Picture: IVOR MARKMAN |
Dramatic scenes played out at the Port Elizabeth Airport when a popular Durban televangelist at the centre of abuse claims was
handcuffed in the restroom and arrested for human trafficking minutes after his flight landed.
Shortly before that, an argument broke out between his newly appointed legal team and four Hawks officials, who were ordering around eight heavily armed Tactical Response Team (TRT) officers.
Hawks spokesman Lieutenant- Colonel Robert Netshiunda said the pastor, Timothy Omotoso, 58, had been charged with human trafficking and would appear in the Port Elizabeth Magistrate’s Court today. “There is a possibility of us adding more charges,” he said.
He said Omotoso had allegedly trafficked women and girls from various branches of his church to a house in Umhlanga Rocks, Kwa- Zulu-Natal, where they were violated and exploited.
The Nigerian televangelist is a senior pastor of Jesus Dominion International, whose headquarters are in Durban, with a Port Elizabeth branch in Govan Mbeki Avenue.
Social media has been abuzz with the claims against the widely celebrated pastor after a television feature on Monday, in which the allegations were made by a number of women who have had contact with him during his ministerial work.
Within minutes of the first passengers disembarking, police rushed on to the tarmac. But Omotoso was seen walking into the toilets minutes earlier, accompanied by a woman.
Eventually, the TRT officers made their way to the toilets, where the woman was dragged out first.
A handcuffed Omotoso followed, surrounded by the TRT officers. Watching nearby, PriceMHis Lawyer said to an airport official: “We can’t have him being treated like this.
You are allowing them to beat up our client.” The crowd applauded and cheered as Omotoso made his way through the airport.
He was then put inside a police vehicle, which sped off. Griebenow said they had videos and documentation proving the allegations were false. Price said: “He cannot be arrested without an arrest warrant and, when I asked, they refused to show one to me.”
He described the Hawks officers as aggressive, arrogant and rude. “They are worse than Mugabe’s thugs in Zimbabwe,Since when do you arrest an unarmed pastor with eight armed men? He is not a danger.”
Price said he and Griebenow had been communicating with the Hawks and had persuaded Omotoso to come to Port Elizabeth to be inter viewed.
“He did not want to come to Port Elizabeth because he thought he would be arrested, but we said it would just be an interview.
There was no talk about an arrest as he is not an accused, only a suspect. “We were there to pick him up, when these thugs suddenly arrived.”
About 30 minutes after being arrested, Omotoso was marched into the Hawks’ offices in Newton Park.
Speaking outside the office, Netshiunda said they had opted to pick up Omotoso under a heavy police presence after receiving information that his flight could be delayed.
“We couldn’t just believe it at face value,” he said.
“We took the initiative as the Hawks to go to the airport, only to find out that the flight was on schedule.” Netshiunda said there had been a scuffle at the airport after Omotoso “sought refuge” in the toilets.
“We can’t say he wanted to run. We can say he sought refuge in the toilets,” he said. A group held up placards supporting the alleged sex-abuse victims outside the Hawks’ of fices.
Pamella Mbini, 37, said Omotoso had allegedly been abusing minor congregants as far back as 2002. “They told us that their pastor is sleeping with them without their permission – they are scared to come out and say exactly what is happening,” she said.
The Jesus Dominion International website lists 27 churches around South Africa, with branches also in Britain, France and Israel.
Shortly before that, an argument broke out between his newly appointed legal team and four Hawks officials, who were ordering around eight heavily armed Tactical Response Team (TRT) officers.
Hawks spokesman Lieutenant- Colonel Robert Netshiunda said the pastor, Timothy Omotoso, 58, had been charged with human trafficking and would appear in the Port Elizabeth Magistrate’s Court today. “There is a possibility of us adding more charges,” he said.
He said Omotoso had allegedly trafficked women and girls from various branches of his church to a house in Umhlanga Rocks, Kwa- Zulu-Natal, where they were violated and exploited.
The Nigerian televangelist is a senior pastor of Jesus Dominion International, whose headquarters are in Durban, with a Port Elizabeth branch in Govan Mbeki Avenue.
Social media has been abuzz with the claims against the widely celebrated pastor after a television feature on Monday, in which the allegations were made by a number of women who have had contact with him during his ministerial work.
Within minutes of the first passengers disembarking, police rushed on to the tarmac. But Omotoso was seen walking into the toilets minutes earlier, accompanied by a woman.
Eventually, the TRT officers made their way to the toilets, where the woman was dragged out first.
A handcuffed Omotoso followed, surrounded by the TRT officers. Watching nearby, PriceMHis Lawyer said to an airport official: “We can’t have him being treated like this.
You are allowing them to beat up our client.” The crowd applauded and cheered as Omotoso made his way through the airport.
He was then put inside a police vehicle, which sped off. Griebenow said they had videos and documentation proving the allegations were false. Price said: “He cannot be arrested without an arrest warrant and, when I asked, they refused to show one to me.”
He described the Hawks officers as aggressive, arrogant and rude. “They are worse than Mugabe’s thugs in Zimbabwe,Since when do you arrest an unarmed pastor with eight armed men? He is not a danger.”
Price said he and Griebenow had been communicating with the Hawks and had persuaded Omotoso to come to Port Elizabeth to be inter viewed.
“He did not want to come to Port Elizabeth because he thought he would be arrested, but we said it would just be an interview.
There was no talk about an arrest as he is not an accused, only a suspect. “We were there to pick him up, when these thugs suddenly arrived.”
About 30 minutes after being arrested, Omotoso was marched into the Hawks’ offices in Newton Park.
Speaking outside the office, Netshiunda said they had opted to pick up Omotoso under a heavy police presence after receiving information that his flight could be delayed.
“We couldn’t just believe it at face value,” he said.
“We took the initiative as the Hawks to go to the airport, only to find out that the flight was on schedule.” Netshiunda said there had been a scuffle at the airport after Omotoso “sought refuge” in the toilets.
“We can’t say he wanted to run. We can say he sought refuge in the toilets,” he said. A group held up placards supporting the alleged sex-abuse victims outside the Hawks’ of fices.
Pamella Mbini, 37, said Omotoso had allegedly been abusing minor congregants as far back as 2002. “They told us that their pastor is sleeping with them without their permission – they are scared to come out and say exactly what is happening,” she said.
The Jesus Dominion International website lists 27 churches around South Africa, with branches also in Britain, France and Israel.
from heraldlive.co.za
End time pastor..
ReplyDeleteI only watched his program once on TV and I was like where all these fine and fresh girls come out from. I thought to myself that this pastor way no go pure... If truly he is guilty of this allegations, then he is completely finished.
DeleteNo wonder pastor Adeboye said this year will be full of surprises.
BTW, I love the new "attire" our blog is wearing. Wehdone SDK.
Nigerian pastors. let me keep quiet before supporters come for me.
ReplyDeleteThey will come and say 'touch not...', indeed, by their fruits we shall know them. God will expose those who are not walking with Him in spirit and in truth.
DeleteUmmmh!Come Lord Jesus,come. Watched him preaching on several occasions and not really at peace with him.
ReplyDeleteSome Nigerians be disgracing us in diaspora, what will happen to all his bling bling suits?.
ReplyDeleteBut all this useless oloso women from the pit of hell aren't they aware he was a married man? Am not in support of the pastor's unruly behavior ( that's if the accusations are true) but women should learn how to accord themselves some dignity. Most of them intentionally seduced this men of God and once they're used and discarded without good pay up they will start screaming molestation and abuse.
ReplyDeleteMaranatha ,come Lord Jesus.
Temptations will always be there, resisting temptation is another matter.
DeleteCan't you see that they are minors? And why can't the pastor let hid duck stay in one place? Keep blaming the victims you here
DeleteWhat if they were jazzed??? So many things might have happened.. I'm not supporting anyone too tho
Delete@jennah,oro dindinrin WO lonso gan.
DeleteYou only drop comments on religion issues.ogbeni sunsonwun.
This pastor is very popular,they do show him on mitv.pastors and olosho are like bread and butter.
ReplyDeleteHmmmm
ReplyDeleteEnd time pastor, them full every where.
ReplyDelete@Intelligentsia princess, don't be such an idiot, in as much as this article is not thoroughly done, at least they stated there that the women were "trafficked" with that at least you should know it was against their will. The "Women" being said majority of them are "minors". Abeg, didn't he know that "he" is married? When women utter such narrow minded thoughts it saddens me, more especially when the crime is against children and it is sexual.
ReplyDeleteWe need to practice the same laws in Nigeria, so much BS in the name of religion.
ReplyDeleteThis is the year of exposing those not really called by GOD. More will be exposed but the gullibles ones won't hear.
ReplyDeleteSHameless
Shebi that Stephanie don sue Apos SUle for Canada....fowl nyash go open more.
God pls help us to understand Your WORD more.
Pastor Adeboye said in one of his 2017 prophesy that it will be a year of surprises for both real and fake pastors. Hmmm
ReplyDeleteI pray one of his pastors who i know wey dey sleep with church members is exposed.
DeleteGod is very very patient, Stella abeg u neva hear about Our daily manner pastor own? M interested I that one biko