been insulted and called names. Where is flora today back to her panel beater hubby or that woman that sent Stella a mail of her husband beating her with blood pixs, she is still with her husband.

13. Enough of all this social media is the cause of celeb's marriage issue. It is not social media at all. Wasn't it social media that broke lanre gentry's first marriage? Even your neighbour whose husband cheats on almost everyday, does she do show offs on social media? Even adesua and banky do you guys want to tell me that they have not had issues abt side chick? They have. Adesua and banky has good friends around them friends that will not expose their secret, they got engaged Feb, no blogger got to know abt it bcos their frnds kept the secret, even if Tonto was hiding churchhill, was the sidechick now around them? Even b4 Tonto said it on social media amebos around them sent the news to Stella, una wan tell me say joke silva doesn't have issues with her husband? Or doesn't have sidechick?
    If you like show off your husband on social media or not, if your marriage want to have issue,it will have issue. if banky has had secret marriage with adesua forr years, adesua will still have sidechick issue if banky decides to mess around and amebos will post on social media.
    I have never been to otedola's house or know where his house is by I know every every just by reading naijagistlive, those sidechicks narrated everything abt that man house to the extent of that huge photo frame of this wife on your way to the bedroom, and guess what I saw every every in "cuppy takes africa" reality show. What is the differnet btw you and these celebs, you post your family pictures on fbk and ig and you don't want them to do it? Bcos them be spirit abi, meanwhile some of your post your spouse pix here. Social media is not reponsible for any broken marriage. Andmercy having issue in her marriage does not mean she didn't slay in IG. Some of you here have issues in your home and put a smile on your faces when you are in public, so give this pple a break and lastly you pple always say that if you are in a dv home, speak up and those who decided to speak up are now been insulted and called names. Where is flora today back to her panel beater hubby or that woman that sent Stella a mail of her husband beating her with blood pixs, she is still with her husband.

14. Una papa wey get problem for marriage shey na social media and flaunting of Una partner nai cause am abi?

15. I totally agree with her... Celebs need to tone it down a little with how they all hype themselves on social media

16. Hmmmm, please let's stop indulging this celebrities. They are adults for heavens sake, why do we have to blame social media for their stupidity.
    They have ability to limit what they reveal to the public but no, they want to slay and make people believe their marriage and life is perfect.
    You will be surprise at how adult behave like teenagers posting bathroom selfie, just woke up selfie, after sex selfie etc. They should simply grow up and keep their homes out of the social media.....

17. The celebs didn't manage social media and their personal lives. They let the public too much details about their lives.

The spent time online instead of actually making it work.

18. #Life is going to give you just what you put into it. Put your whole heart in everything you do*