Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Covenant Varsity Allegedly Sanctions 200 Students For Missing Easter Programme

Friday, April 28, 2017

Covenant Varsity Allegedly Sanctions 200 Students For Missing Easter Programme

Parents and students at the Covenant University , Ota , Ogun State , have described as “ unjust” the suspension of undergraduates at the institution for not attending its Easter ‘ Youth Alive’ programme .

According to them, the rules of their admission did not say it is compulsory for them to attend the programme organised by the faith - based institution .
A 400 - level student told our correspondent on Wednesday that over 200 students were affected by the decision of the university.

He said , “ We were going for the services in the morning and night and people were getting tired of it because we were also preparing for exams . So , the Vice- Chancellor got angry and ordered that those who missed the services be sanctioned .
“ Some were suspended for four weeks and those who had missed eight services for the four days got a year. ”

Another 300- level student said some of them have been prevented from sitting for exams and they had no means of protesting the sanctions which he said was ‘ unfair’ .

“ The mood in school is really tense . Though students are not protesting but they are angry because you are preparing for an exam you ’ re not sure you will sit for , until the paper starts .
“ They stopped me from sitting for a paper last week because I did not go for a service and I don ’ t know if I will be allowed in today either . ”

A concerned parent who took to a social media platform to register her displeasure said the punishment especially for final year students was not commiserate with the offences committed .Punch

33 comments:

1. If your wards cannot obey their rules, which rules will they obey.

Good for them. Covenant University is not a federal government university, it is privately owned and must obey every rules and laws provided by the authority.

They should take their wards to a federal university where they can misbehave.

You cant come to my organisation and dont follow the laid down rules, impossicant.

2. When in Rome act like the Romans. When you're in a school like CU just act very cautiously and obey all their rules. Because they don't blink twice before they suspend or expel. After your four or five years you walk out free to do whatever the hell you like

3. They will soon sanction them for not putting offering and paying tithe. Student tithe o. hehehehe

4. Stella, that's how most faith based universities behave. In my school, Bingham university back then almost half of the students went home on suspension for not going to chapel. I was lucky I escaped it sef.

5. Correct me if i am wrong but i think its always best to abide by rules and regulations governing a particular place/institution.
    This is a private school, where you know students cannot protest/fight or demonstrate their anger. So i think its best to just obey all the rules. I know its not easy to abide by all rules but pls you guys should try abeg.
    If they say 'attend youth alive' why not just attend it. Or lay your complaint to d right authority if there is a genuine reason why you cant attend.
    I am sure they must have told the students d consequences of their absence @ d program. Not everytime u run to social media to report your school. Sometimes obey abeg.

6. When you're in Rome,do as the Romans. You should know what you're getting into when you decide to go to a church university. My two cents.

7. And diss is a chorch owned proparty o...

1. They pritch mersy but they dont praktis eat.

2. If diss wossnt made compolsry in the rule, then shool a studaint be forsed?

3. Eye wool neva ve attainded a chorch owned skool cus hairven nose eye no dey well wen eat cums to no'ing and defainding of my rites..... We go torn the skool downcide up.

8. You should have read the rules, and even in between the lines before you signed and paid your acceptance fees.

9. Nawa o! What kind of talk is this one. This is not fair at all and will go as far as tarnishing the image of the renowned pastor owner na.

10. This is how someone will finish going to secondary school and the person will still go back to secondary school all in the name of University.

End time Easter Programme

11. Are you kidding me for real now?? This is bull shit

12. I don't blame the fucking uni
    I blame the parents sending theirs kids to that school.

1. Don't insult my school ooooo,woman.

2. We ain't complaining, so?

3. The rules should be obeyed as long as they are there. I know i cannot allow my kids school there. I want my kids to have a mind of their own to make decisions and mistakes themselves after instilling in them good morals.If they like they should get pregnant or impregnate a girl when they are in fed uni. They will leave the the consequences of their decisions.

13. If u can't abide by the rules n regulations of the school, pls leave n attend uniport where u can do as u like and nobody will query you, capiche!

14. Is there no end to their craziness..
    Mtcheew..only in CU will u see an adult kneeling down...abeg.
    Make una swerve biko

15. This comment has been removed by the author.

16. Stella, I finished from that school 7 years ago. This Easter wahala started in 2010. They suspended a lot of students for not attending Easter programme that good Friday and it wasn't compulsory then. I think it is compulsory now. So many things are wrong. They are preparing for exams and you force them to church morning and evening. Many of us messed up our lives after graduation because we had just felt freedom. Let youths be given freedom for goodness sake. New generation of leaders! If I hear. Almost all the graduates have turned to instagram comedians. That's the new generation.

1. Exactly, I have a friend who graduated and started smoking weed like mad, cause never had the opportunity to try it lol. They end up doing things at the wrong time

17. Hmm. Mmmm...

Dont want to type iranu cuz me no wan offend God.. Oluwa gba ogo gba iyi

Mc pinku

18. No one is saying they shouldn't obey the school rules but they shouldn't be forced, because they might get dere and won't listen to what the pastor is saying after all they are paying school fees is not that is free

19. Since una parents know say COVENANT university na Christian school, if you can't cope with the activities or church/school programmes, you can leave the school. We have ABU, FUTO, etc

Let them suspend them since they don't want to keep their rules...simple. If your parents wanna send you there and you know you can't cope with their activities, BACK OUT to avoid speaking ills about the school.

20. If you there try and abide by their rules to avoid all these

21. According to them, the rules of their admission did not say it is compulsory for them to attend the programme organised by the faith - based institution.....this is a lie, even people who are not students of the school know church services for CU student is COMPULSORY

"However, another student in the institution told our correspondent that contrary to the news making the rounds, her mates were suspended for leaving the school’s premises without permission during the Easter programme.

According to her, some students who were caught in their hostels during the youth programme also failed the drug tests often conducted on undergraduates in the university.

She said, “It’s not just that they didn’t attend the programme, some failed the drug test while some went out without permission. It’s in the rules and we all know it, the reason why people are angry is that final year students will have an extra year"

stella why did you miss that out?

1. There is something called student handbook... Service is compulsory.. Undergraduate test is also compulsory.. The students should put there heads down and stop giving their parents headache

22. CU is a Church school that is meant to bult the Student academically, spiritually and otherway with there rule and regulations

23. Bitter people everywhere...nobody is talking bout the student not finding time to read..don't let poverty block you from saying the truth..

24. Bitter people everywhere...nobody is talking bout the student not finding time to read..don't let poverty block you from saying the truth..

1. They have time to read.... It is not new to them.. Lazy students