The soul singer had been churning out hits since the ’60s, but he’d never taken home a Grammy. The audience gave him a standing ovation.
“I’ve waited a very long time — 20-something years to win an award such as this,” said the crooner, famous for such Motown classics such as “I Heard It Through the Grapevine,” “What’s Going On?” and “Let’s Get It On.”
The incident and the backstory
Gaye didn’t have long to enjoy his win. Less than 14 months later, on April 1, 1984, he was shot to death by his father, Marvin Gay Sr., one day before his 45th birthday.
Gaye — who added an “e” to his given name — grew up in Washington, D.C., singing at his minister father’s Pentecostal church. In the 2003 Gaye biography, Divided Soul: The Life of Marvin Gaye, author David Ritz quotes the singer’s mother, Alberta, as saying that father and son always had a difficult relationship.
“My husband never wanted Marvin, and he never liked him,” Alberta Gay said. “He used to say he didn’t think he was really his child. I told him that was nonsense. He knew Marvin was his. But for some reason, he didn’t love Marvin, and what’s worse, he didn’t want me to love Marvin either. Marvin wasn’t very old before he understood that.”
Although his father didn’t approve, Gaye began a career in music and, after playing locally, teamed up with Motown’s legendary Berry Gordy. He played the drums for other artists and eventually released his own songs. He had his first top 10 hit on Billboard’s Hot 100 chart in 1963, with “Pride and Joy.” Hits including “How Sweet It Is to Be Love By You,” “Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology),” and duets with Tammi Terrell, such as “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough,” made Gaye one of Motown’s biggest stars of the ’60s and ’70s.
But as the story often goes, trouble in Gaye’s personal life came along with fame. He struggled with drug addiction and canceled shows, and he had problems with finances and in his marriage to Berry Gordy’s sister, Anna Gordy, whom he married in 1963. He attempted suicide at least once.
In 1975 Anna filed for divorce, sparking a messy split that took two years to get resolved. Gaye quickly married Janis Hunter, but she filed for divorce even before her husband’s divorce with Anna was finalized. Struggling financially, Gaye filed for bankruptcy before the IRS came after him for $2 million in back taxes. He toured Europe for a while, but returned stateside in the early ’80s to make a comeback, fueled by his 1982 song “Sexual Healing.”
“I’ve waited a very long time — 20-something years to win an award such as this,” said the crooner, famous for such Motown classics such as “I Heard It Through the Grapevine,” “What’s Going On?” and “Let’s Get It On.”
The incident and the backstory
Gaye didn’t have long to enjoy his win. Less than 14 months later, on April 1, 1984, he was shot to death by his father, Marvin Gay Sr., one day before his 45th birthday.
Gaye — who added an “e” to his given name — grew up in Washington, D.C., singing at his minister father’s Pentecostal church. In the 2003 Gaye biography, Divided Soul: The Life of Marvin Gaye, author David Ritz quotes the singer’s mother, Alberta, as saying that father and son always had a difficult relationship.
“My husband never wanted Marvin, and he never liked him,” Alberta Gay said. “He used to say he didn’t think he was really his child. I told him that was nonsense. He knew Marvin was his. But for some reason, he didn’t love Marvin, and what’s worse, he didn’t want me to love Marvin either. Marvin wasn’t very old before he understood that.”
Although his father didn’t approve, Gaye began a career in music and, after playing locally, teamed up with Motown’s legendary Berry Gordy. He played the drums for other artists and eventually released his own songs. He had his first top 10 hit on Billboard’s Hot 100 chart in 1963, with “Pride and Joy.” Hits including “How Sweet It Is to Be Love By You,” “Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology),” and duets with Tammi Terrell, such as “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough,” made Gaye one of Motown’s biggest stars of the ’60s and ’70s.
But as the story often goes, trouble in Gaye’s personal life came along with fame. He struggled with drug addiction and canceled shows, and he had problems with finances and in his marriage to Berry Gordy’s sister, Anna Gordy, whom he married in 1963. He attempted suicide at least once.
In 1975 Anna filed for divorce, sparking a messy split that took two years to get resolved. Gaye quickly married Janis Hunter, but she filed for divorce even before her husband’s divorce with Anna was finalized. Struggling financially, Gaye filed for bankruptcy before the IRS came after him for $2 million in back taxes. He toured Europe for a while, but returned stateside in the early ’80s to make a comeback, fueled by his 1982 song “Sexual Healing.”
From yahoo celebrities
Ah ah Stella, why digging up 34yr old story??
ReplyDeleteSo what happened to his father??
DeleteThe music guy his dad killed.
ReplyDeleteReal Gay men r a stable talented bunch. They r very Artist in nature and seem to break bounds ,this pple c things differently and create things same way, they always r peace setters. From music to fashion to u name it, the best Soul touching ( male) music's were/ r done by Gay men ,fashion et al. I think them being different brings out something out of this World to life. Let's love them for what brings joy! Say no to homophobic abi na homophobia
DeleteWhat the fuck are u talking about?...wetin bring gay come this post nah...and yes am homophobic
DeleteThe story is not complete.
ReplyDeleteHus father killed him on stage while he was performing sexual healing-dude was straffing live on stage and his father pulled the trigger cuz the embarrassment was too much.
Google is ur friend my friend.
DeleteI bia kwa...he was killed in his bedroom after a physical altercation between his dad n mum in which he intervened. Wiki said so. Lol
DeleteGosh!Anonymous 17.14... Google is your friend!His father killed him in their home!ignoramus Oshi!
DeleteBlood of zerubabel...he was not killed live on stage oh....his dad shot him in his bedroom
DeleteNope. He was killed in his bedroom by his father, Not on stage
DeleteMy mother always repeats this story to parents who dont like their children for any particular reason. I think Marvin Gay senior was a pastor
ReplyDeleteChikito my own mum tld me this story wen she heard me use d song as my ring tone. I think she even said his father was a pastor
DeleteThis exact thing happened to me omg...the ring tone thing lmaoooo
DeleteHe was such a fine musician, with beautiful vocals. Sometimes I wonder what his life would have been like if he had a better upbringing. And whatever makes a father hate his own son that much....
ReplyDeleteMrsBee
His voice! Kai.
DeleteLife wasted.. I still listen to "Sexual Healing" and "Ain't No Mountain High Enough"
ReplyDeleteSo sad....
ReplyDeleteThe story isn't complete now Stella. Anyways that song Sexual Healing reminds me of my one time College Ex who if she's in the mood you'd know when that song is on repeat.
ReplyDeleteFinish the story naa.?
ReplyDeleteWaoh
ReplyDeleteTroubled singer, but very talented (talented people often are). Can't understand his father's hatred for him, as a supposed minister of God, hmmmm. Love his song sexual healing, let's get it on and how sweet it is to be loved by you. However sexual healing is my best. Rip Marvin, singing "Night shift" by the Commodores...
ReplyDeleteThe problem with talent is that it is momentary. There will always be someone better, more talented, more vocal, more beautiful. That makes them bothered. Puts alot of pressure on them to work even harder on their craft. And often leads them to drugs, vices and eventually, suicide when they cannot seem to get better...When your talent is all you have got, all you live for, what happens when it begins to fade to someone else's?
DeleteGeneral Zod, thanks for helping me type out my thoughts.
DeleteOohhh Let's get it on, how on earth did I forget that one!
DeleteGeneral Sod, I couldn't agree more
So much wisdom in your words General Zod
DeleteANything drugs, alcoholism, clubbing, etc get behind me and my generation. AMen
ReplyDeleteThe other side of Marvin
ReplyDeleteABEG HOW MUCH DO NURSES EARN IN USA
ReplyDeleteMillions wen convert here. In less than a yr I guarantee u, u will build a good bungalow in ur parents village. But getting accepted is always d issh
DeleteOh wow! He died so long ago even before I was born, yet I still enjoy his songs.... I must have an old mind.😀😀😀😀
ReplyDeleteSexual healing is on my playlist like always....
Its called a Classic
DeleteMarvin Gaye Sexual healing is onpoint.....
ReplyDeleteI love his songs. what a pity, he was drug addict!
ReplyDeleteI love his songs. What a pity!
ReplyDeleteHis life was a tragedy.
ReplyDeleteHe died a young legend. Which is way better than a long unfulfilled life.
Fame. These flashing lights could make you lose your focus..
That's why Kendrick says ; Be Humble. Sit down.
Let me check him out
ReplyDeleteThe lack of warmth and affection growing up probably messed him up..His father beat him up brutally even at an early age.
ReplyDeleteAnon he wasn't shot on stage, his dad shot him at home.
Dude even got less than 10years... Manslaughter.
I love his songs. Sexual healing in particular
ReplyDeleteHmm, I love that song Sexual healing, he would have really gone far, but the hatred from the dad was so much
ReplyDeleteFunny, my fave Marvin Gaye song isnt sexual healing. Its 'Heard it Through the Grapevine' and his duets with Diana Ross, 'Stop, look, listen' 'You are everything' ...
ReplyDeleteAnd the song 'Night shift' by the Commodores [Lionel Richie's Former Group] was for Him.
Digging out my Best of Marvin Gaye and that Commodore song right away.
Great music!
Chai! Sexual healing, when I get that feeling...... 1984,I was 14 and a Virgin. Dancing with a delectable and sumptuous female in a party when this song came on. We had to dance slow (blues it was called those days) as I held her tight. I held tighter as an inexplicable sensation went through my body. I had to go to the bathroom to clean the thick sperm off my pants. I can never forget this song.
ReplyDeleteHis father caught him in bed with another man, took his gun and killed him. As a pastor, he was not going to allow his child to be gay. Marvin bore his surnames from cradle to the grave.
That is NOT true. The argument had even been between his parents about an insurance policy and he confronted his father over it. The confrontation turned violent ad he began to hit his father who didnt respond. The next day or so, the man took his gun a Smith and Wesson that Marvin had actually purchased for him for protection and shot him through the heart.
DeleteEven at the point of death while bleeding, he muttered that he didnt have the courage to take his own life and that this is what he always wanted.
They always had a tumultuous relationship.
Hmm