Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: MTN Sacks 280 Of It's Staff....

Tuesday, May 02, 2017

MTN Sacks 280 Of It's Staff....

Telecommunications giant, MTN has disengaged 280 of its employees in Nigeria​.

​Staff​ affected include some 200 permanent employees and about 80 contract staff across various cadres, ranging from new graduates to senior managers‎​.

​Many had 15 years with the company having joined MT​N after it opened office in ​Nigeria in 2001.

​It was gathered that workers were given a​ ​severance of 75% of their gross monthly income multiplied by the number of years with the company.

“Given that the company is about 16 years old in Nigeria, the severance package brought pain and discontent among the affected staff,” ​a source told Premium Times.

“With the payoff structure, senior managers with 15 years of service were left with about N15 million. Most of the staff got less than N5 million.”

The source said the company introduced the voluntary severance scheme, VSS, to provide a window for one week in April, for persons who have served in MTN for five years and above to take up.

Th​e 280 who ​decided to leave under the VSS were to be paid the equivalent of their three weeks gross salary for every year they worked with MTN.

“What it means is that if one worked in MTN for five years, one would be paid three weeks of their gross salaries times five,” the source ​added.

MTN, a few weeks ago, paid additional N30bn fine to Nigerian government​.

From dailypost

21 comments:

1. Yesterday it was ecobank coating theirs with deploy. Today gan is Mtn coating theirs with Vss abi warrever. What's happening?

2. One wakes up to one sad news every morning🤔🤔😑 Nawa!

3. What is all these na? Honestly, one should not just jubilate for getting employed in the banking or telecom industry cos no job security at all.

Lord help us!

4. Airtel did this in 2012, and their severance pay was more favorable, if what is written up there is anything to go by.

1. Princess Scheherazade2 May 2017 at 09:57

...And again in late 2015.
      Theirs was one months salary multiplied by the number of years though, not three weeks.
      The one in 2012 was contract staff only though.

5. They should manage the money and invest wisely. Based on the fact that I grew up in the barracks (wardB I hail o) I know many civil servants who served for 35years and retired with less than 5million naira. Yes,after 35years and you won't even be given the complete money cos your pension manager will hold on to maybe half of it that they'll be giving you small-small monthly allowance from. Though depending on rank you can get upto 10million and above.

6. So 280 job applicants are now in the labour market. I fell for the network the govt have being slamming them with heavy fines. Well someone paid 15m should start a biz.

7. Most of these Managers in Mtn are corrupt, am sure of the customer relation department.
    Our salary then from South Africa was 250k,after their own personal benefit, u get #80k home.
    And that attitude the permanent staff give the contract staff, is nothing to talk about, especially when it comes to staff bus.
    Thank God I got something better.
    Let them bring Managers from South Africa and trust me all employees will enjoy better like when they first came to Naija

8. And this morning dismissed Armed Forces soldiers are protesting from my area heading Central Area Abuja . I drove past them few minutes ago

1. Armed forces mopol nko .

9. Just painful. More labourers and no jobs

10. Airtel did theirs some years back. Now I appreciate learning a skill

11. Everywhere Nigerian Breweries sent 150 home a day to Easter. Nice package as confirmed by my paddy. 10 years got 8million and 6 months basic salary. So is every company. Apc things are tight. Buhari is sick and so the nation

12. Not again, when so many people are looking for​ job

13. The Mtn disengagement which happened on friday affected two of my people in their Asaba office, To think they have families with grown up kids.smh.... It is well with you guys. God will continue to sustain the disengaged persons.

14. This is no longer news! It happened last month! Immediately afta I resigned the shit happened! As if I knew