Service year Boulevard is back with a bang!!!
My journey to the land of Sokoto was
nothing I expected it was full of ups and downs but in it all I give Glory to
God. I decided to send my SYB today…I was a corper with the BATCH A corpers
that just passed out. I raise beyonce hand for you Stella, you are the best.
CALL UP EXPERIENCE.
I chose four state, Lagos (as usual),Port
Harcourt, Abuja and Sokoto. I my mind, I was like God forbid make the carry me
go Sokoto…hian I can’t shout biko. Even when God was telling me Sokoto…I close
my ears, anus and any part my body air could pass…my pastor told me he served
in Sokoto (I didn’t care), a close friend of my, sef join the wagon “I served in sokoto” (in my
mind I was yimuing),at least if Lagos no sure, Abuja go sure.
On the day the call
up came out…as if my village people knew, naso my subscription finish oh. I
told a friend of mine to epp me check am naso him tell.. ” GUY NA SOKOTO”.
I devastated I checked google map, Imagine the weather
condition and the distance from Lagos.
CAMP EXPERIENCE
I had fun in camp; I joined OBS and was a
presenter. I was also the financial secretary and social director for my
platoon. I also marched and was a mammy boy, went to mammy every day. Hmm, the
real drama began when I got my posting letter. I was posted to a border town in
Sokoto, and I almost cried; my village people don dey review my file abi. I was
out of civilization, no domino pizza, no Shoprite, no silver bird cinema
(thanks to jenifa diary for filling in this gap).
SERVING EXPERIENCE
I was posted to a Government school, and my
V.P aka papi Lolo wanted to make life difficult for us (he later became my best
friend). I taught Biology and was the form master in the school.
Stella I was
so busy I didn’t have time for myself. The sun was so hot… anyone who says NYSC
cap no epp am, make him come sokoto, we had to wear our cap every time we went
out. The sand storm unko, no be here, all the sand I swept from my room can
build a mini flat…I remember been locked in the bathroom during one of the sand
storm, I prayed in tongue and shouted but no one could hear me, in my mind i
was like I can’t come and die here oh…GOD my father, save me.
I served in various capacity, as a CDS
president, a PRO, A TEACHER, A FORM TEACHER, A HOUSE MATER…They were up to seven.
I had cooking class cooking where I taught people how to make cakes and other pastries and organized free classes for
people.
I even did 9 community development project
for the community, which included giving the school laboratory furnishing (Stella
do you remember my mail, asking you to support me?), to crown it all I won the
state honours award for my service to the state ( I won four awards in total)
Hilarious experience
When one of my student told me “ uncle
remove from the board”..i was dumb founded
The day my roommate bought meat and the
rats in my room stole 12 pieces of meat out of the 15 pieces( thank God before
I left I killed all the 10 rats…I LAUGH TIRE).
Service taught me to respect people from
other works of life( but some people here can spit for Africa). I lost 23 KG during service( went from 87kg
to 64kg)…..I also want to say thank you
stella for your blog, it made service wonderful………….
*Hmmm my God,you lost so much weight and turned very black.you are so unrecognizable from your before and after photos.....you look like you need a long rest...well doe Bro!
I like your chronicle
ReplyDeleteYeah me liky ur service
DeleteNa real chronicle o
DeleteNortherners like to spit, tufia.
DeleteI dunno why but I just love this SYB
DeleteWow
ReplyDeleteThank God for you. I think serving in the rural area is the best because on a norm I don't think you will find yourself there.
Still doing it here in uzo uwani, God help us.
Congrats dear and may God open doors of favour for you.
ReplyDeleteThank God for you dear poster. This blog is somehow confusing with all the changes. But we will adapt.
ReplyDeleteYes, we will adapt.
DeleteYea,we will adjust
DeleteI registered yesterday chooses Ogun, Akwa ibom,Jos and Kaduna cause Lagos and Abuja is filled up,I pray i get posted to any of the state except Kaduna ,Lord help me..
ReplyDeleteUpon all the activities you partook in in the camp, you were still posted to a village.
ReplyDeleteWell done sha, you sound like an active person. Na you really do youth service.
During my service year, I was also "all weather"... Teacher, house mistress, typist, every every. Was also an OBS member.
Great SYB. You sure allowed NYSC give u an unforgettable experience. Am glad u made the best use of ur time there.
ReplyDeleteLMAO@ Rats stole 12 meat out of 15 meat.
Hmmmmmm congrats. Na wa o for the sun over there. Thank God for you
ReplyDeleteNa real wah
ReplyDeleteI love d new look of d blog
ReplyDeleteNice Chronicle welldon
ReplyDeleteWelcome back dear. Nice experience
ReplyDeleteWas going to say that your color will def change, then stella confirmed it. Sun in the north can roast someone alive.
ReplyDeleteThank God you are done, focus on getting your old self back
#One day you will realize that material things mean nothing. All that matters is the well-being of the people in your life*
ReplyDeleteI was also posted to sokoto my experience in sokoto was Jst a little over a month and I can testify to the sandstorms and hot weather bad water no light and so on. I tank God I redeployed after I had horrible mumps after camp nice chronicle... Hehehehehehe
ReplyDeleteCongrats 🎈 ! May God's favour locate you
ReplyDeleteDid you serve in Ilella? I did in 2005-2006. It was a pleasant experience.
ReplyDeleteVery good Narrative. I love the flow.
ReplyDeleteWith grammar this bad...what in God's name were you teaching in that Biology class?