Describing himself as a man of his words, Kachikwu said he had kept all of the promises he made since he became a public official in Nigeria.
The minister, who said he sets targets and meets them, vowed to resign if he does not deliver on this particular promise of Nigeria becoming a net exporter of petroleum products by 2019.
While fielding questions from Stephen Sackur on BBC Hardtalk, Kachikwu said: “I have delivered on all that I have promised when I came into office. First, I took Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) and made it a profit-making organisation. This is the first time in history, I reshaped the organisation.
“I removed cash call deficits of over $6bn and renegotiated it. Everything that I have promised since coming into office, I have delivered. I will deliver on the refineries and I’m committed to it.
“I will also deliver a future for oil that makes sense for Nigeria. Bear in mind one has been there for one and a half years, the president has been there for two years; I can’t pretend that we’re going to solve in one day all the problems that happened in Nigeria in the past.”
Asked again when Nigeria will be self-sufficient in crude refining, he said, “our target is 2019…don’t worry, I put the date, I’ll work it.”
Sackur interrupted, saying, “And if you don’t achieve it, you’ll walk?” and Kachikwu replied saying, “Yes, of course, that is the reason why you are in government.”
The Cable
*Hmmm So much Energy in him to want to make things better...one of the few good men we have!..
I just wish he can run for president come 2019.
ReplyDeleteKachikwu is one of those men that still have Nigeria at heart.
Krix signing out via iPhone 7+
No be 2019 be next election? Mtshew
DeleteOh yeah?! Lets see na if this one wont be the usual to talk kawai and nothing at the end of the day.
ReplyDeleteTill then naa,we'll see what will happen .
ReplyDeleteGod Bless Everyone.
Yinmu
ReplyDelete2019 is too far na. Or is that a subtle way of saying Buhari will not be in Aso Rock come 2019 and so his position in government will not be guaranteed?
ReplyDeleteOga resign now don't till then.
Its ok to want to make things better but saying he will resign in 2019? What is the certainty that he will be there by then?
ReplyDeleteOk good for him, but wait o he's walking away in 2019 when APC are also going to walk out of office right? #justthinkingoutloud
ReplyDeleteI pray God help you meet this target Mr kachikwu, just remain focused on your goal.
ReplyDeleteThe next general election is 2019. He can only remain as minister if buhari is the President
ReplyDeleteStory story!!!
ReplyDeleteAll these APC goons and noisemakers should keep quiet. We are still waiting for N1 to a dollar. Yeye
ReplyDeleteIf all the people in government are sincere i guess Nigeria will be in a better position now
ReplyDeleteYou guys should read #suffer for justice
That's what they all say.
ReplyDeleteStory for the gods
ReplyDeleteI don't believeit
ReplyDeleteHow is he sure he will still be in that position in 2019? No one knows tomorrow.
ReplyDeleteFrom the day of independent till now, same story, same result, same failure. Have lost faith, interest, hope, etc in the entity called nigeria and her people. Period.
ReplyDeleteReading responses here, I now see why there ain't so much development in this country. We all expect our politicians to deliver just immediate progress thus we see Roads and buildings as end of our dreams.
ReplyDeleteIt is time for us to wake up and know that vision of a better tomorrow are laid when leaders look into the future: 10, 15 & 20 years ahead. There is an African proverb says: The village progresses when elders plant trees whose shade they know they would not sit in.
Long term goals are the hallmark of development.
Story story!!!
ReplyDeletePlease resign lemme occupy the position
Okay 👌