Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EFCC ‘uncovers N250m cash’ in Lagos market

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

EFCC ‘uncovers N250m cash’ in Lagos market

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) says it has intercepted N250 million in various currencies at the popular Balogun market in Lagos.

The commission disclosed this in a statement issued late Monday.

According to the statement, the discovery was made following a tip from a whistle blower.

“The monies include €547,730 and £21,090 as well as N5,648,500 . The total haul is about N250m at the prevailing exchange rate at the parallel market,” the statement read.

“The intercept followed information that about N250 million cash was being moved somewhere in the market for conversion into foreign currencies by unnamed persons. Operatives responded timely, met the money in bureau de change office, but a large chunk of it had been converted into euro and pounds sterling.

“The BDC operators found in possession of the monies claimed they were acting on behalf of their boss who sent the money to them from one of the northern states in Nigeria.

“Two persons apprehended in the course of the raid are helping the commission in its investigation.”

On Friday, the commission said it recovered N490 million from an abandoned shop in Victoria Island, Lagos.

The Cable

#Whistleblower has hit again

22 comments:

1. The advantage of BVN

2. Scam here and there so that we will say they are working.

1. Mechie oneu ure gi! Zuzuru si ebe a puo!

2. Mechie onu ure gi! Zuzuru si ebe a puo!

3. Efcc OK the fact they found the no ey was it mean that the money was stolen or what. Wait until the investigation is concluded before una talk. That's why they lose cases.

1. EFCC leave hard working bizness men alone & face the politicians stealing public funds. Stupid pple that's why they never won any case.

4. Is it the it money???? Why are they busy pursuing people upandan as if they don know the real people with embezzled cash

5. God bless the person that brought this idea of whistle blowing.
    Give this some time more and looting will be a forgotten issue in Nigeria.

6. Whistle blowing, serious business...

7. Hope they won't carry innocent people's hard earned money in their quest for fighting corruption

1. That's exactly what they are taking away.

8. So some people have millions that they are not using! Please, nah beg I dey beg any looter, bring it to my shop and no effc can locate it! Try me and you go convince say I dey alright!

9. Money people use for their importation business, annoying EFCC. Ignoring the real thieves for innocent people.

10. So I can't keep my money in peace again? I like my money close to me, I don't like bank, nah by force? Eh!

11. Nawaoo what's going on in this country?

12. Someone can not have millions in peace again!πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

13. Someone can not have millions in peace again!πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

14. Get educated and stop being ignorant .
    These are the people frustrating the efforts of the FGN and CBN in trying to bring down the exchange rate by moping up dollars the government injects into the economy . They creating an artificial scarcity thereby driving up the dollar rate .

15. Get educated and stop being ignorant .
    These are the people frustrating the efforts of the FGN and CBN in trying to bring down the exchange rate by moping up dollars the government injects into the economy . They creating an artificial scarcity thereby driving up the dollar rate .