Statistics shows that here are 7 billion people in the world, and 300 Million people living with depression.
This is not just common with developing countries and underdeveloped countries, but even developed countries like the US has a disability burden which is mainly as a result of depression.
While depression can affect anyone, the causes are wide ranging and can be triggered by a number of factors, which include poverty, rape,loss of a loved one, conflicts, domestic violence, substance abuse, social isolation, genetics e.t.c.
It's very surprising how little or no attention is given to our mental health in Nigeria, if at all it is acknowledged, it is attributed to supernatural forces.
Complete health is both physical and mental.
People should know that :
1.Depression is not particular to any gender or race.
2.Depression is not a sign weakness, it shows you have been strong for too long
3. Depression can be treated
Some of the common signs and symptoms to look out for are: Lack of concentration, fatigue, feeling guilty, feeling hopeless, always wanting to be alone, persistent sadness, insomnia and thoughts of suicide.
Speak up. Seek help. Stay mentally strong
Powered by PHAAE.org
I want to abort a 2weeks old pregnancy. Please what do I use?
ReplyDeletePlease don't do it. I suggest u birth the baby and give it up for adoption.
DeleteOR cry to God for miscarriage.
Anonymoous make una speak up before una jump inside lagoon
ReplyDeleteChikito, happy birthday.
ReplyDeleteAnd happy birthday, merry Christmas and a happy new year to your mother too. 😂😂
DeleteSales extremely slow this week that I'm beginning to feel depressed. Sleepless night and all that..... thank God the week has come to an end. Next week will by far be better.
ReplyDeleteNa wah o. How can u bear my nick name and then be suffering the same woes that I am suffering. Sales have really been poor this week.
DeleteTo vote for Tboss Text Vote Efe and send via SMS to 32052.
ReplyDeleteIt is not just about adressing it,but also educating medical practioners on how to help one overcome it at general hospitopl,or create free counselling session and meeting with therapist.we keep adressing it but we also have to think of a solution or ways to help people get over it.in every 40 second a life by people who commit suicide due to depression.most people know they are fighting despression what we need is how to get over it.
ReplyDeleteAt Choosen. God bless you for your comment. You said it perfectly. I have been depressed for many years and many times people have no idea why I can be depressed when my life life is enviable to many but material wealth have nothing to do with your inner. I'm financially blessed beyond my imaginations but very sad and empty inside. The people around you are there for what they can get and the so called Church people were phony and not genuine . Please pray for me to get inner peace and happy folks
DeleteIf you feel you are depressed seek medical help, there are medications and activity to make you feel better. Depression can be treated
DeleteBattling depression is hard, but you don't have to take it all in. see a doctor preferably a psychiatrist.
DeleteHow will you admit to being depressed when ignorant people will say u are seeking attention. But God will let them experience it too in their loved ones. And then they'd understand.
DeleteStart taking vitamin B complex. If you can't find a stress b complex, take about 2-3 dosage of regular B complex twice a day. You will notice the difference overtime. Take vitamin C in high dosage. Between 2000mg-5000mg depending on how severe the anxiety. As time goes by, you will reduce it. Vitamin D also helps a lot! Also take your daily multi vitamins. Lastly, FACE YOUR DEMONS! That's what anxiety is, FEAR. Take baby steps to facing your fears even if it means changing your environment for a while.
DeleteGod bless
It is well
ReplyDeleteNo matter how u shout no one is ready to help in this our country, instead the will help u commit suicide.
ReplyDeleteAt Favourite. You said it well but not only in this country Darling but all over the world.and the reason is because there is not much PBS about mental health. People including myself are ashamed and embarrassed to tell people how sad we are inside as they would understand because they were not educated enough about living with people with depression. I cried inside my Rolls Royce on my crocodile Hermes birkin bag on a daily basis.
DeleteThe Lord is your strength.
DeleteStart taking vitamin B complex. If you can't find a stress b complex, take about 2-3 dosage of regular visits complex twice a day. You will notice the difference overtime. Take vitamin C in high dosage. Between 2000mg-5000mg depending on how severe the anxiety. As time goes by, you will reduce it. Vitamin D also helps a lot! Also take your daily multi vitamins.
DeleteAlso look into folate! Not folic acid o. Folate.
Lastly, FACE YOUR DEMONS! That's what anxiety is, FEAR. Take baby steps to facing your fears even if it means changing your environment for a while.
God bless
I pray that one day I will have the power to advocate for this horrible disease. There is a lot of awareness on Cancer, child abuse, violence against women and what not, please don't get me wrong as there is nothing bad about that but mental health particularly Depression is a big disease and I happens to be a victim of that. Some days are better than the other.
ReplyDeleteI started being depressed since i lost my mother and haven't gotten over it even 10 years after she passed away. Failed marriage, disappointed relationships, losing good jobs and many other life situations.
Often, we are so busy rushing throughout our day, we miss opportunities to help those who really need it. Most especially people that were depressed and sad.
When this disease hit you, you just want to end it all. And people doesn't understand why you have it all but still depressed. Really? Is a mental thing and is indescribable.
You either become fat or skinny when you are depressed too.
I have had many days that I feel like committing suicide because i feel very sad and empty
Sometimes, just showing that you are there for someone with this disease can make a huge difference but unfortunately people do not understand how someone that looks like they have the whole world at their palm can be suicidal.
PLEASE FOLKS MENTAL HEALTH IS NOT A JOKE TO BE TOY WITH. BEING DEPRESSED DOES NOT MEANS THE PERSON IS CRAZY BUT MEANS THEY WERE SAD AND EMPTY AND IS INDESCRIBABLE.
Please help out there and help someone today. AND GOD BLESS YOU ALL
I pray that one day I will have the power to advocate for this horrible disease. There is a lot of awareness on Cancer, child abuse, violence against women and what not, please don't get me wrong as there is nothing bad about that but mental health particularly Depression is a big disease and I happens to be a victim of that. Some days are better than the other.
ReplyDeleteI started being depressed since i lost my mother and haven't gotten over it even 10 years after she passed away. Failed marriage, disappointed relationships, losing good jobs and many other life situations.
Often, we are so busy rushing throughout our day, we miss opportunities to help those who really need it. Most especially people that were depressed and sad.
When this disease hit you, you just want to end it all. And people doesn't understand why you have it all but still depressed. Really? Is a mental thing and is indescribable.
You either become fat or skinny when you are depressed too.
I have had many days that I feel like committing suicide because i feel very sad and empty
Sometimes, just showing that you are there for someone with this disease can make a huge difference but unfortunately people do not understand how someone that looks like they have the whole world at their palm can be suicidal.
PLEASE FOLKS MENTAL HEALTH IS NOT A JOKE TO BE TOY WITH. BEING DEPRESSED DOES NOT MEANS THE PERSON IS CRAZY BUT MEANS THEY WERE SAD AND EMPTY AND IS INDESCRIBABLE.
Please help out there and help someone today. AND GOD BLESS YOU ALL
Hang in there ok. Nothing remains permanent forever. Have you looked into folate? I will also post what I recommended for someone just now.
DeleteStart taking vitamin B complex. If you can't find a stress b complex, take about 2-3 dosage of regular visits complex twice a day. You will notice the difference overtime. Take vitamin C in high dosage. Between 2000mg-5000mg depending on how severe the anxiety. As time goes by, you will reduce it. Vitamin D also helps a lot! Also take your daily multi vitamins. Lastly, FACE YOUR DEMONS! That's what anxiety is, FEAR. Take baby steps to facing your fears even if it means changing your environment for a while.
God bless
Hmmm
ReplyDeleteAny time I notice that I am very close to depression I hold onto the word of God. I start attending dunamis healing and deliverance service. And within a short time I will bounce back again.
ReplyDeleteGod is the answer.
I had severe attacks that lasted months after attending a dunamis church for the first time. I have questioned the spirituality of that church (mainly the branch) since then. Just a personal experience.
DeleteSometimes I dont always know if to wish for depression in place of the panic and anxiety disorder dt i have been living with for the past 2years of my life and has snatched away my happy days.. I just want to be me again, think like me, feel me again.. jst in my early twenties, so saddening. My friends wld practically laugh and wont blv wat I am going thru. Its true that there's little to no awareness about mental illnesses, none of it feels good. Panic and anxiety attack is also worse. Cant sleep, alwys scared, respiratory and digestive issues and aided by the mind, alwys feeling like I have a heart attack and cld drop dead any minute, I see d negative side of everything. Arrrrrggghhh its killing. Have mercy dear ever living and forever faithful God.
ReplyDeleteMake everything I am about to list part of your daily regime.
DeleteStart taking vitamin B complex. If you can't find a stress B complex, take about 2-3 dosage of regular B complex twice a day. You will notice the difference within days/weeks. Take vitamin C in high dosage. Between 2000mg-5000mg depending on how severe the anxiety. As time goes by, you will reduce it. Vitamin D3 also helps a lot! Also take your daily multi vitamins. Lastly, FACE YOUR DEMONS! That's what anxiety is, FEAR. Take baby steps to facing your fears even if it means changing your environment for a while.
God bless
"To abort a 2 week old pregnancy"
ReplyDeleteTo the first commenter, you could have written it as; "I want to kill a 2 weeks old baby what do I use or how do I do it?"
Kindly read these scriptures and enlighten yourself:
Proverbs 6:10-16, Proverbs 28:17, Genesis 9:6, Mathew 26:52
A murderer's tormented conscience will drive him into the grave. Don't protect him! (proverbs 28:17)
Why not go to the reverend sister's convent and report and find the other options instead of abortion? Why saddle your conscience with the guilt and consequences of murder of the innocents?
At anon 19.30. I feel your pains because I'm in the same boat too but please seek help and do not be afraid to share your problems, God willing, this too shall pass. Is not a good feeling to be depressed and a lot of people have no clue how painful it is to be very depressed. I wish I can help you more but please just know that Gods says "He will be with us until the end" and will never leave us alone too My Dear
ReplyDeleteWhy y'all anonymous though? So una plenty for here? But you use your ID to abuse those who come out to speak about how they've directly or indirectly battled depression. Lol. Sorry you hear?