Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Service Year Boulevard 97

Saturday, April 22, 2017

Service Year Boulevard 97

Service year Boulevard is back with a bang!!!

My journey to the land of Sokoto was nothing I expected it was full of ups and downs but in it all I give Glory to God. I decided to send my SYB today…I was a corper with the BATCH A corpers that just passed out. I raise beyonce hand for you Stella, you are the best.

CALL UP EXPERIENCE.
I chose four state, Lagos (as usual),Port Harcourt, Abuja and Sokoto. I my mind, I was like God forbid make the carry me go Sokoto…hian I can’t shout biko. Even when God was telling me Sokoto…I close my ears, anus and any part my body air could pass…my pastor told me he served in Sokoto (I didn’t care), a close friend of my, sef  join the wagon “I served in sokoto” (in my mind I was yimuing),at least if Lagos no sure, Abuja go sure. 

On the day the call up came out…as if my village people knew, naso my subscription finish oh. I told a friend of mine to epp me check am naso him tell.. ” GUY NA SOKOTO”. I  devastated  I checked google map, Imagine the weather condition and the distance from Lagos.

CAMP EXPERIENCE
I had fun in camp; I joined OBS and was a presenter. I was also the financial secretary and social director for my platoon. I also marched and was a mammy boy, went to mammy every day. Hmm, the real drama began when I got my posting letter. I was posted to a border town in Sokoto, and I almost cried; my village people don dey review my file abi. I was out of civilization, no domino pizza, no Shoprite, no silver bird cinema (thanks to jenifa diary for filling in this gap).

SERVING EXPERIENCE
I was posted to a Government school, and my V.P aka papi Lolo wanted to make life difficult for us (he later became my best friend). I taught Biology and was the form master in the school.

Stella I was so busy I didn’t have time for myself. The sun was so hot… anyone who says NYSC cap no epp am, make him come sokoto, we had to wear our cap every time we went out. The sand storm unko, no be here, all the sand I swept from my room can build a mini flat…I remember been locked in the bathroom during one of the sand storm, I prayed in tongue and shouted but no one could hear me, in my mind i was like I can’t come and die here oh…GOD my father, save me.

I served in various capacity, as a CDS president, a PRO, A TEACHER, A FORM TEACHER, A HOUSE MATER…They were up to seven. I had cooking class cooking where  I taught people how to make cakes and other pastries and organized free classes for people.

I even did 9 community development project for the community, which included giving the school laboratory furnishing (Stella do you remember my mail, asking you to support me?), to crown it all I won the state honours award for my service to the state ( I won four awards in total)

Hilarious experience
When one of my student told me “ uncle remove from the board”..i  was dumb founded
The day my roommate bought meat and the rats in my room stole 12 pieces of meat out of the 15 pieces( thank God before I left I killed all the 10 rats…I LAUGH TIRE).

Service taught me to respect people from other works of life( but some people here can spit for Africa).  I lost 23 KG during service( went from 87kg to 64kg)…..I  also want to say thank you stella for your blog, it made service wonderful………….

*Hmmm my God,you lost so much weight and turned very black.you are so unrecognizable from your before and after photos.....you look like you need a long rest...well doe Bro!

25 comments:

1. Wow
    Thank God for you. I think serving in the rural area is the best because on a norm I don't think you will find yourself there.
    Still doing it here in uzo uwani, God help us.

2. Congrats dear and may God open doors of favour for you.

3. Thank God for you dear poster. This blog is somehow confusing with all the changes. But we will adapt.

4. I registered yesterday chooses Ogun, Akwa ibom,Jos and Kaduna cause Lagos and Abuja is filled up,I pray i get posted to any of the state except Kaduna ,Lord help me..

5. Upon all the activities you partook in in the camp, you were still posted to a village.
    Well done sha, you sound like an active person. Na you really do youth service.
    During my service year, I was also "all weather"... Teacher, house mistress, typist, every every. Was also an OBS member.

6. Great SYB. You sure allowed NYSC give u an unforgettable experience. Am glad u made the best use of ur time there.

LMAO@ Rats stole 12 meat out of 15 meat.

7. Hmmmmmm congrats. Na wa o for the sun over there. Thank God for you

8. I love d new look of d blog

9. Welcome back dear. Nice experience

10. Was going to say that your color will def change, then stella confirmed it. Sun in the north can roast someone alive.
    Thank God you are done, focus on getting your old self back

11. #One day you will realize that material things mean nothing. All that matters is the well-being of the people in your life*

12. I was also posted to sokoto my experience in sokoto was Jst a little over a month and I can testify to the sandstorms and hot weather bad water no light and so on. I tank God I redeployed after I had horrible mumps after camp nice chronicle... Hehehehehehe

13. Congrats 🎈 ! May God's favour locate you

14. Did you serve in Ilella? I did in 2005-2006. It was a pleasant experience.

15. Very good Narrative. I love the flow.

16. With grammar this bad...what in God's name were you teaching in that Biology class?