Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Wife Of Senate President Decries Spate Of Road Accidents In Nigeria

Wednesday, March 01, 2017

Wife Of Senate President Decries Spate Of Road Accidents In Nigeria

Mrs. Toyin Ojora- Saraki, the Wife of the President of the Senate, Founder-President of the Wellbeing Foundation Africa and Chair of Nigeria’s Primary Health Care Revitalization Support Group today spoke out against the increase in road accidents in Nigeria, which have now reached a record high of 79,875 accidents in the last three years, according to the Economic Economic Confidential.

“Road safety is a Sustainable Development Goal which Nigeria is falling behind on, and must meet the target of reducing road traffic accidents by 50% by 2020. I commend the Federal Road Safety Commission who have been working tirelessly to reduce the amount of incidents that occur, through installing speed reducing technologies such as the Speed Limiting Device, and are swift in conveying accident victims to the nearest medical facility. However, we must do more.

I call on the Government of Nigeria to embrace health records and national health insurance for all, so the victims of road accidents can be identified and also medically treated as quickly as possible.” Mrs. Saraki noted.

Mrs. Saraki continued: “Last week, we donated for the emergency medical care of, Iheoma, an elderly hit-and-run road accident victim in Kubwa General Hospital whose full identity could not be reliably ascertained, and whose family has not been successfully traced. This is a case in point, for the urgent need for certifiable identities, for every citizen through personal health records. Every single life lost counts, and we must treat it as so.”

“I also call on the communities to check the pictures of the victims and accidents on social media which will help the Federal Road Safety Commission to identify witnesses and families of victims.” ended Mrs. Saraki.

12 comments:

1. Bad roads and useless drivers on the rise

2. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Bad roads and greedy police men and soldiers managing our roads....

3. Hypocrisy at its peak.Come to Ilorin,generally kwara state is in a bad shape yet this eye service foundation.
    Bukola saraki God is on your case
    Toyin continu

4. Gbam at hypocrisy. Give back all the money the Sarakis stole and channel them into building roads.

5. Please, Toyin how many road did your husband build when he was Gov of kwara state........how many has he use his good office as senate president to construct in almost 2 years.......WTF

6. Rubbish foundation and eye service of the highest order. The states of our roads would have been better, health care services would have improved likewise every other sectors, if your likes and your husband have not divert funds meant to develop these infrastructures to your private accounts. In your mind now you want to be our next first lady and ur hubby our president. Guess what, we are wiser than you guys think, that dream is dead on arrival therefore stop with the deception

1. Is her husband the governor of kwara state? Last time I checked, Kwara State Governor was Abdul Fatah Ahmed who has been governor since 2011, if your roads are bad ask your governor. If you like, die in road accident. A woman called Iheoma is lying injured in a hospital, nobody can find her family, if you don't know her family, swerve and let those that are looking find them. Nigerians and petty envy, preparing for first lady ko, practising for first lady ni, Aisha has more to fear from acting first lady Dolapo Osinbajo than from Toyin Saraki. Saraki's wife has had her own lane for long before any first lady even smelled presidency.

2. Anons 06:18 saraki was a gov in Kwara for 8good yrs so Pls don't say what you don't know

7. How about allocating a good chunk of the budget for infrastructures/roads build-up & maintenance? Inspite of this obvious eye sore, the Meleyes et al, will soon start exhibiting their exotic cars to the Naija public. Still, the question remains: what is the road condition under which these fat cats drive such expensive autos? Talk about misplaced priorities. NMTA

8. Chai! Toyin Saraki haters n lovers no dey sleep? Or na her husband dey control federal roads? After d abuse n love, abeg check if una know d Iheoma dem dey epp, she could be ur mother.

9. I do not hate these people but stating the obvious, how long are we going to celebrate failure in government and delivery of basic human needs to Nigerian citizens by those that are voted or ringed their ways to power to lord over us. they claim to serve us but continue to pill up wealth for their generations yet unborn. I also wonder how their conscience are so dead to the extent of failing to show empathy to the suffering of the masses m. plz look beyond this showmanship, thousands of Iheoma are out there, not by choice but due to the actions and inactions of the set of people that we have in power. enough said...
    Society Generale bank saga and her husband 's 8 years tenure as a governor in Kwara state still very fresh in our memories,,, time will tell.

10. I don't particularly know or think much of the Saraki family in general, but I have come across Toyin Saraki's work and it is not only authentic, it is important and it is effective. I doubt that this hit and run victim would have been treated, or her family found, without her intervention. I don't call that showmanship, but simply a decent intervention which saved a life. Just my 2 kobo.