Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Meningitis Outbreak Kills Hundreds in Nigeria

Monday, April 03, 2017

Meningitis Outbreak Kills Hundreds in Nigeria

A meningitis outbreak has killed about 282 people in Nigeria, the country’s Center for Disease Control said.

The agency reported a wide outbreak of cerebrospinal meningitis across 15 states.

A new strain of the disease called “stereotype C” has emerged, and there are not enough vaccines against it, the Center for Disease Control warned.

“There is a vaccine available,” Chief Executive Chikwe Ihekweazu said, “but it is not commercially available for the stereotype involved in this specific outbreak, and we have to make application to the World Health Organization for the vaccines.”

Nearly 2,000 suspected cases have been recorded and 109 have been treated since the outbreak began in February.

An emergency response team has been sent to the five states in the northwest of the country.

As one of the 26 countries on the African “meningitis belt,” Nigeria records some of the highest incidences of the disease on the continent.

The outbreaks peak in the dry season in certain states due to the low humidity and dusty conditions and usually end as the rainy season approaches, Ihekweazu added.

“Meningitis is a tough disease, especially during this period, and it is associated with overcrowding, understanding the living conditions in the country, people must keep their building ventilated,” he said.

According to the WHO, even when the disease is diagnosed early and adequate treatment begins, 5% to 10% of patients die, typically within 24 to 48 hours of the onset of symptoms.

Some common symptoms are stiff neck, high fever, sensitivity to light, confusion, headaches and vomiting.

Local and international organizations are working together to manage the epidemic. “We believe that our concerted efforts will bring this outbreak under control, as we also work towards preventing outbreaks of this scale in the future,” the Center for Disease Control stated.

from ktla.com

28 comments:

1. I thought their is a vaccine for it?...
    I'm happy it's worse in the north!...
    God is punishing them for looting and taking Nigeria 50 years backward!...
    Their people that stole Nigeria blind should use their money and help themselves!...

1. NNE be nice. As you can see, no family member of those who looted this country is affected. The poor northerners are also victim of their brother's inefficiency and stupidity.

2. Haba don't say that, these people are humans like you.

3. Queen and boss of lunatics, I still believe that you are a kid, I just wondered the kind of man that married your type of person with zero sense.

4. Keep sentiments aside and reason with your brain for once please.

5. This one too will say she supports tboss becos people hate. You are busy wishing death of ur fellow human being. Y'al are a crazy bunch.

#mzG

6. Madam queen and boss. That comment of yours is rather myopic. Innocent people are falling sick and dying and all you could think of to say is that they are suffering for taking Nigeria back. Learn to be emphatic.

7. Queen and boss is just an animal. That is what you are, you this good for nothing razz of a thing. Foolhardy

8. I hope u don't av any relative living in d north.
      God have mercy on u .

9. Well what do you guys expect? Some idiots like her hail her for her comments so it gets into her illiterate head.

10. Sometimes I wonder what this queen looks like. You must look like the darkness and bitterness you've been through.
      Yeah I said it. Come and beat me. Hisssss

2. I hope they all get better soon.

3. The is intense ,it like hell on earth.

1. *heat is intense, It's like hell on earth *

4. God have mercy on your people..
    Na wah oo

5. Hnmmm there's a vaccine for it na. Lord keep us.

6. Is the vaccine given out for free in health centres like BCG and co? I doubt it. Reality check.

7. The heat is crazy, Abuja is hot like this and I wonder what those in far north are going through. It wasn't like this last year at all.

8. People crowding demselves to watch footie,make una borrow una self brain dis period.
    May God help us.

9. God please save us in Nigeria, as if what is happening is not enough, now this. #no food #no good water to drink #no electricity #education system is zero #no good health facilities #roads are bad... Hmmmmm

10. I hope the viccine will be out on time