This is sad!
Episode 1(my first mobilization)
I graduated from one university in the north and all my life has been in the north, Kaduna to be precised and i never dreamt of leaving the sweet and peaceful Kd city. In fact i had always wished to served in Kaduna even thou it wasn't possible because it was my state of origin(lol).
I graduated ending of 2014 and had to wait for one good year before i was mobilized due to my slow Uni. I was so excited when i was mobilized and on the first day of online registration, my friend and i ran to a cafe for our registration. When it got to my turn, the thumb printing machine stopped working and as a jjc, i listened to the cafe guy who said it was my finger thumb that was not responding and other people's thumb were responding.
Instead of me to jejely go home and come back the next day, the cafe guy said he will use his own finger thumb to test( my village witches were already at work but i didn't realize it ooh). The guy now used his thumb,and it went once... That was how i chose three northern states and printed my slip. The posting letter came out and when i checked, i saw Kano. I was not feeling bad or scared because Kano is a stone throw to Kaduna but my mum was feeling somehow because of the environment.
Oh, i also forgot to add i was stream two so i was kind of disappointed because all my friends were stream one. I waited patiently till when stream one was out, my friend
s gave me camp gist so i was so eager to get to camp.
On the d-day, i left Kaduna early and arrived Karaye local government before 10am. The queue was long and tiring but as a sharp girl i shunted and maneuvered my way to the main hall of registration. And when i finally got to the place i was suppose to capture my thumb print before getting a platoon and kits, the system did not recognise my finger(sobs). I tried ooh like 5 times but for where. So the ICT man now asked me if i did the thumb print my self, i said yes at first, then i now remember the incidence that happened during my online registration and i was like Mogbe! Awon enemies of NYSC are at work ooh.
My village people are on my case
. I then narrated everything that happened and he was like why did i not come early enough when the thumb printing was dropped? I told him i did not know it was a serious issue. He now said i had to wait till the following day and i should pray the system drops off the thumb printing so i could recapture a fresh finger thumb print but in the mean time, i could secure a bed space.
I left back to the hostel, already, i had made a friend on the queue that joined me in shunting. We got along so easily and she was from Delta state. We became bunk mates and went to mami to eat. The mami was so affordable and already our Igbo brothers were hanging out at the mami(Igbo people were the highest population at Kano camp as at then).
The following day, i went back to the registration venue and there was no news on the thumb printing drop off. I became so worried because other corp members were already dressed on their white on white and i was still on mufti. I got more worried when the soldiers started chasing people to the parade ground and i was still hopeless. I immediately called home and informed them on what was going on.
My mum was so worried and started casting and binding. I went back to the registration hall and the ICT man told me the thumb printing was not dropped and i was not lucky because when stream one had similar issues like mine, the thumb printing was dropped off but this stream two was different. So in conclusion, i was asked to exit the camp the following day because it was already late to go home that day. I started crying immediately, the officials felt so sorry for me and said they could they could not do anything unless i had a strong leg working in Nysc Headquarters(who i kukuma know).
Already, calls were already coming in from home and my siblings were all worried. That night i could not sleep and my camp friend kept crying to. Early the next morning, i took my bath and i left the camp back to Kaduna with serious sadness.
In the car, i kept crying and by the time i got home, my mum embraced me and we both started crying(lol). Oh, i forgot to add am her last born. She had to call my elder ones to beg me to stop crying before she develop HPB. Immediately i heard that, i went to clean my face and slept off. When i woke up, i began to think of waiting for extra months to be remobilized.
Well after some weeks i recovered from the shock and started looking for a temporary job to do. I got a job as a secretary in one private firm even thou the pay was not much but it kept me busy from idleness and being a devils workshop. I recovered very fast with the encouragements of my family and friends and looked forward to my next posting. Episode 2 of my story loading....... Tired of typing.
Hope i did not bore you guys with my ist short NYSC experience?
Abeg oh,episode two of wetin?if you couldnt finish the story in this long writeup then forget it ooooh..ha#!!!!!
Pele....next one
ReplyDeleteCan't wait for part two. Pele dear.
ReplyDeleteOh...you didn't bore me.
ReplyDeleteJust that your written English got me ****************.
Stellz, your red pen comment is so funny. Anty, sorry o
ReplyDeleteShe forgot episode 2 at AREWA HOTEL in kaduna..
ReplyDeleteMc pinky
Somebody should come teach me how to write cuz ama send in mine soon..
ReplyDeleteIgbe la nfewe
Mc pinky
Was this written by a graduate? Sorry to judge but the English is bad
ReplyDeleteWow! Poster I feel for you
ReplyDeleteOK now!
ReplyDeleteEVERYTHING Works for good to those that trust/love God.
ReplyDeleteYou might not understand... but God prevented your from something. His ways are not our ways you know... personally I have learnt to trust God at ALL times.
Chai
ReplyDeletePoster I like ur story already. Pls find to conclude it n make it short, tanks. Don't mind stellzs n d rest u hear.
ReplyDeleteNa wa,which kind story,if you never finish forget it no need to continue biko..
ReplyDeleteahn ahn!! Stella be nice., what is long in this story? haven't we read longer contents before?? na waa for you madam koikoi..
ReplyDeleteit's painful to be decamped due to negligence. that was how u said my syb was boring cos I didn't go on f***king spree..
dear poster, it is well with you.
you fit no posts this my comment ooh, make u use am cook soup.
I understand that we are all sympathetic towards this poster. But please o, ma binu, how can an intelligent (Unless you used goggle correction in your narrative) and educated lady allow a different person to thumbprint for your? Is it your thumb? This is ***Ludicurious***
ReplyDeleteNah d hausa syndrome...den no sabi anything...no disrespect ama just say it like it is
DeleteKai this kind thing can pain but the suppose tell you not to joke with thumb printing now shuoo
ReplyDeleteAwwwh,sorry dear.
ReplyDeletePoster sorry about what happened but I'm not surprise because you live in Kaduna... I served in Kaduna and I understand how some people there can be so foolish and you fell into one of thems hand and you were suppose to be wiser than him with your level of education but you also play stupid.... Why on earth will you fill in your details and someone else will then try his on thumb print on your details just because the machine isn't seeing yours and you allowed him that's the height of both of you's stupidity.... I'm sure you have learnt your lesson you will be more careful next time and try to learn about modern technology.
ReplyDeleteNawa o
ReplyDeleteThanks sharing too
It will be well
Thank you for this information oh.....now I know not to allow any thumb near me during my Nysc registration as a new graduate that i is.
ReplyDeleteJune please come already.
Am patienly waiting for d 2nd episode der
ReplyDeleteNo I didn't feel sorry for you. So you don't know thumb printing is a serious form of identification?
ReplyDeleteYou acted stupidly , more infuriating is the fact that you are supposed to be a graduate huh? Nonsense!!
And please, save your part 2 BS
Hian Quicksilver be nice na... she has made the mistake already