Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lady Arraigned For Attempted Suicide Granted N500k Bail

Monday, April 24, 2017

Lady Arraigned For Attempted Suicide Granted N500k Bail

An Ebute-Meta Magistrates Court, Lagos, on Monday ordered a textile dealer, Mrs. Titilayo Momoh, to undergo psychiatric evaluation following her arraignment by the police for attempted suicide.

Momoh, 58, was also granted N500,000 bail with two sureties in like sum.

The woman was on March 24 rescued from jumping off the Third Mainland Bridge into the Lagoon by operatives of the Rapid Response Squad (RRS) of the Lagos State Police Command.

The charge reads: “That you Titilayo Momoh ‘f’ on the 24th day of March, 2017 at about 10:00 hours at Third Mainland Bridge, Lagos, did attempt to commit suicide by jumping into the river and thereby committed an offence under Section 235 Cap C17, Volume 3 of the Criminal Law of Lagos State, 2015.

The defendant pleaded not guilty to the charge.

Prosecuting police officer, Sergeant Kehinde Omisakin, had no objection to the oral bail application of defence counsel, Beauty Otigi.

Chief Magistrate Elias granted the defendant bail in the sum of N500,000 with two sureties in like sum, who must also show evidence of tax compliance.

He ordered the defendant to submit herself to psychiatric evaluation before the adjourned date of June 1.

thenation

*It is already bad that she tried to commit suicide,I am just scared that arraigning her will further depress her.There are lots of thieves that need the Judge'attention,please they should let this woman go and heal quietly...this is not cool at all.

74 comments:

1. Oh mehn! Attempted suicide is a crime? Issa shocker.

1. She tried to kill herself because she owed people money. Now they charge her 500k naira so she can owe further. Am afraid they really want to send her to an early grave

2. Nigeria is a joke, it is official.

Arraign someone who contemplated suicide ?? Somebody pinch me! This is called depression in civilised countries. It is not a crime, she needs psychological help. It is a mental condition.

People just don't wake up to harm themselves, she needs help.Leave her the hell alone if you cannot refer her to the appropriate authorities that can help her.

3. Yes, attempted suicide is an offence.

However, I think what she needs at this stage is proper counselling.

4. I just dey vex for this story. They are only sending the wrong message. Others who intend to will just ensure they do it right.

This woman won't find this funny at all. She attempted suicide because of the weight of financial problems on her. Now her country, instead of helping her or at least find how to help her, they are making things worse for her.

5. @hot akara, Biko support this your assertion with a statutory provision. We are here to learn.

6. Hi, @Anon 20:48 It is an offence under Section 327 of the Criminal Code. Although she's being charged under the Lagos State Law.

We need better sensitization and enlightment campaign for mental health issues. If this were a saner clime, the Govt would spin this situation and use it to educate the People... But Naija isn't one.

People who are depressed should be given the needed attention & care (counselling). It's high time some of our Laws are reviewed whilst putting certain current issues into consideration.

All this litigation stress. I pray she doesn't harm herself should the opportunity present itself.

Sorry ma, you go dey alright.

7. Why didn't they also arrest Tbillz to was husband or is it because he is celeb? He started this whole nonsense.

8. Unfortunately it's now a crime. But she should be referred to psychologist for help as a lesser punishment given it's an "emotional crime".

2. She need to be arraigned to serve as a lesson to others. I feel for her.

1. You think a person who wants to die cares about what the law will do? What's a harsher punishment than death? Does this your statement make sense to you?

2. Gbam!!! Good a thing so future 'suiciders' can learn from it and know it isnt a good way out😉😏😑

3. What lesson exactly? does this sound logical to you. can a person who's made up thier mind to die be stopped by something less than death?

4. Sandra nneka in as much as you try to hide your stupidy with feeding alot of hungry souls on this blog, it will always show. How can you say it's good that someone who tried to commit suicide is punished? How can, you think becos it's well with you financially it's easy for others out there. Pls be sensible and sensitive when making some comments. At your age you should be wiser than this, stupidity isn't always hereditary you know.

5. Anon 22:40, I dont know what you are talking about but learn to fuck off ma comments for ma opinion can never be same with yours. I repeat, suicide is a crime and should be treated as such. Comman beat me😋

6. This doesn't sound logical at all. In fact it's the height of madness. The woman tried to kill herself because she was in so much debt for crying out loud. So where do they want her to get the money.

3. This is total nonsense.
    They should be talking about how to help her out of debt and not jail. They are surely going to compound her situation.

4. She attempted suicide coz she was in debt and broke,now you want her to be bailed with 500k? Nigeria is a huge joke.

5. Attempted suicide is a crime actually so she would have to be arraigned...

1. Yes it's a crime but you don't take the person to jail, you take them to the psych ward

2. Biko for which statute, act etc?

6. They're telling Someone that tried to commit suicide because she's in debt to pay 500,000k. Hmmm

7. I hope she will not collapse in their hand

8. Hope she will not develop high bp with this punishment.

9. Hahahaha the woman will just go back to the lagoon. Is it not because of money she attempted suicide.

All these otakara judges

10. This woman needs a very close watch, because this might cause/make her more depressed.
    It's well.

11. Are dey nut or what?? Someone is feeling depressed, you r taking her to court..!! Mtcheeeeewwwwww

12. Eeehya.. Y did she want to kill herself in the first place?

13. Waow...so what's the offense there nah? I am confused here o. Why pay 500k for bail. Hope govt pays for her psychiatric evaluation sha

14. What's their business if someone want to commit suicide?...
    Rubbish!...

15. Ok No problem! What if she now goes home and pgrade the suicide to a level which no one would know?

16. Isn't there supposed to be a procedure where a person is ascertained MENTALLY fit BEFORE being arraigned? *very curious

17. This is so dumb. The woman tried to commit suicide because of indebtedness now they want her to pay N500,000 as bail. Insult upon injury. I'm guessing after this people who want to commit suicide will do it in their houses and make sure the suicide is 100% complete to avoid facing the law. These people need help and not the law. Nigeria my country what direction are you heading towards?

18. Na wa oo. Since d lady wanted to die already she won't bother bailing herself. She should have been sent to a psychiatric home and not a court room. My 2cent

19. Can't the judge have some compassion toward the vulnerable lady? The reason why she tried to kill herself was because she was indebted. Granting her bail of that much money will worsen her depression.
    She need financial assistance, not judgement.

20. Someone that attempted succide cos of debts on her, you are granting her bail with 500k. Where do u expect her to get it from? Mtchewww.

21. Hiaan!!, which statute in Nigeria makes attempted suicide a crime? Instead of dealing with the woman's depression, they are exacerbating it by arraigning her. So she's both the plaintiff and the defendant. She has to accuse and defend herself abi? I just can't.

22. this just depicts how messed up our system is. Someone attempted suicide based on her frustrated financial status due to poor economy(not making good sales and owing her suppliers abroad) and i think she mentioned something about being swindled. now the government helped her avert suicide, arrested her, charged her to court and have now asked her to pay 500k for bail only for the case to be continued later. abeg, who would stand as a surety for a woman who is suicidal cos she's owing debt? i'm sure she would have gone to friends/family to source for loans if she could, right?? now tell me, is it those who she knew couldn't help her (before she made an attempt on her life) be the ones she would call to pay 500k and stand as surety for her bail?? the government should have just allowed that woman kill herself instead of trying to do it for her slowly. imagine having a court case when you're already depressed to the point of suicide, they just increased her depression.

23. Sm1 dat needs to be taken care of,where do they expect her to see the money. Nigeria sha..

24. Na wa oh suicide is now a crime?500k is too much na!

25. Really, this is real application of law in naija. At least for once.

26. Attempted suicide is an offence punishable under the Criminal Code. But complete suicide is not an offence.

27. I feel u stellz am with u on dis

28. Thought I read somewhere that she has been given cash and was doing ok, it showed her in shop with lots of materials, hmmmm...

1. Yes she is doing ok. I have been seeing her in church.

2. Lafresh so you know her?

29. They are supposed to show her love and treate her ailment. Not give her more reason to be depressed. Half a million kee?? Thats crazy

30. somebody that wanted to commit suicide because of debt that they are talking of 500k bail again

31. She might succeed next time. This is not the solution. Dead country

32. She should pay for trying to kill herself??
    Pls o
    She has a right over her life

33. Priorities gone wrong...

This people dey make me laf somebtines.. Is it a crime to kill myself ni

Mc pinky

34. @Clara Udeh...

Is it a crime correcting u?.. U used the word tout instead of LOUT which I corr3xted u for bt all u could do is mess me up.

U asked for it and am gina give it to u very hard.

I wonder why ur life is just so full of sadness and opprobrium.

U r such an oaf, who is tactically stupid n u bin a chump makes u useful for stupidity
    Oloriburuku omo ale,

Mc pinky

35. @Mayor you are very insensitive and all the fellow insensitive people under his thread. Do you think it is her wish to commit suicide.
    Do you know she is at her breaking point for her to have even gone that far. You think suicide is easy ???
    Where is she supposed to get 500k from ? Someone that is neck deep in debt.
    I don't condone suicide but I know whoever that goes this route is broken. Why should we break them further.
    They need counselling, mental help, drugs and love. And not this crap.
    I am sure stupid men that committ domestic violent don't get this harsh treatment. How many of the cases even get to court.

36. Nigerian abuse everything!

Settle this woman's problem now, tomorrow everyone will line up on third mainland bridge.

I believe they are only trying to send message to those who intend to do same. Suicide is not the way out ! Seek help!

1. Exactly @your Ist and 2nd paragraph! Namsense!

37. Stella this is the woman I commented about weeks back. Please what are they arraigning her for? Are they using her a scape goat for other suicidal people? This is so sad. She should be counselled and encouraged to live positively NOT fined!! Jeez.... Nigeria

1. Counselling is ongoing and she is doing fine. I see her every sunday in church.

38. Somebody wanted to kill herself because of financial problems, they are now giving her more financial burden. What is the difference btw them and those persons who had scorned. This judge na wicked sombori, Nigeria too sweet!

39. Yes it's a crime to attempt suicide but they should help with therapy first. Just negodu!

40. Sharon Aminu, you are just a fool, all in the name of making comment,imagine what you wrote up there. Most of you come here to display your stupidity.

41. She can kill herself at home and go to hell in peace, not coming out to use public infrastructure, Is TMB a place to commit suicide ?

42. Sadly suicide is an criminal offence punishable by 2years inprisonment according to Nigeria Constitution passed down by the colonial master which should have been reviewed by our overfed senators in Aso rock. But i guess they are more interested in issues that add more to their salary

43. Bed and Roses, no apology for my comment,for the fact that I pity her, she need to serve as a deterrent to others who are planning to do same. Third Mainland bridge was not build for suicide missions.

1. The only thing this will do is make people commit suicide in the comfort of their homes. They may even want to take innocent ppl along with them.
      Or they may get others involved in assisted suicide.
      Attempted suicide is a mental illness and a cry for help.
      Even thinking of suicide is an illness. There are meds for being suicidal.
      What country arrest a person suffering from mental illness and depression.
      In civilized countries she won't even be deemed fit to stand a trial.
      This law is an archaic law that should have been revised and thrashed.
      They know how to revise laws for looters but not for common man.

44. Nigeria is one the worst places to be born. Nigeria is one of the worst places to earn a honest livelihood, Nigeria is one of the worst places to grow old. What a terribly messed-up country. As if that is not bad enough, Nigeria is being ruled by thieves.

1. Thank you & their judges are product quota system that's why they give ridiculous judgement.

45. Just negodu this hell of a country! I can't wait to leave!

46. Our Judges atimes lack knowledge. If its abroad, they will jejeje send her to a psychiatric home. Why N500K in this time? Did they know whether what led her to try such was maybe she was owing someone N500K? Na wa

47. Now they want her to die legally