Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ecobank Shuts Down 74 Branches And Embrace Digital Channels

Monday, May 01, 2017

Ecobank Shuts Down 74 Branches And Embrace Digital Channels

Ecobank Nigeria, a subsidiary of the Ecobank group, says it has merged 74 of its branches.
The bank says it will deploy staff from the merged branches to other projects.

A statement by the bank reaffirmed its commitment to digital transformation, which would enable customers carry out banking activities online, thereby reducing the need to visit physical locations.

Charles Kie, the managing director, said the bank hopes to shift its activities to digital channels and improve customers’ experience at reduced cost.

This, he said, also supports the bank’s financial inclusion strategy and the cashless policy of the Central Bank of Nigeria.

Kie said the bank has enhanced its retail Internet banking platform with the Ecobank mobile app that enables customers to do instant payments; open accounts, as well as do instant transfers across 33 countries in Africa.

“After a detailed analysis of the physical network of branches needed to serve our customers, the decision was made by the Ecobank Nigeria board, and approved by the Central Bank of Nigeria, to optimise 74 out of its 479 branches,” Kie said.

The statement failed to touch on Thursday’s reports that the bank had terminated the appointment of about 50 top personnel staff.

“We are deploying staff and other resources from the merged branches to other ongoing projects, while also strengthening the existing branches to make them more resourceful and up to speed in their daily activities,” he added.

--Cableng

29 comments:

1. Deploy is a graceful way of sacking.

1. You don talk am. Btw,this bank will become highly inaccessible, that is why I like Skye because they are everywhere you go. How many Nigerians do online transactions? 😒

2. You don talk am. Btw,this bank will become highly inaccessible, that is why I like Skye because they are everywhere you go. How many Nigerians do online transactions? 😒

3. Abeg Skye bank no be bank na to bury remain. All the banks are shaking. It's what the govt want by introducing TSA

4. How will you say Skye bank no bi bank?That bank has had its issues and has been able to sail through it and still standing,I have an account with them and it's still the only bank I can leave my money and go to bed.Pls do ur findings.

5. The bank that is giving ridiculous targets to their staffs. One of their was prostrating and begging my uncle to terminate his fixed deposit with the first generation bank that they'll sack her. They have not sall through they just don't want the customers to panic

6. Skye Bank dat dey bought over already.If u r looking for everywhere you go Bank,den talk about First Bank not an already downtrodden Skye Bank

2. I hope they are being true to themselves and deploying the affected staff members other than that, it's a good move.
    First Bank and Union bank also need to restructure

3. I hope they are being true to themselves and deploying the affected staff members other than that, it's a good move.
    First Bank and Union bank also need to restructure

1. Which project? Hehehehehe

2. Deposit na

3. Union is restructuring. So far, they are trying.

4. That one na bank?mtchheww

1. Highness Gwen, no be bank I swear, that's my bank but I'm so done with them, told them to close my account sef

2. No be bank I swear. Na my student account be that. I still get 3k plus there sef

1. It's a nice way of saying "...we had no other choice but to send them home. Kindly bear with us".

6. The one on CMD Road needs to be deployed. Lol. The building is just wasting and the banking space is just a small portion of the entire building.

7. Very annoy bank ... The function like we are still in the 80s

8. Deploying? Is that a coded way of saying sack? I don't believe them jare. God help us o.

9. Na sack be that oooo. Painful. I know of their managers there

10. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Banking work o, nobi work.... Very painflu something.....

11. The bank is really lagging ..how come they dtill operating sef? Poor management and all. Btw,nothing like deploying staffs,some were given letter of redundancy.

12. Ecobank no be bank indeed. Slow like snails. Vested interest everywhere. Flexcube that works in other banks doesn't work in Ecobank. They want to move their customers to echannels.. which one exactly? The mobile app wey no dey work well or the debit card that dissapoints. The problem of that bank is spiritual. If you like go carry the best hands from Citi bank, na the same failure. How many customers una get sef as in real real customers? 7 wetin... if i hear..Make i waka before i open all your yansh for here.

13. You're so right... right next to caleb...