Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Judge Tells Obsanajo's Wife That She Cannot Stop Son's Wedding..

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

Judge Tells Obsanajo's Wife That She Cannot Stop Son's Wedding..

An Ikeja High Court on Monday, dismissed the suit filed by Mrs Taiwo Obasanjo, wife of former President Olusegun Obasanjo, seeking the postponement of the wedding of her son Olujonwo to Tope Adebutu.

Justice Lateefa Okunnu, dismissed the suit on the grounds that the court lacked jurisdiction to hear the suit because Olujonwo, 33, is an adult.

“On March 27, I ordered counsel to direct me on whether the family court can hear a case where the child is an adult.

“Counsel has addressed me and I have read the processes before me.

“I have found to be very genuine, what the applicant said regarding performing her parental duties in paragraph 15 of her affidavit.

“The court, regrettably, lacks the competence to adjudicate this suit, the jurisdiction of the family court covers children under the age of 18 years.

“The respondent’s son is 33-years-old, this negates the ability of this court to entertain this suit.

“The proper order to give is one dismissing this suit in its entirety, I hereby dismiss this suit,” the judge said.

Former President Obasanjo and the father of the bride, Sir Kessington Adebutu, promoter of Premier Lotto known as “Baba Ijebu” are the respondents to the suit.

Mrs Taiwo Obasanjo was present in court while former President Obasanjo and Sir Adebutu were absent.

Mrs Obasanjo had in her suit filed on March 27, prayed that the wedding which is scheduled for May 11, be moved to any date after June 1 which is Olujonwo’s 34th birthday.

According to her, she had received various warnings and prophecies from men of God that her son should not be involved in any elaborate celebration before his birthday.

Earlier during proceedings, Mr Bode Olanipekun, counsel to Obasanjo and Adebutu, had asked to court to dismiss the suit due to lack of jurisdiction.

NAN via punch

*Mother and child bond missing between the two otherwise they would have reached a conclusion without needing to bring this to the court of law.

19 comments:

1. Why not call both families and settle them..
    I felt she has her reasons
    By the way,were is obasanjo???

2. Yes exactly
    This is something that just required some minutes of Mother-son discussion

3. Good.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

4. Na wa. Mother and Son relationship. May God help both of them

5. A mothers love is indeed priceless,if really her intentions are what she stated,n not something else

6. So this woman filed a law suit based on prophecies and she actually believed that she had a chance? Na wa..

7. When you have too much money and do not know what to use it for, you start looking for ways to spend it, can you just imagine? Mtchhheeeeewwwwww

8. But how come it's Yorubas that always receive these prophecies about not doing a big wedding? I hardly hear an igbo person saying they got one prophecy. When they just always "to ju bo le" "jade sinu oro". Be looking for what is not missing.

9. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Church mehn, that is why i left them jejely.. Nonsense....

10. For those of you that were born yesterday, there was a history of great infidelity between this woman and Godwin Dabo. It happened while she was married to Obasanjo and causes a lot of national gossip as Dabo used it to ridicule Obasanjo in pages of newspapers. I'm not surprised they want to sideline her.

1. Yes my mum told me. She said it was dirty,it was things a woman shouldn't even use their mouth to say.
      The woman is a loose cannon. I hope the couple are strong enough to fight this. This isn't the end of what this woman can do. If they don't have security she won't mind scattering the wedding.
      I just feel sorry for the couple that will be caught in the line of what this woman can do.
      Ms Taiwo Martins fear her.
      She doesn't want her son getting married to Tope. All that he shouldn't marry before his birthday is story for the gods.

11. For those of you that were born yesterday, there was a history of great infidelity between this woman and Godwin Dabo. It happened while she was married to Obasanjo and causes a lot of national gossip as Dabo used it to ridicule Obasanjo in pages of newspapers. I'm not surprised they want to sideline her.

12. Nobody should judge till you hear her side.
    Though the woman is a kolo mental but believe me she is trying to protect her son from being in bondage under tope and her mother.
    That boy already has to deal with his mother's kolo though she loves him he now wants to even go into lions den.
    Who doesn't know tope and her mother. They join forces to fight even the father sef.
    Though she's a brilliant person and a magistrate but she's too out there for that boy.
    I think the mother probably heard some things after the introduction therefore using this prophecy as excuse to prospone the wedding. The prophet probably told her that isn't the best for her son.
    For a mother to go as far as even writing to inspector General of police that the girl and her mother want to assassinate her. Know this woman doesn't want that wedding to hold.
    Is it right for a marriage to hold this kind of foundation.

13. This story is so funny to me. This should be something that they can sit down and discuss. I don't get why she has to go to court to embarrass the son....WTH

14. Monitoring spirit everywhere. Imagine trying to stop her son's wedding based on what her spiritualist said. If her spiritualist is that powerful why not use that power to stop the doom that he claimed will behalf her child? People will seat and be deceiving themselves upandan

15. It is only in Africa that parents still control an adult. So if his MIL or mother or wife to be are witches? A 33 year old man IS NOT A BABY. This is such a disgusting situation.

Mothers love ke mothers control ni. This woman is a control freak, this has nothing to do with love. If she is concerned...she would go to the God who owns the heart of man. Does she love him more than God? Pray and talk to your son then ask God to intervene. What stupidity is filing a court case over an adult's choice to marry. This type will make her son's marriage a nightmare. Today its wedding date, tomorrow it is prophesy that the wife is loose or his children are ogbanje.