The foremost traditional ruler in Yorubaland made it clear that he was not bothered by Akiolu’s action and that he was committed to ensuring unity among monarchs in the region.
Oba Ogunwusi was speaking through the Director Media and Public Affairs, Ooni’s Palace on Wednesday.
The Ooni said: “nobody should castigate anybody for doing what he did because of the position he holds and because of his age. Ooni would not stop to accord his colleagues and every category of people the respect they deserve.
“The Ooni of Ife is not ready to make any official statement over what happened between him and the Oba of Lagos.
“He still holds Oba Akiolu in high esteem and what happened yesterday will not stop the Ooni from holding him in high esteem.”
from dailypost
Oba Ogunwusi was speaking through the Director Media and Public Affairs, Ooni’s Palace on Wednesday.
The Ooni said: “nobody should castigate anybody for doing what he did because of the position he holds and because of his age. Ooni would not stop to accord his colleagues and every category of people the respect they deserve.
“The Ooni of Ife is not ready to make any official statement over what happened between him and the Oba of Lagos.
“He still holds Oba Akiolu in high esteem and what happened yesterday will not stop the Ooni from holding him in high esteem.”
from dailypost
My love 4 this guy just tripled.
ReplyDeleteOoni with class! That's how it's done. Let the agbayas that have refused to grow up, learn from you.
DeleteI have utmost respect for this new OONI and his down to earth attitude but have a big issue with his over the top lifestyle. The lousiness around him anytime is out both in the country and outside the country is just too much and very put off. Is that necessary? Why the stupid entourages? Even the Queen of England or the President doesn't have such Aides that falls over themselves. Did anyone see how his many Aides acted whenever they were out? In the video one of his many aides used the cloth he was wearing to wiped his seat? Is it that serious? I have seen the late OONI Sijuwade many times and. cannot remember seeing such extravagant attitude on his part. As a young educated guy, I expected this new OONI to know better and curb this extravagant excesses with less fanfare around him.
DeleteYes you might say it's loud and a large entourage. But that is what you call tradition. The late Ooni was like that too but security reasons and old age later toned it down. Now you won't raise an eyebrow whe queen Elizabeth travels with a retinue of staff or Saudi or Dubai king. Have you seen their entourage and request when they visit foreign countries? You will probably faint. Am not saying he should be wasteful but he has said his main objective during his reign is to showcase our culture and revive it. Go check his visit to queen Elizabeth and how he attracted a lot of interest and attention. Abeg no beef Ooni atleast he is not channelling his energy into fighting and causing misunderstanding like the old Oba of Lagos who is suppose to show and lead by example but choose to act like a woman whose husband has been snatched by a young damsel.
DeleteBless you Anonymous 17:57, its our culture and Oni will forever be celebrated.
DeleteOni should stop going late for events , it is rude to disturb with your entourage, if you are late sit quietly. Why the chair cleaning for someone that is late.
DeleteNa dem sabi.
ReplyDeleteIf it will lift the economy up, they should continue
Oh yeah? When I thought respeck is meant to be reciprocal😉 Anyways, their toro!😏😥
ReplyDeleteIf only the Ooni would respect his throne and wait to be visited instead of doing the visits.
ReplyDeleteSee how he was snubbed for simply showing respect, I like his humility though but sho gba e sir.
Nice one.... I like this
ReplyDeleteMaturity per excellence! Oh'how i love matured minds. U've earned my eternal respect.
ReplyDeleteMatured mind.
ReplyDeleteNow this is what I call classy.
ReplyDeleteKabiyesi... May you live long.
Kabiyesi ooooo! More wisdom, Sir. Indeed,grey hair is not a sign of wisdom biko! My father will say,"old age no be maturity". More wisdom to you Ooni.Long may you reign
ReplyDeleteGood. For the sake of peace.
ReplyDeleteYour comment will be visible after approval.
And that's a true monarch!
ReplyDeleteGood..Someone just has to play a bigger role and be the tough guy..Mega Respeks To Ooni Of Ife..
ReplyDelete👍
ReplyDeleteWay to go Sir...
ReplyDeleteOba will be feeling like a fool now 😂😂😂😂
ReplyDeleteHe is a sensible man
ReplyDeleteThe words of a wise and humble man. I hope the King of lagoon should learn from him.
ReplyDeleteA good one from the Ooni, definitely the Eleko of Eko ridiculed himself. He took the meekness of the Ooni for granted, he will never try it with the Alaafin, it's either he (Eleko) leaves that venue or that'll be the end of the programme. Abeg, Madam stella try do find out when Seyilaw during an occasion made a joke about the alaafin (in the presence of the king) sometime ago......
ReplyDeleteOoni carry go don't mind the baba that refused to be humble.
ReplyDeleteOoni with swag!
ReplyDeleteKrix signing out via iPhone 7+
I know this will make headline here.
ReplyDeleteMake una settle oo
I watched the video this afternoon and something did not sit well with me.
ReplyDeleteEhcuse me ooni... Tell your aides to tune it down a little.
Nice 👍 one Ooni
ReplyDelete@Anonymous 15:15, you should be really ashamed of yourself. If is obvious your father didnt teach you how to respect cultures.
ReplyDeleteWhat ever you see is tradition. Do you people want all our traditions to be eroded because you think you are educated? Highest SSCE certificate you get sef.
Please shut up if you dont have what to say